id
int64
39
11.1M
section
stringlengths
3
4.51M
length
int64
2
49.9k
title
stringlengths
1
182
chunk_id
int64
0
68
10,106,380
# The Master Butchers Singing Club ## German-American heritage {#german_american_heritage} Erdrich uses some of her personal family history and background as source for *The Master Butcher\'s Singing Club.* In this case, it is important to note some of the information surrounding German-American lifestyle. Overwhelmingly, Germans immigrated to the United States in search of an improved standard of living. There were incentives from land and railroad companies as well to insure jobs for German immigrants. After a failed German Revolution in 1848, there was the greatest wave of political asylum seekers who left Germany. The majority of the German immigrants wanted to achieve, \"The American Dream.\" They wanted to be where soil was fertile and space was abundant. By the end of the 19th century, most immigrants were unmarried industrial workers, who came to the United States seeking seasonal work but never returned to Germany. Many immigrants would settle with or around others who spoke their native language or were from the same area of Germany. Many settled in the Midwest, where they became bakers, butchers, shoemakers, and cabinet makers. Germans also became high-profile businessmen and shopkeepers. The largest group of German immigrants were the skilled craftspeople. They immigrated to major cities such as Pittsburgh, Cincinnati, and Chicago. In 1900, Kaiser Wilhelm II instituted the idea of national German pride. His influence was felt across the sea in the United States by way of a divided feeling of German-Americans on the stand of an imperialist Germany. This idea of loyalty was felt not only in the U.S., but in Germany as well. The Socialists felt that the Kaiser\'s power centered on a too militaristic reign. Millions of German-Americans held on to an attachment to the German language and culture. The 1830s through the 1870s saw a massive immigration of Germans to the U.S. resulting in an important ethnic German-born block of American society. The immigration explosion of youthful Germans resulted in a pro-imperialist view of Germany to the American public by way of the German-American press. 1901 saw the formation of the German-American alliance, a pressure group used to enforce propaganda geared to an imperial Germany upon politicians. The United States entry into World War I in 1917 caused an increase in abuse on German-Americans. The public opinion of the time rejected all forms of foreign language and culture. Thus, upon the eve of World War II, there was no form of Nazi propaganda, leaving the German-Americans to have no biased view on the war without public retaliation. To this day, there remain untold accounts of German-American internment camps during World War II.
432
The Master Butchers Singing Club
3
10,106,380
# The Master Butchers Singing Club ## Reviews \"Not since Richard Russo\'s 2001 novel, *Empire Falls,* which won the Pulitzer Prize, have I enjoyed the company of such memorable characters.\" *-Bob Minzesheimer,* *USA Today.* Feb. 6, 2003. \"Explored, exposed and cherished if not by each other than at least, unmistakably, by their author, these creatures wrench their vanished time and place into the modern mind with such force as to displace everything else \-- not only during the hours and days spent reading about them, but in their interstices and the aftermath as well.\" *-Anneli Rufus,* *San Francisco Chronicle.* Feb. 2, 2003. \"*The Master Butchers Singing Club* is an ambitious novel, covering 36 years and several points of view. Too ambitious perhaps, because Erdrich can\'t keep up with her own agenda: she has created an array of colorful people but not one credible character, except possibly for the troubled, appealing Cyprian.\"*--Brooke Allen, New York Times.* Feb. 9, 2003. \"It is a measure of Ms. Erdrich\'s poise as a writer, her understanding of her characters\' inclinations and dreams that she is able to make such developments feel not like the contrivances of a novelist playing God but like the inevitable workings of a random but oddly symmetrical fate.\" *--Michiko Kakutani, New York Times.* Feb. 4, 2003. ## Literary criticism {#literary_criticism} The historical facts of twentieth-century Germany, especially the traumatic events surrounding World Wars I and II, are built right into the structure of the novel\.... Erdrich recognizes the political ghosts she will conjure up in writing about Germany. 1\. Austenfeld, Thomas. \"German Heritage and Culture in Louise Erdrich\'s *The Master Butchers Singing Club*,\" *Great Plains Quarterly*. Vol. 26 N. 1, Winter 2006, pp. 3--11. 2\. Rowe, John Carlos. \"Buried Alive: The Native American Political Unconscious in Louise Erdrich\'s Fiction.\" *Postcolonial Studies: Culture, Politics, Economy*. Volume 7, Number 2, July 2004, pp. 197--210 (14), Routledge. 3\. Oliver-Rotger, Maria Antonia. \"Literature and Ethnicity in the Cultural Borderlands.\" *MELUS*, Vol. 29, 2004. ## Theatre In 2010, a play based on the novel opened at the Guthrie Theater in Minneapolis. ## Television In 2019, the novel was adapted for TV by ARD, one of Germany\'s main TV stations. The two-part movie of 176 min. total time is named *Der Club der singenden Metzger*
378
The Master Butchers Singing Club
4
10,106,390
# Gimme, Gimme, Gimme (Narada Michael Walden song) *Pandoc failed*: ``` Error at (line 34, column 1): unexpected '{' {{single chart|Flanders|6|artist=Narada Michael Walden & Patti Austin|song=Gimme, Gimme, Gimme|rowheader=true|access-date=October 7, 2021}} ^ ``
32
Gimme, Gimme, Gimme (Narada Michael Walden song)
0
10,106,403
# CT postcode area The **CT postcode area**, also known as the **Canterbury postcode area**, is a group of 21 postcode districts in South East England, within 13 post towns. These cover much of east Kent, including Canterbury, Dover, Folkestone, Birchington, Broadstairs, Deal, Herne Bay, Hythe, Margate, Ramsgate, Sandwich, Westgate-on-Sea and Whitstable
52
CT postcode area
0
10,106,406
# Synchronised swimming at the 2007 World Aquatics Championships The **Synchronized Swimming** competition at the 2007 World Aquatics Championships was held from March 17 to March 24. ## Medal table {#medal_table} Place Nation Total ----------- -------- --- --- --- -------- 1 6 1 0 7 2 1 0 0 1 3 0 4 2 6 4 0 2 4 6 5 0 0 1 1 **Total** 7 7 7 **21** : Total medals won across the synchronized swimming disciplines ## Medal summary {#medal_summary} +--------------------------+--------+--------+--------+ | Solo Technical Routine | \ | \ | \ | | | 99.000 | 98.000 | 96.833 | +--------------------------+--------+--------+--------+ | Solo Free Routine | \ | \ | \ | | | 99.500 | 98.500 | 98.000 | +--------------------------+--------+--------+--------+ | Duet Technical Routine | \ | \ | \ | | | 98.833 | 97.500 | 97.167 | +--------------------------+--------+--------+--------+ | Duet Free Routine | \ | \ | \ | | | 99.333 | 97.667 | 97.333 | +--------------------------+--------+--------+--------+ | Team Technical Routine | \ | \ | \ | | | 99.000 | 97.833 | 97.167 | +--------------------------+--------+--------+--------+ | Team Free Routine | \ | \ | \ | | | 99.000 | 98.500 | 97.334 | +--------------------------+--------+--------+--------+ | Free Routine Combination | \ | \ | \ | | | 99.000 | 97.833 | 96
222
Synchronised swimming at the 2007 World Aquatics Championships
0
10,106,407
# František Moravec **František Moravec** CBE (23 July 1895 -- 26 July 1966) was the chief Czechoslovak military intelligence officer before and during World War II. He moved to the United States after the war. ## Biography In 1915, Moravec was drafted into Austro-Hungarian Army and sent to the Eastern Front, into Galicia. In September 1914, he fought at the Battle of Rawa. On 13 January 1915, Moravec was taken as prisoner by Russian troops and sent to the POW camp in Tsaritsyn. In 1916, he joined the Serbian Legion and fought in the Romanian Front, was moved from Arkhangelsk to Britain, and in 1917 joined the Czechoslovak Legions at the Salonica front. In January 1918, the legions were sent to the Western Front in France and, in summer 1918, to the Italian Front. After World War I, he was sent to Slovakia to fight against the Hungarian and the Slovak Soviet Republic. After 1919, Moravec served as an army officer in Plzeň and in 1928 he joined the military intelligence service and moved to Prague. From 1937 to 1938, Moravec was deputy head of the service and head of its operations department, from January 1939 acting head of the service. In the evening of 14 March 1939, he and 10 of his fellow intelligence officers secretly managed to fly away with the most valuable intelligence files and archives from Prague Ruzyně Airport to London Croydon Airport with a stopover in Rotterdam on ad hoc chartered KLM Douglas DC-3, as they knew in advance from their secret agents operating in Nazi Germany that the invasion leading to German occupation of Czechoslovakia was to be on 15 March 1939, at 6 a.m. Rescued files and archives were handed over to the British MI6 to be used against Germany. In Great Britain from 1940 to 1945, Moravec served as the chief of the intelligence service of Czechoslovak government-in-exile. The headquarters of the military intelligence were in Porchester Gate in London, but from 1940 his private residence was in Addington, Buckinghamshire, near Aston Abbotts, where the exiled President of Czechoslovakia Edvard Beneš had his residence. Moravec maintained secret radio contact with the Czech anti-Nazi Resistance group known as Three Kings Group from 1939 to 1942. He co-ordinated the Czechoslovak co-operation with SOE. He participated in planning and preparation of Operation Anthropoid resulting in the assassination of Reinhard Heydrich. He also planned the assassination of his namesake Emanuel Moravec, a traitor and Nazi collaborator who was also known as the \"Czech Quisling\". František Moravec returned to Czechoslovakia in 1945 after the Nazi Germany defeat but left secretly again in 1948, shortly after the communist coup d\'état. He settled in the United States, where he worked until his death as an intelligence advisor in the US Department of Defense. On 24 April 2022, the dignified transfer of Moravec\'s remains from the United States to Czech Republic took place at Joint Base Andrews. ## Decorations **Awarded by Czech Republic** - Order of the White Lion military group II. Class (2024) ## Works - František Moravec (autobiography): *Master of Spies*, 1975, `{{ISBN|0-370-10353-X}}`{=mediawiki}
515
František Moravec
0
10,106,424
# Arthur Twidle **Arthur Twidle** (1864 to 26 April 1936) was an English illustrator and artist best known for his illustrations of Arthur Conan Doyle\'s Sherlock Holmes books. Born in Rotherhithe, Surrey, in 1864, Arthur Twidle was the son of Alfred Twidle (a journeyman cooper and his wife Rachel (née Smith), who had married in 1855. In 1881, following the death of his mother, Twidle was living with an uncle and his occupation was described as draughtsman in wood. In 1885, Twidle married Annie Elizabeth Mason at St. Olave, Southwark. In 1891, the family---now including Annie Elizabeth (b. 1887) and Arthur (b. 1888) \-- were living in Dulwich. On the death of Sidney Paget, who had illustrated Conan Dolyle\'s Sherlock Holmes stories in *The Strand* magazine, Twidle became one of Doyle\'s regular artists. He illustrated many of Doyles\'s later works including the Doyle \'Author\'s Edition\'. Over many years, Twidle\'s illustrations appeared in *Annie S. Swan\'s Magazine*, *The Strand*, *The Red Magazine*, the *Girl\'s Own Paper*, and elsewhere. He was a prolific illustrator for the *Boy\'s Own Paper*, particularly of historical subjects. He also illustrated for the Religious Tract Society and Frederick Warne & Co. In 1901 and 1911 he was living at Foots Cray, Kent, England. Towards the end of his life Arthur moved to 6 Ivy Mill Lane, Godstone Surrey. The conveyance is dated 25 August 1925. He built a large artist\'s studio in the back garden which still has a painting of his painted directly onto one wall. According to a brief obituary in *The Times*, \"Mr. Twiddle did most of his work in black-and-white and water-colour he exhibited paintings in oils at the Royal Academy and was well known for his mural paintings, panels and pastels
289
Arthur Twidle
0
10,106,438
# Dorin Dănilă *Viceamiral* **Dorin Dănilă** (born June 29, 1953) was the Chief of the Romanian Naval Forces Staff from 3 November 2006 to 3 July 2010. He was born in Braşov. In 2010 he was promoted to the rank of vice admiral and discharged from active duty. ## Studies - Mircea cel Bătrân Naval Academy - Military Academy, Command and Staff Faculty - Naval Post-Academic Course - International Humanitarian Law Course - French language Course - Public Relations Course - Post-Academic Course in Strategic Command, War College. ## Assignments - Communications officer on board an ASW ship: 1976-1978; - Staff Officer, Communications Branch, ASW Ship Squadron: 1978-1980; - Commanding Officer, ASW Ship: 1980-1981; - Deputy Commander, MCM Ship Squadron: 1983-1989; - Operations Officer, Maritime Division (Ex. Operational Command): 1989-1990; - Deputy Commander, ASW Ship Squadron: 1990-1994; - Commander, ASW Ship Squadron: 1994-1999; - Deputy Commander, ASW Ship Brigade: 1999-2000; - Deputy Commander, Maritime Flotilla: 2000-2001; - Chief of Doctrine and Statutes Section, Romanian Naval Forces Staff: 2001-2002; - Commander -- Diving Centre: 2002-2005; - Commander -- Naval Base: 2005-2006; - Fleet Commander: 01.06-03.11.2006 - Chief of the Romanian Naval Forces Staff -- since 03.11.2006 ## Personal life {#personal_life} Dorin Dănilă is married and has one daughter
207
Dorin Dănilă
0
10,106,458
# LART **LART** is a single-board computer (SBC) designed by staff of the University of Delft/Netherlands. The creators advertise complete layout by means of CAD files, software and kernel patches for Linux. The software is released under the terms of the GNU General Public License (GPL), and the Hardware design is released under the MIT License. TU Delft built some boards, some people built their own LARTs (the board can be made at home by a competent engineer), and a batch was produced and sold in 2002-2003 by Aleph One Ltd and Remote 12, in an early demonstration of the viability of the Open Hardware concept (manufacture can be performed by groups other than the designers and copyright holders). The standard LART configuration featured 32 MB DRAM and 4 MB Flash ROM. Most interesting is the low-power consumption of less than 1 W while providing \~ 250 MIPS, making it an ideal system for embedded computing. The project also spun off an Open Hardware parallel port JTAG interface board and the Blob bootloader
173
LART
0
10,106,466
# Samuel Fawehinmi **Samuel Ibitayo Fawehinmi** (1912--1998) was a pioneering Nigerian furniture magnate. The son of a trader, he was born in Ondo City. He attended Ondo Boys High School and the Yaba Higher College. He was originally interested in medicine, but the long wait for a pre-medical test, and his gift in wood and metal work changed his occupational direction. He learned civil engineering and became a staff of King\'s College, Lagos. In 1946, he decided to undergo further formal training in furniture, he traveled abroad and was educated at the Shoreditch Technical College. After returning to Nigeria, with the help of his father and a loan from the Colony Development Board, he opened some furniture factories in Lagos. He was noted as one of the earliest magnates who focused on a single industry instead of the ubiquitous or octopodal group of companies. He was also notable for introducing modern techniques in furniture making
155
Samuel Fawehinmi
0
10,106,468
# Reach (Gloria Estefan song) *Pandoc failed*: ``` Error at (line 86, column 1): unexpected '{' {{single chart|Australia|23|artist=Gloria Estefan|song=Reach|access-date=13 September 2016}} ^ ``
23
Reach (Gloria Estefan song)
0
10,106,496
# March for Babies **March for Babies**, formerly known as **WalkAmerica**, is a charitable walking event sponsored by the March of Dimes. It began in 1970 as the first charitable walking event in the United States. The name was changed after the 2007 event. March for Babies is held yearly in 1,100 communities across the nation. By 2013, over 7 million people, including more than 20,000 company and family teams as well as national sponsors, were expected to participate. The event has raised more than \$2 billion since 1970. According to the March of Dimes, proceeds help fund research to prevent premature births, birth defects and infant mortality. Every year, more than half a million babies are born prematurely and more than 120,000 are born with serious birth defects in the United States. Seventy-six cents of every dollar raised in March for Babies is spent on research and programs to help prevent these issues. Actually the very first March of Dimes walk a thon in the USA was held February 1969 in York, Pa with one person ( a radio personality with WSBA radio, Bob Woody) and raised over \$26,000. ## History The very first March of Dimes walkathon occurred in San Antonio, Texas, on October 7, 1970, followed by similar walks in Ohio at Columbus on November 14 and Mentor (Lake County) on November 15. The weather conditions at the Columbus walkathon were depicted as \"absolutely miserable \[with\] rain, cold and bone chilling winds, which did not abate at all during the walking period.\" Yet the 500 walkers at Columbus pledged \$64,687 to the March of Dimes, engendering a fund-raising methodology that quickly became national in scope and that perpetuated the enthusiasm of volunteers on which the foundation built its reputation. By 1974, 95% of March of Dimes chapters participated in the event, accounting for more than \$14 million in revenue. Successful walkers received the Order of the Battered Boot certificate for their participation, and the foundation created a film, *The Big Walk* (1973), to document and promote the event. In 1979, the March of Dimes incorporated TeamWalk, inviting participation by teams of employees from other corporations, into the March for Babies strategy. On April 26, 1981, the foundation held the first walk occurring nationally on the same day billed as WalkAmerica and has since kept the tradition of holding the event on the last weekend in April. In 1991, Lee Iacocca, Chairman of the Chrysler Corporation, was the Honorary National March for Babies chairman. With increasing sophistication in promotion and marketing, each campaign was given a theme (and slogan) that merged fund-raising and mission objectives. Experience WalkAmerica was the campaign in 1991, followed by Walk for Healthier Babies (1993), Walk for Someone You Love (1995), and Be A Hero for the Tiniest Babies (2002) among others. March for Babies advertising and promotional literature thus became standardized around mission-related themes of perinatal health. In 1989, Tony Choppa became National Director of March for Babies and has further consolidated the foundation\'s fund-raising objectives on a national basis through central planning and chapter support. National corporate sponsors have included Lipton, Kellogg, K-Mart, Cigna, and Canon. The event has spawned wrap-around events to enhance fund-raising opportunities and spin-off events such as WonderWalk and WalkMania. ## Origin The first person to walk for the March of Dimes was John Harrison Finger, a textile worker in High Point, North Carolina. In 1948, his daughter came home from school and asked for a donation for the polio fund. Finger replied that he did not have the money but that he would raise some. In what is thought to be the first walkathon in March of Dimes history, Finger walked 32 miles --- round trip from High Point to Greensboro --- and collected a total of \$1,700 in a red wagon he pulled behind him. During his lifetime he walked more than 1,000 miles and raised \$15,832 to benefit the charity. The March of Dimes named Finger \"Mr. WalkAmerica\" in 1983
665
March for Babies
0
10,106,507
# Sauramoeba ***Sauramoeba*** is a subgenus of the genus *Plasmodium*, all of which are parasitic eukaryotes. The subgenus was created in 1966 by Garnham. Species in this subgenus infect reptiles. ## Description The original criterion for inclusion in this genus was the presence of large schizonts giving rise to 12 or more merozoites. The criteria were subsequently revised by Telford in 1988. The type species of this subgenus is *Plasmodium diploglossi*. Species in the subgenus *Sauramoeba* have the following characteristics: Large schizonts giving rise to 12 or more merozoites The gametocytes like the schizonts are large
96
Sauramoeba
0
10,106,523
# Oak Ridge High School (El Dorado Hills, California) **Oak Ridge High School** is a public high school in El Dorado Hills, California, United States, 20 mi east of Sacramento. It is part of the El Dorado Union High School District. Oak Ridge High School was established in 1980 with 222 students. As of the 2019--20 school year, Oak Ridge High School had 2,470 students. The school\'s principal is Aaron Palm. ## Academics Oak Ridge offers a wide range of classes in history, English, foreign languages, mathematics, science, physical education, and electives, as well as a large drama and art department. The school offers foreign languages such as Japanese, Italian, French, and Spanish. Oak Ridge is in the 96th percentile among Californian schools in SAT scores and has a 99.1% graduation rate as of 2008. The school was measured at 865 in the 2008 Academic Performance Index, compared with the California State average of 742 in 2008. The school currently offers the following AP Classes: Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, Computer Science A, Computer Science Principles, English Language, English Literature, Environmental Science, French Language, Microeconomics, Physics C, Psychology, Spanish Language, Statistics, U.S. History, U.S. Government, and World History. ## Alma mater {#alma_mater} When sung or played, it goes to the tune of Cornell University\'s alma mater, \"Far Above Cayuga\'s Waters\". The song is intoned at the end of all ORHS football games, with the second verse and chorus omitted. The Oak Ridge marching band also plays and then sings the alma mater following each home football game. ## Athletics Oak Ridge is a member of the Division I Sierra Foothill League. Previously it spent 15 years as a member of the Sierra Valley Conference of the Sac-Joaquin Section of the CIF. The school offers an extensive list of sports programs to its students, including baseball, cross country, football, basketball, golf, lacrosse, soccer, ski and snowboard, softball, swimming, tennis, track and field, volleyball, water polo, and wrestling. Several sports are available through school-affiliated clubs, such as the Mother Lode Rugby Club, which combines men\'s and women\'s rugby for all of El Dorado County\'s high school students. Oak Ridge has had many student-athlete alumni go on to compete nationally at collegiate or professional levels. ### Championships The Oak Ridge football team won the D-II California State Championship in both 2003 and 2004, led by Austin Collie and Seyi Ajirotutu. After playing five seasons in the NFL and one season in the Canadian Football League, Collie retired from football in 2016. Ajirotutu played six seasons in the NFL. Oak Ridge Basketball won the 2010 D-I California Women\'s State Championship. The boys won the D-II California State Championship in 2005. Oak Ridge Trojans swim team won the CIF State swimming championship in May 2016 and May 2017. The Trojans also placed 2nd in May 2018. Most recently in May 2019 the Oak Ridge boys\' swim team again placed second out of 236 California High School finalists in the CIF swim championships. Oak Ridge\'s Girls Track and Field team placed 2nd in the 2018 CIF State Championships. Oak Ridge Girls Varsity Soccer team won the Sac-Joaquin Section Championship in February 2020. Oak Ridge Girls Varsity Soccer team won the NorCal State Championship in March 2022. ## Notable alumni {#notable_alumni} - Seyi Ajirotutu, former professional football player, Carolina Panthers, Philadelphia Eagles, and San Diego Chargers - Lonni Alameda, former professional softball player and head softball coach at Florida State University - Ryan Anderson, former professional basketball player - Ian Book, former professional football player, New Orleans Saints and Philadelphia Eagles - Sam Clemons, former Arena Football League player - Austin Collie, former professional football player, Indianapolis Colts and New England Patriots - Ross Dwelley, professional football player, San Francisco 49ers - Justin Lamson, college football quarterback for the Bowling Green Falcons - Bryce Mefford, 2020 Summer Olympics swimmer - Marvin Philip, former professional football player, Buffalo Bills, Cleveland Browns, and Pittsburgh Steelers - Stephen Sanchez, singer and songwriter - F. P. Santangelo, former professional baseball player, Los Angeles Dodgers, Montreal Expos, Oakland Athletics, and San Francisco Giants - Shane Steichen, head coach of the Indianapolis Colts - Kimberly Weinberger, actress
695
Oak Ridge High School (El Dorado Hills, California)
0
10,106,523
# Oak Ridge High School (El Dorado Hills, California) ## Controversies/Incidents On February 25, 2016, during a girls varsity basketball game where Oak Ridge was playing C. K. McClatchy High School at home, the Oak Ridge student section was accused of chanting racial slurs toward C.K McClatchy\'s Asian players. Oak Ridge\'s principal later issued a statement detailing the disciplinary actions the school would take. In November 2018, Oak Ridge teacher Colleen Sanders reported receiving violent threats from a student, including \"shooting up the school\". Sanders detailed how she experienced PTSD from the ordeal. The El Dorado Union High School district worked with local law enforcement to investigate the threat. An expulsion hearing was held for the student. In February 2022, Oak Ridge students staged a mass walkout over the El Dorado Union High School district's mask mandate. The El Dorado Union High School district later changed its mask enforcement policies, making masks not mandatory but recommended. On March 5, 2022, during a girls varsity soccer game where Oak Ridge was playing Buchanan High School (Clovis, California) at home, an Oak Ridge student made racial taunts which were audible monkey and barking sounds that could be heard across the stadium. This occurred during a shootout after the game went into overtime. Barking sounds were first made after a Buchanan player of Hispanic race took their shot. Later, an African American Buchanan player took a shot and monkey noises followed right after. Oak Ridge\'s principal, Aaron Palm, later issued an apology to Buchanan administrators, including the Buchanan athletic director, and stated that a full investigation was made to determine the student who made the noises. In 2023 the Oak Ridge High School football team was allegedly involved in a hazing ritual at a team retreat. The school and local law enforcement are investigating the reports. By August 9 one student had reportedly been expelled
312
Oak Ridge High School (El Dorado Hills, California)
1
10,106,526
# Steve England **Steve England** is a British radio producer and disc-jockey known for his involvement in pirate radio and pioneering production work in radio jingles. ## Biography England was a disc-jockey on the offshore pirate radio stations Radio Caroline, Radio Mi Amigo, and Radio Atlantis where he also became programme director. England then went on to broadcast for one of the first independent local radio stations in the UK, Piccadilly Radio in Manchester. After spending time as head of commercial production, England started a partnership with Alan Fawkes and set up Alfasound in 1979. England and Alfasound were one of the earliest proponents of jingle packages in the United Kingdom. The company produced many jingle packages for UK and European radio stations from its base in Sale, Greater Manchester; one such package was for the Italian radio station, Radio Nova International. Alan Fawkes and Steve England parted company in 1997 and England set up his own production company. In 2001, he merged his company with S2Blue. England also presented on and helped to set up Moorlands Radio, the community radio station for the Staffordshire Moorlands based in Leek, Staffordshire. As of 2023, England presents weekend shows on Atlantis Radio featuring vintage jingles and 1960s songs
206
Steve England
0
10,106,540
# Raoul Le Mat **Raoul Le Mat** (September 3, 1875 -- February 15, 1947) was a French-American film director, and ice hockey coach, most famous for introducing ice hockey in Sweden during the early 1920s. Together with Ernest Viberg and Thomas Cahill, Le Mat introduced ice hockey in Sweden, and coached the Swedish national team in their first international tournament at the 1920 Summer Olympics in Antwerp, Belgium. He was also the founding member of the Swedish Ice Hockey Association. When the first Swedish Championship in ice hockey was played in 1922, Le Mat refereed the final game. The Swedish Hockey League\'s Le Mat Trophy is named after Le Mat and was donated by him, with the monetary support of Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, in 1926
123
Raoul Le Mat
0
10,106,544
# Cophenetic In the clustering of biological information such as data from microarray experiments, the **cophenetic similarity** or **cophenetic distance** of two objects is a measure of how similar those two objects have to be in order to be grouped into the same cluster. The cophenetic distance between two objects is the height of the dendrogram where the two branches that include the two objects merge into a single branch. Outside the context of a dendrogram, it is the distance between the largest two clusters that contain the two objects individually when they are merged into a single cluster that contains both
102
Cophenetic
0
10,106,631
# Carinamoeba ***Carinamoeba*** is a subgenus of the genus *Plasmodium* - all of which are parasitic unicellular eukaryotes. The subgenus was created in 1966 by Garnham. Species in this subgenus infect reptiles. \_\_TOC\_\_ ## Diagnostic features {#diagnostic_features} The original criterion for inclusion in this genus was the presence of small schizonts giving rise to 8 or less merozoites. The criteria were subsequently revised by Telford in 1988. Species in the subgenus *Carinamoeba* have the following characteristics: Small schizonts giving rise to 8 or less merozoites The gametocytes like the schizonts are small
92
Carinamoeba
0
10,106,658
# Bulgan, Bayan-Ölgii Bulgan}} `{{Infobox settlement | name = Bulgan District | native_name = Булган сум<br>{{lower|0.2em|{{MongolUnicode|ᠪᠤᠯᠠᠭᠠᠨ}}{{MongolUnicode|ᠰᠤᠮᠤ}}}} | native_name_lang = mn | settlement_type = [[Districts of Mongolia|District]] | nickname = | motto = | image_skyline = Bulgan mosque, Bayan-Ölgii province, Mongolia.JPG | imagesize = | image_caption = Muslim mosque, June 2008 | image_flag = | flag_size = | image_seal = | seal_size = | image_shield = | shield_size = | image_blank_emblem = | blank_emblem_size = | image_map = | mapsize = | map_caption = | image_map1 = | mapsize1 = | map_caption1 = | pushpin_map = | pushpin_label_position = | subdivision_type = [[Countries of the world|Country]] | subdivision_name = [[Mongolia]] | subdivision_type1 = [[Provinces of Mongolia|Province]] | subdivision_name1 = [[Bayan-Ölgii Province]] | subdivision_type2 = | subdivision_name2 = | seat_type = | seat = | government_type = | leader_title = | leader_name = | leader_title1 = <!-- for places with, say, both a mayor and a city manager --> | leader_name1 = | established_title = | established_date = | area_magnitude = | unit_pref = <!--Enter: Imperial, if Imperial (metric) is desired--> | area_footnotes = | area_total_km2 = 4,977.33 | area_land_km2 = | area_water_km2 = | area_total_sq_mi = | area_land_sq_mi = | area_water_sq_mi = | area_water_percent = | area_urban_km2 = | area_urban_sq_mi = | area_metro_km2 = | area_metro_sq_mi = | population_as_of = 2014 | population_footnotes = | population_note = | population_total = 5216 | population_density_km2 = | population_density_sq_mi = | population_metro = | population_density_metro_km2 = | population_density_metro_sq_mi = | population_urban = | population_density_urban_km2 = | population_density_urban_mi2 = | timezone = UTC + 7 | utc_offset = +7 | latd = | latm = | lats = | latNS = | longd = | longm = | longs = | longEW = | elevation_footnotes = <!--for references: use <ref> </ref> tags--> | elevation_m = | elevation_ft = | postal_code_type = <!-- enter ZIP code, Postcode, Post code, Postal code... --> | postal_code = | area_code = | website = | footnotes = }}`{=mediawiki} **Bulgan** (*Булган*) is a sum (district) of Bayan-Ölgii Province in western Mongolia. As of 2014 it had a population of 5216 people. ## Geography The sum is the eastern and southern most sum in Bayan-Ölgii Province
365
Bulgan, Bayan-Ölgii
0
10,106,662
# Royal Victoria Infirmary The **Royal Victoria Infirmary (RVI)** is a 673-bed tertiary referral hospital and research centre in Newcastle upon Tyne, England, with strong links to Newcastle University. The hospital is part of the Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust and is a designated academic health science centre. ## History The original hospital was the **Newcastle upon Tyne Infirmary** at Forth Banks which was funded by way of public subscription. The foundation stone was laid by Joseph Butler, the Bishop of Durham, on 5 September 1751, following the proposals of Richard Lambert. It opened on 8 October 1753. By the end of the 19th century, despite major extensions including the Dobson Wing which opened in 1855 and the Ravensworth Wards which opened in 1885, the infirmary became overcrowded and needed to be replaced. A new hospital to be known as the **Royal Victoria Infirmary** was designed by William Lister Newcomb and Percy Adams and built on 10 acre of Town Moor given by the Corporation and Freemen of the City of Newcastle upon Tyne. It was opened by King Edward VII on 11 July 1906. The fully furnished and equipped hospital, containing seventeen wards, a nurses\' home, chapel and five operating theatres, cost over £300,000. A statue of Queen Victoria in front of the new infirmary, sculpted by Sir George James Frampton in white stone, was the gift of Sir Riley Lord, who was knighted for his efforts in getting the infirmary built. The infirmary became a unit of the First Northern General Hospital and treated wounded service personnel during the First World War. The Royal Victoria Infirmary had close links with King\'s College, Durham and, after it was formed, with Newcastle University as a major teaching hospital from when the university medical school was opened by King George VI in 1939. Overcrowding was a problem, with waiting lists of over 5,000 in the 1930s and, until it joined the National Health Service in 1948, money had to be raised for extensions and new equipment -- always difficult especially in the depression years. Later additions to the hospital included the Dental Hospital and School in 1978 and the Medical School in 1985. These additions were followed by Leazes Wing (facing Leazes Park) in 1992, the Sir James Spence Institute (named after Sir James Spence, a leading paediatrician) in 1994 and the Claremont Wing (on Claremont Road) in 1996. Although the Peacock Hall (the main administrative building) survived, many of the Edwardian buildings, including the old Eastern Block, were demolished at this time to make way for the new structures. The late 20th century also brought consolidation of medical services in the city including the transfer to the infirmary of children\'s services from the Fleming Memorial Hospital in 1988 and of maternity services from the Princess Mary Maternity Hospital in 1993. A major expansion of the site, including the New Victoria Wing, which includes a state-of-the-art accident and emergency department replacing that of the Newcastle General Hospital, and a new children\'s facility known as the Great North Children\'s Hospital was procured under a Private Finance Initiative contract in 2005. It was built by Laing O\'Rourke at a cost of £150 million and opened in 2010. ## Facilities The hospital has three main wings: the Leazes Wing, the Claremont Wing and the New Victoria Wing. The Great North Children\'s Hospital, one of only fourteen major children\'s medical centres in the UK, adjoins the New Victoria Wing. The infirmary is also the only provider of Mohs micrographic surgery for skin cancer in the North East of England. <File:The> Royal Victoria Infirmary - entrance to the New Victoria Wing - geograph.org.uk - 5677559.jpg\|Entrance to the New Victoria Wing <File:RVI> Newcastle New Victoria Wing.jpg\|The Great North Children\'s Hospital which adjoins the New Victoria Wing <File:Newcastle> Dental Hospital, 14 September 2010.jpg\|The Newcastle Dental Hospital which is on the same site <File:Sir> James Spence Institute, Newcastle University, 5 September 2013 (1).jpg\|The Sir James Spence Institute <File:RVI> Newcastle
662
Royal Victoria Infirmary
0
10,106,665
# Altai, Bayan-Ölgii **Altai** (*Алтай*) is a sum (district) of Bayan-Ölgii Province in western Mongolia. As of 2014 it had a population of 3983 people. ## History Altai sum was established on February 12, 1959, by the Decree of the Presidium of the MPC of the Mongolian People\'s Republic. It formerly belonged to Jargalant and Sagsai, then both of Khovd Province. ## Geography The centre of the district, Chikhertei, lies 115 km west of Ölgii. To the southwest of the town is the lake, Darihan Nuur. ## Administrative divisions {#administrative_divisions} The district is divided into five bags, which are: - Khar Nuur - Ulaan Khad - Bardam - Chikhertei - Borburgas ## Economy The main occupation in the district is agriculture. As of 2015 there were 120,650 livestock, consisting of 10,251 cattle, 57,106 sheep, 6,159 horses, 46,737 goats and 397 camels. 7620 tonnes of hay is harvested each year. The locals grows vegetables such as potatoes. 21 small business entities operated in the district as of 2015. Electricity has been provided in Altai since 2001 thanks to the establishment of a 10 kW hydropower substation, though only 50% of households have sewerage
192
Altai, Bayan-Ölgii
0
10,106,673
# MOMus–Museum of Modern Art–Costakis Collection **MOMus Modern**, in full **MOMus--Museum of Modern Art--Costakis Collection** (*MOMus-Μουσείο Μοντέρνας Τέχνης-Συλλογή Κωστάκη*), is a modern art museum based in Thessaloniki, Central Macedonia, Greece. It is housed in the renovated building of the old Lazariston Monastery in the Borough of Stavroupoli in west Thessaloniki. It was formerly known as the **State Museum of Contemporary Art** (SMCA, *Κρατικό Μουσείο Σύγχρονης Τέχνης, ΚΜΣΤ*). ## Overview The museum was founded in 1997, on the occasion of Thessaloniki\'s year as European Capital of Culture. It was established by a law passed in the Greek Parliament by then Greek Minister of Culture, Evangelos Venizelos. Its initial collection was formed by a large part of the famous Costakis Collection, acquired by the Greek state on 31 March 2000 for 14,200,000,000 drachmas. Since 2018, the museum has merged with MOMus Contemporary, MOMus Photography, MOMus Museum Alex Mylona and other institutions under the Metropolitan Organisation of Museums of Visual Arts of Thessaloniki (MOMus) umbrella. The Centre of Contemporary Art of Thessaloniki, which used to be a self-contained department of the museum, is now known as MOMus Experimental or MOMus--Experimental Center for the Arts. It is housed in Warehouse B1, Pier A, at the Port of Thessaloniki. The first six editions of the Thessaloniki Biennale of Contemporary Art were organized by the museum. The seventh edition in 2019-2020 was implemented by MOMus Contemporary. The first director of the museum was the Aristotle University Professor Miltiadis Papanikolaou, who remained in the position until 2006. Maria Tsantsanoglou, a specialist in the Russian avant-garde period, was appointed the next director. ## Mission The museum\'s founding mission is to preserve and display works of contemporary art by Greek and foreign artists, to improve the public\'s aesthetic appreciation and art education, to develop scientific research into issues surrounding the history and theory of contemporary art, as well as to assist art historians and theoreticians who wish to specialize in museology. As well as maintaining its collections, the museum organizes permanent and temporary exhibitions. ## Exhibitions There are over a hundred works of art on display in the permanent exhibition, by artists such as Olga Rozanova, Nadezhda Udaltsova, Alexander Rodchenko, Solomon Nikritin, Ivan Kliun, Gustav Klutsis, Ilya Chashnik, K. Ender, Aleksandr Drevin, I. Kudriashev, A. Sofronova, and K. Vialov. They are the best works in the collection and refer to important personages, avant-garde movements and artistic tendencies. The museum also organizes temporary exhibitions. *LIGHT in Art* (artificial light, natural light, electric light, metaphysical light), *BLACK in art*, a pilot exhibition based on works by Kazimir Malevich and other artists were organized during 2002. The exhibitions *Composition and Constructions*, that referred to international Constructivism, and *Nikitin and Kliun*, with works from the Costakis collection, took place in 2003. ## Collections The pride and joy of the museum is the works in the Costakis collection. This collection consists of 1,275 works of Russian avant-garde art, including paintings, sculptures, drawings and constructions. The works are by well-known artists like Kazimir Malevich, Vladimir Tatlin, Wassily Kandinsky, El Lissitzky, and Lyubov Popova, among others. The West became familiar with the Costakis collection through exhibitions in Düsseldorf, New York and Athens. The museum\'s collections also contain two hundred works of art, paintings and sculptures, which were donated by the Cultural Capital 1997 Organization, and significant pieces of work donated to the museum by artists themselves. Notable among them are *The Chapel of the Heavenly Stairway* by Stylianos Antonakos, *Gridlock* by Chris Giannakos and *Group of Four Figures* by Joannis Avramidis, all Greek artists of the diaspora. ## Artists in the museum collections {#artists_in_the_museum_collections} - El Lissitzky - Kazimir Malevich - Wassily Kandinsky - Alexander Rodchenko - Lyubov Popova - Vladimir Tatlin - Olga Rozanova
619
MOMus–Museum of Modern Art–Costakis Collection
0
10,106,673
# MOMus–Museum of Modern Art–Costakis Collection ## Gallery <File:Liubov> Popova, Spatial Force Construction, 1920-21.jpg\|Liubov Popova, Spatial Force Construction, 1920--21 <File:Λιουμπόβ> Ποπόβα, Γυναίκα που ταξιδεύει (1915).jpg\|Liubov Popova, Woman travelling, 1915 <File:Woman> in Birth (Malevich, 1908).jpg\|Kazimir Malevich, Woman in birth, 1908 <File:Untitled> (Kliun, c. 1917) (5).jpg\|Ivan Kliun, untitled, 1917 <File:Macedonian_Museums-81-Krat_Sygxronhs_Texnhs_Thess-358.jpg%7CVlasis> Caniaris exhibition, Untitled <File:Macedonian_Museums-81-Krat_Sygxronhs_Texnhs_Thess-361.jpg%7CInterior> view <File:Macedonian_Museums-81-Krat_Sygxronhs_Texnhs_Thess-362
54
MOMus–Museum of Modern Art–Costakis Collection
1
10,106,674
# Bisoye Tejuoso Chief **Esther Bisoye Tejuoso** (1916 -- 19 September 1996) was a Nigerian businesswoman from Abeokuta. She was born into the family of an Egba farmer who was also a chief in Abeokuta. She herself held the chieftaincy of the **Iyalode**, a fact which made her very prominent in Egba affairs. ## Life Tejuosho was born into an Egba royal family, her grandfather was Oba Karunwi, Osile of Oke-Ona, Abeokuta. She studied at Igbein Primary School, Abeokuta before attending Idi Aba Teacher\'s Training College, Abeokuta. At 18 years old, she married a teacher, Joseph Somoye Tejuoso and later accompanied him to Zaria, where he was working. At Zaria, Tejuoso thrived in trading foodstuff with southern Nigerians; she used the railway to transport goods from Zaria to Lagos. In the early 1950s, she became an agent for the United African Company, and in later years, added Vono industries to her list of suppliers. She became very successful during this period and acquired real estate in various parts of the country. In the early 1960s, she was a major dealer of Vono mattresses in Broad St and was approached by a Norwegian businessman for a partnership in a foam manufacturing venture. The partnership took off in 1964 when Nigerian Polyurethane Ltd started producing its own brand of Cool Foams. ## Career and death {#career_and_death} In 1970, after disagreeing with her partners in a foam and carpet manufacturing venture, she decided to build her own factory. She got a loan from the Nigerian Industrial Development Bank and established, Teju Industries, a firm specialized in foam manufacturing. Over the years, she ventured out to other businesses. She is remembered as a pioneering woman who attained the summit of financial independence and success. She was murdered on 19 September 1996 at age 80 amid controversy over the obaship of Egbaland. To date, her murder has not been solved by Nigerian authorities
318
Bisoye Tejuoso
0
10,106,695
# Boxing at the 1986 Commonwealth Games Final results for the **Boxing** competition at the **1986 Commonwealth Games** in Edinburgh, Scotland, from 24 July to 2 August. ## Medal table {#medal_table} ## Light Flyweight (-- 48 kg) {#light_flyweight_48_kg} RANK NAME ATHLETE COUNTRY ------ ----------------- --------- Scott Olson CAN Mark Epton ENG Todd Johnston NIR Wilson Docherty SCO ## Flyweight (-- 51 kg) {#flyweight_51_kg} RANK NAME ATHLETE COUNTRY ------ ------------------ --------- John Lyon ENG Leonard Makhanya SWZ Kerry Webber WAL Steve Beaupré CAN ## Bantamweight (-- 54 kg) {#bantamweight_54_kg} RANK NAME ATHLETE COUNTRY ------ --------------- --------- Sean Murphy ENG Roy Nash NIR Glen Brooks SCO John Sillitoe JER ## Featherweight (-- 57 kg) {#featherweight_57_kg} RANK NAME ATHLETE COUNTRY ------ ---------------- --------- Bill Downey CAN Peter English ENG Chris Carleton NIR Johnny Wallace NZL ## Lightweight (-- 60 kg) {#lightweight_60_kg} RANK NAME ATHLETE COUNTRY ------ --------------- --------- Asif Dar CAN Neil Haddock WAL Lyton Mphande MAW Joey Jacobs ENG ## Light Welterweight (-- 63.5 kg) {#light_welterweight_63
164
Boxing at the 1986 Commonwealth Games
0
10,106,697
# Henry M. Grey **Henry Myers Grey** (1867--1937) was a late 19th-century and early 20th-century English adventurer, journalist and author of travel literature. He was born in Rochdale, Lancashire. He died in London in 1937. ## Works - *Lloyd\'s Yesterday and To-day* (1893). Illus. William Douglas Almond. - [*In Moorish captivity : an account of the \"Tourmaline\" expedition to Sus, 1897-98*](https://archive.org/details/inmoorishcaptivi00greyiala) (1899). Illus. Arthur Twidle. From Internet Archive. - *The Land of To-Morrow: a mule-back trek through the swamps and forests of eastern Bolivia* (1927)
85
Henry M. Grey
0
10,106,699
# Paul Nicholls (horse racing) **Paul Frank Nicholls** `{{post-nominals|country=GBR|size=100%|OBE}}`{=mediawiki} (born 17 April 1962) is a British National Hunt horse trainer with stables at Ditcheat, Somerset. A relatively successful jump jockey, Nicholls has become the leading National Hunt trainer of his generation in Britain, finishing the 2007--08 season with 155 winners and a record £4 million in prize money. As of April 2023, he has trained over 3,500 winners, won the 2012 Grand National, four Cheltenham Gold Cups and has been crowned British jump racing Champion Trainer fourteen times. ## Early life and education {#early_life_and_education} The son of a policeman, Nicholls was educated at Marlwood School, Alveston before leaving at 16 to take up work in a local point-to-point yard. ## Jockey career {#jockey_career} Nicholls turned conditional in 1982 under the tutelage of Josh Gifford before joining David Barons in 1985, and became stable jockey in 1986. It was with Barons that Nicholls was most closely associated during his riding career. The pair enjoyed numerous big race successes, including back-to-back wins in the Hennessy Gold Cup at Newbury with Broadheath in 1986 and Playschool the following year. Playschool also won the 1987 Welsh Grand National, and the 1988 Irish Hennessy Gold Cup with Nicholls. Playschool was subsequently made favourite for the 1988 Cheltenham Gold Cup but was pulled up before the 20th fence. Barons attributed Playschool\'s lacklustre performance to doping but his claims were never substantiated. Following a broken leg when kicked by a horse during pre-season training sustained in 1989, Nicholls retired from the saddle having ridden a respectable 133 winners during a seven-year career.
265
Paul Nicholls (horse racing)
0
10,106,699
# Paul Nicholls (horse racing) ## Training career {#training_career} Nicholls took out his trainer\'s licence in 1991, having served a two-year apprenticeship as assistant trainer to Barons which saw him assist in Seagram\'s winning Grand National attempt. In response to an advert placed in the Sporting Life, Nicholls began his training operation at Manor Farm, Ditcheat, in stables rented from local dairy farmer Paul Barber. Starting with just eight horses, his first winner soon followed, the appropriately named Olveston, owned by Nicholls\' father and named after the South Gloucestershire village in which he was raised. A steady climb up the training ladder followed, with Nicholls\' first grade one success coming with See More Indians in the Feltham Novices\' Chase at Kempton in 1993. However, it was the 1999 Cheltenham Festival that saw Nicholls\' breakthrough into jump racing\'s elite, winning three of the most prestigious steeplechases in National Hunt racing. Nicholls enjoyed a memorable meeting, collecting the Queen Mother Champion Chase with Call Equiname, the Arkle Challenge Trophy with Flagship Uberalles, and the Gold Cup with See More Business. However, it was not until the end of the 2005--06 season, after seven years of filling the runners up spot that Nicholls was finally crowned Champion Trainer for the first time, his eventual coronation coming after a long struggle for supremacy with multiple champion Martin Pipe. The appointment of the Irish rider Ruby Walsh as stable jockey strengthened Nicholls\' hand in the big races. Their major successes include the Queen Mother Champion Chase with Azertyuiop (2004) and Master Minded (2008 and 2009), five wins in the King George VI Chase with Kauto Star (2006, 2007, 2008, 2009 and 2011) and the Cheltenham Gold Cup with Kauto Star in 2007 and 2009. Nicholls\' finest hour came in the 2008 Cheltenham Gold Cup where he saddled the first three horses home: in finishing order, Denman (ridden by Sam Thomas), Kauto Star and Neptune Collonges. At the high of his stable stars\' powers, Nicholls\' dominance extended across the Irish Sea and his horses plundered Ireland\'s most valuable jumping prizes with increasing regularity. In December 2008, Nicholls trained his 50th grade one winner when Master Minded (ridden by AP McCoy) won the Tingle Creek Chase at Sandown, and on 5 November 2011, Kauto Stone made Nicholls the fastest National Hunt trainer to reach 2000 winners. Many equine stars have been nurtured by Nicholls and there are few top prizes to elude him, the two missing races from his UK portfolio were added in 2012 when Rock on Ruby won the Champion Hurdle and Neptune Collonges, ridden by Daryl Jacob, won the Grand National. In April 2016, he won the champion trainer\'s title for the tenth time. Nicholls was appointed Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) in the 2020 New Year Honours for services to the horse racing industry. ## Personal life {#personal_life} Nicholls is renowned for being approachable and media-friendly. He writes a popular column on Betfair and his frank and honest opinions are well respected by members of the racing public. Away from racing, Nicholls has a keen interest in horticulture, particularly rose growing. He is also an avid supporter of Manchester United, whose long-time manager Sir Alex Ferguson has several horses in training with Nicholls. In November 2009, Nicholls starred alongside Kauto Star in a short film to promote Somerset, commissioned by inward investment agency Into Somerset. He has been married three times. He married Tarnya Davies in June 1987. He married Georgina Brown in Barbados in May 2011. The couple have two daughters, while Nicholls also has a daughter from his second marriage to Bridget and a son by a fourth relationship
612
Paul Nicholls (horse racing)
1
10,106,707
# White Portland cement **White Portland cement** or **white ordinary Portland cement** (WOPC) is similar to ordinary, gray Portland cement in all aspects except for its high degree of whiteness. Obtaining this color requires substantial modifications to the method of manufacturing. It requires a much lower content in colored impurities in the raw materials (essentially limestone and clay) used to produce clinker: low levels of `{{chem2|Cr2O3}}`{=mediawiki}, `{{chem2|Mn2O3}}`{=mediawiki}, and `{{chem2|Fe2O3}}`{=mediawiki}), but above all, a higher temperature is needed for the final sintering step in the cement kiln (1600 to 1700 °C in place of 1450 °C for ordinary Portland cement) because of the higher melting point of the mix depleted in iron oxides (serving as flux in Portland cement). Because of this, the process is more energy demanding and the white cement is somewhat more expensive than the gray product. ## Uses White Portland cement is used in combination with white aggregates to produce white concrete for prestige construction projects and decorative work. White concrete usually takes the form of pre-cast cladding panels, since it is not economical to use white cement for structural purposes. White Portland cement is also used in combination with inorganic pigments to produce brightly colored concretes and mortars. Ordinary cement, when used with pigments, produces colors that may be attractive, but are somewhat dull. With white cement, bright reds, yellows and greens can be readily produced. Blue concrete can also be made, at some expense. The pigments may be added at the concrete mixer. Alternatively, to guarantee repeatable color, some manufacturers supply ready-blended colored cements, using white cement as a base. To be \"white\", the powdered material must have a reflectance value (\"L value\") in excess of 85%. A particular success in the use of WOPC and added pigments is monocouche renders. In some countries an off-white clinker, which gives a reflectance value over 70 when ground, is produced at a cost only a little over normal gray clinker. When this is blended with ground blast furnace slag (up to 60% depending on use and early strength) a cement with reflectance over 80 can be produced. The blended cement can have a production cost less than General Purpose Portland cement (gray), but normally attracts a margin as it is sold to compete with white Portland cement.
380
White Portland cement
0
10,106,707
# White Portland cement ## Manufacture ### Raw mix formulation {#raw_mix_formulation} The characteristic greenish-gray to brown color of ordinary Portland cement derives from a number of transition elements in its chemical composition. These are, in decreasing order of coloring effect, chromium, manganese, iron, copper, vanadium, nickel and titanium. The amount of these in white cement is minimized as far as possible. Cr~2~O~3~ is kept below 0.003%, Mn~2~O~3~ is kept below 0.03%, and Fe~2~O~3~ is kept below 0.35% in the clinker. The other elements are usually not a significant problem. Portland cement is usually made from cheap, quarried raw materials, and these usually contain substantial amounts of Cr, Mn and Fe. For example, limestones used in cement manufacture usually contain 0.3-1% Fe~2~O~3~, whereas levels below 0.1% are sought in limestones for white manufacture. Typical clays used in gray cement rawmix may contain 5-15% Fe~2~O~3~. Levels below 0.5% are desirable, and conventional clays are usually replaced with kaolin. Kaolin is fairly low in SiO~2~, and so a large amount of sand is usually also included in the mix. Iron and manganese usually occur together in nature, so that selection of low-iron materials usually ensures that manganese content is also low, but chromium can arise from other sources, notably from the wear of chrome steel grinding equipment during the production of rawmix. See rawmill. This wear is exacerbated by the high sand-content of the mix, which makes it extremely abrasive. Furthermore, to make a combinable rawmix, the sand must be ground to below 45 μm particle diameter. Often this is achieved by grinding the sand separately, using ceramic grinding media to limit the chromium contamination. With off-white clinker the calculated Fe~2~O~3~ level in clinker is higher (0.6-0.8%) Coal can be used (if the ash has little Fe~2~O~3~ or other trace elements). The ash in the coal is helpful in the reaction because it is finer than the ground raw materials and it reaches higher temperatures and is molten in the flame. Kaolin is sometimes found in association with coal deposits. It may be possible to use coal washery waste, oil shale and spent oil shale ash. Off-white clinker has a calculated C~3~A (tricalcium aluminate) of 7-9%. When blended with ground granulated blast furnace slag it can meet requirements for sulfate resistance and low heat.
381
White Portland cement
1
10,106,707
# White Portland cement ## Manufacture ### Kiln operation {#kiln_operation} In general, the rotary kilns used to chemically combine the raw materials are operated at a higher peak temperature (1600°C) than that required for gray clinker manufacture (1450°C). This requires a higher fuel consumption (typically 20-50% more), and results in lower kiln output (typically 20-50% less) for a given sized kiln. The reason for this is the relatively small amount of molten liquid produced during sintering, because of the low iron-content of the mix. The final reaction in the kiln, conversion of belite to alite, requires the melt liquid as a solvent, and is slower if the amount of melt is low. This can be partially compensated by adding to the rawmix a combination of calcium and fluoride in the form of calcium fluoride or waste cryolite. This combination lowers the melting temperature. In cases where the clinker Fe~2~O~3~ content is above 0.2% (which is almost always the case), the unique processes of \"bleaching\" and \"quenching\" are also employed. \"Bleaching\" involves directing a second flame (apart from that used to heat the kiln) onto the bed of clinker close to the kiln exit to reduce Fe(III) to Fe(II). This reduction is rigorously avoided in gray cement production, because of the deleterious effect it can have on clinker quality. But in white clinker production, where the iron content is low, this is not an issue. Subsequently, to prevent the re-oxidation of the iron, \"quenching\" is performed. This consists of rapidly lowering the clinker temperature from 1200°C to below 600°C in a few seconds, as it leaves the kiln. This usually involves dropping it into water and removing it quickly with a screw or passing it through a curtain of water sprays. This contributes to the relatively poor energy efficiency of the process, since the sensible heat of the clinker is not recycled as in normal clinker manufacturer. The temperature in the kiln is not necessarily higher than gray clinker production but it appears higher due to the reflectance especially in gas fired kilns (which do have a higher flame temperature). With off-white clinker coal firing can be used which has many advantages for costs and output. It is important to finely grind the coal and have a burner which gives a very short bright flame (high velocity low primary air) so that the excess oxygen can be kept low close to zero with maybe 0.1% CO. There is no need for a second flame if combustion in the coal flame is rapid and controlled. The Off-white clinker has a light greenish colour due to Fe(II). Rotary kilns have limitations on output based on the surface area required for the heat transfer. Few old kiln process can reach the surface area limits due to limits in auxiliary equipment such as fuel input (e.g. lack of precalcination), grinding of coal and raw materials, exhaust fan capacity, chemical control of raw mix, burner quality, kiln control etc. With well operated off-white clinker production kiln output can be only a few percent lower than gray clinker production. ### Clinker grinding and handling {#clinker_grinding_and_handling} The clinker is next ground to cement (perhaps after a drying stage). Here calcium sulfate is added to control set, in the form of a high-purity grade of gypsum or anhydrite. In some specifications (not ASTM), a small amount of titanium dioxide may be added to improve reflectance. At all stages, great care is needed to avoid contamination with colored materials. ## Specifications White Portland cement differs physically from gray cement only in terms of its color. Its setting behavior and strength development are essentially the same as that expected in gray cement, and it meets standard specifications such as ASTM C 150 and EN 197. In practice, because much white cement is used in pre-cast concrete products, it is commonly made to a high-early strength specification such as ASTM C 150 Type III. This aids concrete manufacturers\' production rate. Higher potential strength also helps to counteract the strength-diminishing effects of pigment addition. In addition to the usual specifications, manufacturers guarantee the whiteness of the product, typically in terms of a reflectance measurement, such as L\*a\*b L-value, or tristimulus. In the latter case, because off-color white cement tends to be greenish, the Tri-Y (green) value is used. Because the color so much depends upon the \"bleaching\" and \"quenching\" operations, merely specifying a low iron content does not guarantee good whiteness
738
White Portland cement
2
10,106,716
# Scottish National Blood Transfusion Service The **Scottish National Blood Transfusion Service** (**SNBTS**) is the national blood, blood product and tissue provider. It makes up a Strategic Business Unit of NHS National Services Scotland (NSS). ## History The first dedicated transfusion service in Scotland was formed at the Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh in the 1930s. The Edinburgh Blood Transfusion Service (EBTS) was established in 1936 with Jack Copland as Organiser and Helen White as Secretary. Helen White took over as Organiser in 1940 when Copland moved into a national role. The first meeting of the Scottish National Blood Transfusion Association (SNBTA) took place in Edinburgh in February 1940. ## Key personnel {#key_personnel} In the 1940s Helen White played a key role in the development of the blood donor service in Edinburgh and throughout Scotland, on her initiative a network of voluntary organisers was established. The network was characterised by its friendliness and the care she took in making voluntary donation an enjoyable activity. ## Centres There are five blood centres, in Aberdeen, Dundee, Edinburgh, Glasgow and Inverness. The SNBTS also has several mobile units that travel to the remote centres and communities. These are usually set up in village halls and community centres. They tend to return approximately every 13 weeks, which can allow for up to four donations each year. In November 2011 it was announced that a new national centre would be built within the Heriot-Watt research park in Edinburgh, and would include labs, offices and other facilities. By October 2014, construction work had begun on the new £43 million facility. The new centre is due to be completed in 2017 and has been funded using the Scottish Government\'s Non Profit Distributing (NPD) model
286
Scottish National Blood Transfusion Service
0
10,106,726
# Guided-mode resonance **Guided-mode resonance** or **waveguide-mode resonance** is a phenomenon wherein the guided modes of an optical waveguide can be excited and simultaneously extracted by the introduction of a phase-matching element, such as a diffraction grating or prism. Such guided modes are also called \"leaky modes\", as they do not remain guided, and have been observed in one and two-dimensional photonic crystal slabs. ## Grating coupler {#grating_coupler} An example of guided-mode resonance is a *grating coupler*, which is a region on top of or below a waveguide where there is a grating. Off-resonance light incident on the grating behaves almost the same as it would if it was incident in an area where there is no grating. Waveguides are usually made of dielectric and are transparent. For specific combinations of incident angles and light frequency, there is resonance, allowing the grating to couple light into a guided mode of the waveguide. Typically, the grating coupler has only a few periods, so light can be coupled into the waveguide, but not back out. In such a case, light will be guided in the waveguide until it reaches the waveguide edge, or an additional coupling element, which will couple the light out. The larger the diffraction efficiency of the grating, the larger percent of light that would be coupled in. If the grating is used as a coupling-out element, the larger the diffraction efficiency, the fewer periods would be needed to couple the light out. ## Grating waveguide structures {#grating_waveguide_structures} A grating coupler that is extended over the whole surface of the grating results in a combined structure sometimes called a *grating waveguide structure.* In such a structure, light cannot be guided, as any light coupled in is also coupled out. At resonance, a normally transparent structure becomes reflective. If the grating period is sub-wavelength, then the normally-transparent structure becomes a mirror under resonance conditions. These conditions include the angle, frequency (wavelength), and polarization of the incident light. At resonance, there is also a much higher intensity in the waveguide region. Such intensities are called *evanescent* as they decay exponentially outside of the waveguide region. The guided mode resonance can be used to design filters and sensors
366
Guided-mode resonance
0
10,106,735
# Lacertamoeba ***Lacertamoeba*** is a subgenus of the genus *Plasmodium* --- all of which are parasites. All species in this subgenus infect reptiles. ## Taxonomy This subgenus was created by Telford to refine the classification of species then given as *Plasmodium tropiduri*. ### Species - *Plasmodium arachniformis* - *Plasmodium brygooi* - *Plasmodium cnemaspi* - *Plasmodium fischeri* - *Plasmodium floridense* - *Plasmodium gologoense* - *Plasmodium holaspi* - *Plasmodium intabazwe* - *Plasmodium lepidoptiformis* - *Plasmodium loveridgei* - *Plasmodium pitmani* - *Plasmodium tanzaniae* - *Plasmodium torrealbai* - *Plasmodium tropiduri* - *Plasmodium uluguruense* - *Plasmodium uzungwiense* - *Plasmodium vautieri* - *Plasmodium zonuriae* ## Diagnostic features {#diagnostic_features} Species in the subgenus *Lacertamoeba* have the following characteristics:The gametocytes are medium-sized The schizonts undergo 3 to 5 nuclear divisions and are also medium-sized
126
Lacertamoeba
0
10,106,745
# Lee Ayres **Lee Terence Ayres** (born 28 August 1982) is a professional English footballer who last played for Worcester City. He previously spent time at Kidderminster Harriers, Burton Albion and Forest Green Rovers. ## Playing career {#playing_career} Ayres started his career with Walsall in their youth academy; although not making the first team, he impressed enough to earn a move to Kidderminster Harriers in the Football League Third Division. Upon joining Harriers, Ayres became a permanent fixture in the first team setup. During two seasons Ayres made a total of 35 appearances and scored two goals. Towards the end of his second season, Ayres lost his place in the first team and subsequently joined Tamworth in the Football Conference, initially on loan. After a successful spell, Tamworth made an approach to sign Ayres, but Ayres himself rejected the move as he wanted to stay and force a way back into the first team. On 23 November 2003, Jan Molby released Ayres, as he believed the club had enough centre-backs. Ayres, now a free agent, rejoined Tamworth on a permanent basis. Ayres was only with The Lambs for a brief time making just 16 appearances; these impressive performances earned Ayres a trial with Notts County, but Ayres was unsuccessful and returned to Tamworth. Ayres then went on to join local rivals Burton Albion. After an impressive first season with The Brewers, when he made 26 appearances, a persistent pelvic injury prevented Ayres making a single appearance in his second season at the club. Ayres was eventually released at the end of the 2005--06 season. In search of a new club, Ayres received a trial from Bristol Rovers manager Paul Trollope. He played against Swansea City in a reserve game. Unfortunately for Ayres, the trial was unsuccessful and the defender eventually joined Conference North side Moor Green. Following the merger of Moor Green with Solihull Borough in the summer of 2007, Ayres began the 2007--08 campaign with Solihull Moors. Ayres then moved on to Redditch United; however he left the club in December 2008, to sign for Forest Green Rovers. Ayres impressed in his spell with Forest Green and was offered a new one-year contract in June 2009, following his impressive performances in Rovers relegation battle. Ayres suffered an injury in the opening game of the 2009--10 season and missed the majority of the season; however he made a return on 5 April as a late substitute in the 3--4 loss to his former club Tamworth. Ayres spent the summer of 2010 in pre season with Forest Green but both parties failed to agree a new contract and Ayres left the club. Ayres signed for Halesowen Town shortly after. Before moving back to Redditch United on Saturday 2 October. Ayres joined Solihull Moors on 1 March 2011. In July 2011 Ayres linked up with Worcester City
475
Lee Ayres
0
10,106,753
# Marcy Heisler **Marcy Heisler** (born 1967) is a musical theater lyricist and performer. As a performer, she has performed at Carnegie Hall, Birdland, and numerous other venues throughout the United States and Canada. Heisler was nominated for the 2009 Drama Desk Award for Outstanding Lyrics for *Dear Edwina*. ## Biography Heisler was born in Deerfield, Illinois. She attended Northwestern University and graduated from NYU\'s Tisch School of the Arts Dramatic Writing Program. ### Career Heisler met composer Zina Goldrich at a musical theater workshop in 1992, and they have been working together since 1993. Working with composer Goldrich, Heisler created the musical *Adventures in Love* --- book by Shari Simpson and Charlie Shanian --- which premiered in St. Paul, Minnesota, in 2000. Later that year, the two women were chosen to be among the first 12 participants in a program from Musical Theater Works designed to support new musical theater talent while they developed new works for the organization to produce, with participants receiving \$20,000 and medical insurance for up to three years during the development process. Heisler wrote the book and lyrics, with Goldrich composing, for a musical adaptation of Junie B. Jones, the popular character created by author Barbara Park, produced by TheatreWorks USA, which premiered Off-Broadway at the Lucille Lortel Theatre in July 2004. It received a 2005 Lucille Lortel Award nomination for Outstanding Musical. An expanded version of the musical was staged in November 2005 at the Lucille Lortel Theatre; both the original and expanded productions received favorable reviews in *The New York Times*. It was revived from March 2008 to May 2008 at the Lortel Theatre. The musical *Dear Edwina*, with book and lyrics by Heisler and music by Goldrich, was produced Off-Broadway at the Daryl Roth Theatre in November 2008 and returned for a limited engagement on December 11, 2009. Heisler also works with Disney Theatricals and wrote new versions of *101 Dalmatians*, *Cinderella*, *Sleeping Beauty*, and *The Jungle Book*. She has written material for such Disney projects as *Johnny and the Sprites* (Disney Television), *Pooh's Learning Adventures* (Disney Toon Studios), and *The D Show* (Disney Interactive). Goldrich wrote the music and Heisler wrote the lyrics for the new musical *The Great American Mousical*, which was directed by Julie Andrews based on her and her daughter\'s book. The musical was produced at Goodspeed Musicals in Chester, Connecticut in November - December 2012. Heisler (Book and lyrics) and Goldrich (music), have written *Ever After The Musical*, a stage musical adaptation of the film *Ever After*, the 1998 Cinderella inspired film starring Drew Barrymore. It \"sets the record straight on the fable of Cinderella, showing how a strong-willed, independent girl can make her dreams come true without the help of fairy godmothers, talking mice, or magic pumpkins.\" The musical had its world premiere at the Paper Mill Playhouse on May 21, 2015 (in previews) for a limited run to June 21, 2015. Directed by Kathleen Marshall, the cast featured Christine Ebersole, Tony Sheldon, Charles Shaughnessy, James Snyder and Margo Seibert. The musical was produced in January and February 2019 on the Coca-Cola Stage at the Alliance Theatre in Atlanta starring Sierra Boggess, Rachel York and David Garrison. Songs and recordings Among the many contemporary standards by Goldrich and Heisler is \"Taylor the Latte Boy\", which became a song associated with Kristin Chenoweth --- who sang \"Taylor the Latte Boy\" on *The Rosie O\'Donnell Show* and *The Late Late Show* as well as the radio program *A Prairie Home Companion* --- but which has been performed by many other singers including Susan Egan, Maggie Francisco, Linda Foster, Marty Thomas, John Tartaglia, and Alan Cumming. The comedy song tells the story of the singer\'s flirtation with a barista at Starbucks and was inspired by Heisler\'s and Goldrich\'s meeting a barista named Taylor in real life while mildly intoxicated. Heisler has also worked with other composers, as when she teamed with John Kavanaugh to write \"Joseph\'s Lullaby,\" which was recorded by Michael Crawford in 1998 for *On Eagle\'s Wings,* his album of inspirational music. Their recording, *Marcy & Zina: The Album* was released on the Yellowsound Label (YSL 566493) in December 2009. The duo performs the \"Marcy and Zina Show\" in venues around the US, for example at the Kennedy Center and Baylor University in 2009. The show is a \"showcase for their stage compositions\". Awards and honors The writing partners were voted \"Best Knocking on Broadway\'s Door Songwriting Team\" in the *Village Voice* Best of NYC edition, won the 2000 Backstage Bistro award for \"Songwriters of the Year,\" and were the 2002 recipients of ASCAP\'s Richard Rodgers New Horizons Theatre Award. Heisler and Goldrich also have received four MAC Awards, two for Song of the Year and two for Special Material, for their works \"The Alto\'s Lament\", \"Welcome The Rain,\" \"The Music Of Your Life,\" and \"The Morning After (Leave).\" They were nominated in 1998 for their song \"Out of Love.\" The writing team received the 2009 Fred Ebb Award. On May 14, 2012, Heisler received the 2012 Kleban Prize for Musical Theatre
846
Marcy Heisler
0
10,106,759
# Cellador **Cellador** is an American power metal band based in Denver, Colorado. Originally from Omaha, Nebraska, the band was founded in 2002 by Josh Krohn, and Chris Petersen, the band\'s primary songwriter, as a direct contrast to the overcrowded metalcore and death metal scenes of the American Midwest. Andy Warren joined in as their lead singer then Albert Kurniawan joined on drums soon after. The band has had multiple lineup changes since its inception, but is now rounded out by founder Chris Petersen, drummer Nick McCallister, keyboardist Diego Valadez, and guitarist Eric Meyers. In 2005 the band signed to Metal Blade Records after playing a show with The Black Dahlia Murder. ## Biography Cellador\'s debut album *Enter Deception* was released in 2006. The band recorded the album at Erik Rutan\'s Mana Studios. In an article from the December 2006 issue of *Metal Maniacs* magazine, Chris Petersen says he created the band name in reference to a J.&nbsp;R.&nbsp;R. Tolkien essay which stated that the two words *cellar* and *door* have an appealing sound when combined. Petersen also said that the band was originally called \"Apostate\", but the name was later changed to Cellador because he felt it was more fitting for the band. Cellador has toured across the United States, Canada and Mexico with bands such as Trivium, Bullet for My Valentine, All that Remains, Protest the Hero, The Human Abstract, The Sword, Behemoth, and Sonata Arctica. They have also performed at the ProgPower USA festival in Atlanta, Georgia, as well as the LoudPark festival in Japan, among many others. The band went into hiatus in the year 2009 after several members of the \"Enter Deception\" era lineup left the band. In 2011 after 2 years without any updates, the band quietly released 4 demo songs online from their upcoming EP entitled \"Honor Forth.\" Led by guitarist/songwriter Chris Petersen, the band held continuous auditions for the entirety of 2009--2012 and ultimately reformed with bass player James Pickett, drummer Nick Mccallister, keyboardist Diego Valadez, and guitarist Caleb Delaet. Petersen officially took up the lead vocalist position in 2012. In December 2012, the band announced new live shows beginning in 2013. They spent the entirety of the year establishing in the Colorado area, and playing one-off shows as guest openers for Havok, Into Eternity, Helloween, Shining, Vale of Pnath, Amaranthe, and others. In early 2014 long time guitarist, Caleb Delaet, left the band, and afterwards the band began recording the second LP, Off the Grid, which Chris Petersen had to take full control over the guitars for the recording process. Recording for the album was wrapped up in the summer of 2015. In late 2015, guitarist Eric Meyers was brought in to fill the second guitar position. Afterwards they went on to play Denver shows for the remainder of the year. In 2016, Cellador was opening up for bands such as Huntress, Anvil, Queensrÿche, and more. During the summer of 2016 long time bassist, James Pickett, left the band. Shortly thereafter, Cellador went on to sign with Italian record label Scarlet Records. In 2017, bassist Chris Davila was temporarily brought in to help with the promotion for their upcoming album, such as performing in live shows and a music video. Off the Grid was officially released on March 10. After their second LP release, Cellador shot a music video for one of the Off the Grid singles, Break Heresy. They went on to open up for acts such as Yngwie Malmsteen, and played in the 2017 Evoken Music Festival in Tokyo and Osaka, Japan. The band is currently in the process of writing and recording a third album
606
Cellador
0
10,106,769
# Spirit of the Century ***Spirit of the Century*** is a pulp role-playing game published by Evil Hat Productions, and based on Evil Hat\'s *FATE* system. It is billed as a \'pick-up\' game that can be played quickly, with little preparation. ## Gameplay *Spirit of the Century* is a pulp action game. The gorilla in a biplane on the cover is one of the sample player characters. ### Setting The game is set in the pulp era of the 1920s. Player characters are \'Centurions\': \'potent individuals of action\', born on the first day of the century, and endowed with extraordinary skills and abilities, much like Warren Ellis\'s conception of Century Babies in the Wildstorm comics universe. It has been released under the OGL with a freely accessible System Reference Document. Part of the setting is created in character generation; all characters have ten free-form *aspects* that have an effect on the game and on the world. Each character gains two aspects from their background, two from what they did in the Great War, and a further two from the stories that would make up an imaginary novel about their life before the game started. They then get a further four aspects by guest starring in two of the other PCs\' novels for two aspects apiece. ### Rules *Spirit of the Century* uses the Fate 3 engine, meaning that all rolls are made by rolling four Fudge dice and adding the character\'s skill to find the outcome. In addition to the skills, all characters have *aspects* that can be *invoked* at the cost of a Fate Point for a bonus or compelled by the GM to gain a Fate Point in exchange for doing something bad for the character (such Fate Points may be refused at the cost of a further Fate Point). Also all characters have a number of *stunts* that represent things they can do that go above and beyond normal capabilities. ## Development The game marks the first appearance of Evil Hat\'s *FATE* 3rd Edition, which was also designed for Evil Hat\'s The Dresden Files Roleplaying Game. According to Shannon Appelcline, game designer Leonard Balsera provided vital support to Rob Donoghue, the main designer working on *Spirit of the Century*. ## Reception It was released to positive reviews, quickly reaching #1 on RPGnet\'s rankings. *Spirit of the Century* won the 2006 Indie RPG Award for *Independent Game of the Year* and also won the 2007 Silver ENnie Award for *Best Rules*. Co-author Fred Hicks claims that as of early 2009, *Spirit of the Century* had sold 3,313 copies in a mix of PDF and print. while by Q3 2013 they had sold 11,711 units
446
Spirit of the Century
0
10,106,770
# Marian Filar (pianist) **Marian Filar** (December 17, 1917 -- July 10, 2012) was a Polish concert pianist and virtuoso composer living in the United States. ## Early life {#early_life} Filar was born in Warsaw, Poland to a musical Jewish family and began studying piano at the age of five. A year or so later he gave his first recital at the Warsaw Conservatory as a *wunderkind*. When 12 years of age, he played Mozart\'s *Concerto in D Minor* with the Warsaw Philharmonic Orchestra. He again played with the orchestra the following year and gained the interest of Zbigniew Drzewiecki, the noted piano teacher at the Warsaw Conservatory with whom he studied until the outbreak of the Second World War. ## Second World War {#second_world_war} Filar was imprisoned during World War II in seven different Nazi concentration camps. In the first death camp, Majdanek, he almost died from malnutrition and infection. He escaped being sent to the gas chambers despite his legs being so swollen from malnutrition that he was barely able to stand. After being liberated by the Polish Army he returned to the piano although he did consider studying medicine. ## Subsequent career {#subsequent_career} While playing recitals in Frankfurt, Germany for the Allied Forces, he went to Wiesbaden, Germany where he sought advice from the renowned German pianist, Walter Gieseking who told him not to quit piano. Filar studied with Gieseking for five years and toured all over Europe playing recitals and concerts. During this period (1945--50) he also performed very frequently on German and other European radio programs. He arrived in the United States in 1950, and lived there since. His American debut was at the Chautauqua Amphitheater where he played Chopin\'s *Concerto in F Minor* and received sensational critiques. Invited to join the Philadelphia Orchestra under the direction of Eugene Ormandy he performed regularly in Philadelphia with the Orchestra. In 1951, Filar recorded renditions of six nocturnes, Chopin\'s Sonata in B Minor, for the now-defunct Colosseum Record Co. in New York City. He made a second recording of 4 preludes by Karol Szymanowski and Etude No 3 in B flat Minor Opus 3, as well as Franciszek Brzezinski\'s *Theme with Variations*. He debuted in Carnegie Hall on January 1, 1952. Filar subsequently continued his career as a concert pianist all over the United States and South America as well as in Europe, while teaching at the Settlement School of Music in Philadelphia from 1953 to 1958. He was appointed to the chair at the Temple University School of Music piano department in 1958. Prof. Filar retired from teaching at Temple University in 1988 though he remained an Emeritus Professor in the Boyer School of Music and Dance. In 1992 he went to Poland where he played with the Warsaw Philharmonic Orchestra once again. In 2002, he co-authored a book about his life during and after World War II entitled *From Buchenwald to Carnegie Hall*. ## Death Filar died in Wyncote, Pennsylvania on July 10, 2012, aged 94. ## Publications - *From Buchenwald to Carnegie Hall* (co-author with Charles Patterson), University Press of Mississippi, first edition, 2002. `{{ISBN|978-1-57806-419-9}}`{=mediawiki} Composer Piece Orchestra Conductor ------------- ------------------------------------------------------------------- ---------------------------------------- ---------------- Chopin Piano Concerto No. 1 in E Minor Danish Radio Symphony Orchestra Erik Tuxsen Chopin Piano Concerto No. 2 in F Minor Bavarian Symphony Orchestra Rafael Kubelik Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto in B flat Major{fact} Washington National Symphony Orchestra Emerson Meyers Schumann Piano Concerto in A Minor Orchestra Sinfonica, São Paulo, Brasil Chopin Prelude in D Minor Op. 28 No. 24 Chopin Mazurka in F sharp Minor Op. 6 No 1 Tauriello Toccata Chopin Nocturne: E flat Major Op.9 no.2 Chopin Nocturne: C sharp Minor Op. 27 No. 1 Chopin Nocturne: D flat Major Op. 27 No 2 Chopin Nocturne: E flat Major Op. 55 No. 2 Chopin Nocturne: E flat Minor Op. 72 No. 1 Chopin Nocturne: C sharp Minor *Lento con gran espressione* (posthumous) Chopin Polonaise in C flat Minor No. 1 Chopin Nocturne in C flat Minor Op. 27 No. 1 Chopin Ballade No. 1 Chopin Etude in E Major Op. 10 No.3 Chopin Barcarolle Op. 60 Chopin Scherzo in B-flat minor Op. 31 No.2 Chopin Mazurka in C sharp Minor Op. 63 No. 3 Chopin Polonaise in A flat Major No. 6 Chopin Fantasie in F Minor Op
720
Marian Filar (pianist)
0
10,106,829
# Ophidiella ***Ophidiella*** is a subgenus of the genus *Plasmodium* created in 1966 by Garnham. It was created as a subgenus for the then only known species infecting snakes - *Plasmodium wenyoni*
32
Ophidiella
0
10,106,830
# WBMI **WBMI** is an American radio station, licensed to West Branch, Michigan, the seat of government for Ogemaw County. The station broadcasts at the assigned frequency of 105.5 MHz with an erp of 6,000 watts. The station plays Contemporary Christian music and is owned by Superior Communications, which owns the Smile FM network of radio stations. ## History The call letters WBMI first were used by a station in Meriden, Connecticut. That station has been WKSS since 1977 and has had a Top-40 format since 1984. ### Early history as WBMB {#early_history_as_wbmb} WBMI of West Branch, Michigan was the FM sister station of WBMB-AM, which first signed on the air June 7, 1972 at 1060 kHz with 1,000 watts output power, from transmitter facilities at 1245 Gray Road in West Branch. The construction permit for WBMB was first granted January 12, 1968, but encountered a delay due to a competing application from another party in August of that same year. Construction resumed in July 1971, after Ogemaw Broadcasting Company ultimately prevailed in legal proceedings. The station was owned by Ogemaw Broadcasting Company, with studios located at 206 W. Houghton Avenue in West Branch. Gene Kauffman, an Escanaba resident, was the president and general manager. The station was owned by Jack E. (Gene) Kauffman, Dean W. Manley and Robert Marshall. Manley was the chief engineer who designed and built the station, Marshall was owner and publisher of the Ogemaw County Herald. Kauffman and Manley were each 25% owners and Marshall 50%. ### WBMI signs on {#wbmi_signs_on} WBMB was a daytime-only AM station for its entire existence. In 1977, Ogemaw Broadcasting Company was granted a construction permit to put WBMI on the air. Studios and offices were then moved down the street to 714 W. Houghton Avenue. WBMI signed on the air in 1980. WBMB and WBMI were a typical small-market radio station of their time, with few employees working shared duties. World and national news was provided by Westwood One, with a mass appeal format of adult contemporary and oldies music on WBMB, and WBMI leaning more of a Top 40 sound. The two stations for a time, simulcast programming as WBMB was not able to provide listeners with local radio service at night. ### Sale and Decline {#sale_and_decline} The stations were sold to David Swittek, a TV engineer from Bay City, Michigan on a terms contract. He defaulted on the contract a few years later. And on November 20, 1985, both stations were sold to Ashuelot Broadcasting, a company headed by Gene Flowers, who once served as general manager under Ogemaw Broadcasting\'s ownership. By this time, both stations simulcast each other 100 percent and switched to an adult contemporary format. Former owners Jack E. Kauffman and Robert S. Marshall regained control after the succeeding owner declared bankruptcy on November 1, 1989, with Michael Baker assuming the role of president and general manager. The stations then went dark in 1991.
490
WBMI
0
10,106,830
# WBMI ## History ### Rebirth In the summer of 1993, WBMI returned to the air as \"Kool FM 105.5\" with the format provided via satellite by Jones Radio Network after being sold to Ives Broadcasting of Alpena, which also owned adult contemporary-CHR formatted WHSB (Bay 108). Ives\' intent was to cross-market several stations calling them the \"Northern Radio Network\". On-air functions originated from WHSB\'s studio location in Alpena, with no local presence in West Branch other than the transmitting antenna. WBMB did not return to the air with WBMI, and under the Telecommunications Act of 1996, still having not returned to the air, its license was permanently canceled. In March 1999, the license for WBMI was transferred from Ives Broadcasting to Northern Radio Network, with no changes in ownership. The Northern Radio Network effort ended in October 2000, with WBMI going silent once again. The following year, WBMI was sold to Independent TV Productions. Independent TV Productions resumed WBMI\'s operations with Jones Radio Network\'s Hot AC format. During this time, the station imaged itself with various monikers, such as \"Kool Mix 105.5\" and \"Channel 105.5.\" A few years later WBMI returned to oldies and then changed to classic country, all also satellite-fed from Jones. In July 2005, industry sources reported that husband and wife Kevin and Alana Beamish, of Owosso, Michigan agreed to purchase the station for \$300,000. In August 2005, a filing was submitted to transfer the license to a minority shareholder (Peggy Warner) on the basis that she had loaned money to the company. The transfer application included an agreement written by Mrs Warner purporting to transfer the license and related assets to herself. The FCC dismissed the application. Three days later, the application to transfer control of the license to the Beamishes was submitted and approved by the FCC, but the transfer was never consummated and the license stayed in the name of Independent TV Productions. In April 2008, the license was successfully transferred to Peggy Warner. Management duties were assumed by longtime northern Michigan radio personality Charlie Cobb, a longtime fixture at WKKM. In August 2011, Cobb and Michael Fleming, entered into an agreement to purchase WBMI from Warner under the name CF Broadcasting, for \$360,000. The FCC approved the sale on October 6, 2011. ### Legal issues {#legal_issues} In August 2019 CF Broadcasting attempted to transfer ownership of WBMI to a separate company also owned by Cobb and Fleming. That resulted in a lawsuit from Peggy Warner accusing CF Broadcasting of non-payment. A court-appointed receiver then took the station silent on January 25, 2020. On August 6, 2020, an Ogemaw County judge returned ownership of the station to Ms. Warner in return for her dropping a claim against property owned by Mr. Fleming. The station returned to the air in late October 2020. The station was sold to Superior Communications, owner of the Smile FM Contemporary Christian network of stations based in Williamston, Michigan in October 2023
493
WBMI
1
10,106,836
# Conner Reeves **Conner Reeves** (born 8 April 1972) is an English singer and songwriter. He is best known for his 1997 album *Earthbound* which was released on Colin Lester\'s and Ian McAndrew\'s Wildstar label. Reeves scored five consecutive Top 40 singles in the UK Singles Chart and provided backing vocals to MN8\'s hit song \"If You Only Let Me In\" which he also co-wrote. He gave his song \"As Love Is My Witness\" to the Irish pop band Westlife for their album *Where We Are*. In November 2005, he released the EP *Welcome to the Future* through Still Waters Recordings. On 17 March 2007, a song he wrote titled \"I Can\", performed by former East 17 singer Brian Harvey, participated in the United Kingdom\'s national selection for the Eurovision Song Contest. He co-wrote the tracks \"Mouth to Mouth\" and \"Porcelain\" with *X Factor* winner Matt Cardle on his 2013 album *Porcelain*, as well as being credited with backing vocals and keyboards. In an interview with *Headliner Magazine* in 2019, he stated that he had retired to become a \"proper father\" and that he intended to release new music. ## Discography ### Albums - November 24, 1997: *Earthbound* -- UK No. 25 ### Singles - 18 August 1997: \"My Father\'s Son\" -- UK No. 12 - 10 November 1997: \"Earthbound\" -- UK No. 14 - 30 March 1998: \"Read My Mind\" -- UK No. 19 written with Wayne Cohen - 21 September 1998: \"Searching for a Soul\" -- UK No. 28 - 23 August 1999: \"Best Friend\" (with Mark Morrison) -- UK No
263
Conner Reeves
0
10,106,850
# Coltejer Building The **Coltejer Building** is the tallest building in Medellín, Colombia and the tenth-tallest in Colombia as of 2016. It was completed in 1972. Coltejer is one of the most important textile companies in Colombia, and the largest textile complex in Latin America. It was founded in Medellín by Alejandro Echavarría on October 22, 1907. ## Building history {#building_history} Colombia began a skyscraper building era in the 1960s in Medellín. The Coltejer Building was designed by architects Raúl Fajardo, Aníbal Saldarriaga, Germán Samper, and Jorge Manjarres. Its construction required the demolition of the art nouveau Edificio Gonzalo Mejía which contained the Junín Theatre and the Hotel Europa. With a height of 175 m, the Coltejer Building was the fourth-tallest building in Colombia, and was the tallest building in South America at the time of its completion. It is said to resemble a sewing machine needle, representing the textile company after which it is named. ### Statistics - Height: 175 metres - Area: 42,000 square metres. - Floors: 36 - Parking spaces: 150 - Elevators: 11 The Coltejer Building can host 40,000 seated people and 168,000 standing people. ## Coltejer ### History The Echavarría family were the founders of two textile companies, Coltejer and Fabricato, and were also involved in coffee exportation and importation of other goods. In 1907, Alejandro Echavarría decided to import four power looms, which he put to work along with twelve workers in the patio of his coffee-processing plant. This was the beginning of Coltejer. During the Depression era, Coltejer bought discarded looms cheaply from the United States that were brought in on muleback. During World War II, Coltejer was operating some 70,000 spindles and 1,900 looms, employing 4,000 workers in its Medellin plant in addition to those at Envigado. ### Production Coltejer\'s profits increased by a factor of twenty between 1940 and 1949, from 830,000 pesos to 16,520,000. Coltejer has a total fabric production capacity of about 60 million metres, of which 90% is used to produce clothing and 10% is to make home textiles. It is also one of the leading denim producers in Colombia. Coltejer works with 67 exclusive distributors and 77 wholesalers in Colombia
363
Coltejer Building
0
10,106,853
# Knockeyon **Knockeyon** (*Cnoc Eóin*) is a hill in County Westmeath, Ireland in the townland of Streamstown. ## Location The hill is on the southeastern shore of Lough Derravaragh and oversees much of the north Leinster countryside. ## Chapel The ruins of a chapel (national monument WM012-206 ), are halfway up the hill. A devotional pattern was held annually around 1 August or the nearest Sunday to it. Annotated as \'Chapel\' on the OS maps this structure is situated within a dense hazel and oak historic woodland. Only the footings of this building remain (pers. comm. Aidan Walsh). Depicted on the 1911 ed. OS 25-inch map as a small rectangular building aligned on a NW-SE axis standing at the intersection point of four woodland pathways. ## Habitat Knockeyon and other surrounding hills support deciduous woodland which mostly consists of native species. Hazel, rowan, ash, and oak are abundant. Exotic species occur occasionally, such as horse chestnut and other species introduced including beech. The neighbouring Knockbody Wood is inhabited by wild pheasant and is a popular attraction for local pheasant hunters. On occasions, the Common pochard (*Aythya ferina*) population, which is one of the largest in Ireland, has exceeded the threshold for international importance. (i.e. 3,500 individual fowl)
207
Knockeyon
0
10,106,859
# Société Nationale des Pétroles du Congo ***Société nationale des pétroles du Congo*** (the **National Petroleum Company of the Congo**, **SNPC**) is a national oil company of the Republic of the Congo. The company was established in 1998 after the dissolution of the public company Hydro-Congo.`{{dl|date=June 2025}}`{=mediawiki} The company manages government-owned shares of production from oil fields in the country.`{{dl|date=June 2025}}`{=mediawiki} The company has stakes in Moho-Bilondo (15%), Nkossa (15%), M\'Boundi (8.8%), Kitina (35%), Sendji (15%), Yanga (15%), Djambala (35%), Foukanda (35%), Mwafi (35%), Emeraude (49%), Yombo (44%), Tilapia (35%), Azurite (15%), and Turquoise Marine-1 (15%) fields.`{{dl|date=June 2025}}`{=mediawiki}`{{dl|date=June 2025}}`{=mediawiki} It owns the refinery company named Congolaise de Raffinage (CORAF)
109
Société Nationale des Pétroles du Congo
0
10,106,868
# Batu Lintang camp **Batu Lintang camp** (also known as **Lintang Barracks** and **Kuching POW camp**) at Kuching, Sarawak on the island of Borneo was a Japanese-run internment camp during the Second World War. It was unusual in that it housed both Allied prisoners of war (POWs) and civilian internees. The camp, which operated from March 1942 until the liberation of the camp in September 1945, was housed in buildings that were originally British Indian Army barracks. The original area was extended by the Japanese, until it covered about 50 acres (20 hectares). The camp population fluctuated, due to movement of prisoners between camps in Borneo, and as a result of the deaths of the prisoners. It had a maximum population of some 3,000 prisoners. Life in the camp was harsh, with POWs and internees alike forced to endure food shortages, disease and sickness for which scant medicine was made available, forced labour, brutal treatment, and lack of adequate clothing and living quarters. Of the approximately 2,000 British POWs held there, over two-thirds died during or as a result of their captivity. The construction and operation of a secret radio receiver for over `{{frac|2|1|2}}`{=mediawiki} years, from February 1943 until the liberation of the camp, was a morale booster and allowed the prisoners to follow the progress of the war. Discovery would have resulted in certain death for those involved. Following the unconditional surrender of Japan on 15 August 1945, the camp was liberated on 11 September 1945 by the Australian 9th Division. On liberation, the camp population was 2,024, of whom 1,392 were POWs, 395 were male civilian internees and 237 were civilian women and children. Amongst official Japanese papers found at the camp following its liberation were two \"death orders\". Both described the proposed method of execution of every POW and internee in the camp. The first order, scheduled for enactment on 17 or 18 August, was not carried out; the second was scheduled to take place on 15 September. The timely liberation of the camp may have prevented the murder of over 2,000 men, women and children. In July 1948, a teachers\' training college moved to the site, where it continues to this day, the oldest such establishment in Malaysia.
372
Batu Lintang camp
0
10,106,868
# Batu Lintang camp ## Location and organisation {#location_and_organisation} Kuching lies some 35 km up the Sarawak River from the sea; the camp was situated some 5 km to the southeast of Kuching. The barracks were built by the Sarawak Government in early 1941, when Britain, in agreement with the Rajah of Sarawak, sent the 2nd Battalion, 15th Punjab Regiment of the British Indian Army (2/15th Punjab Regiment) to defend Sarawak in case of attack by the Japanese. The camp, known from its inception as Batu Lintang, was near completion for occupation by May 1941. The Japanese first invaded the island of Borneo in mid December 1941, landing on the west coast near Miri; invasion was completed by 23 January 1942 when they landed at Balikpapan on the east coast. The first Allied prisoners held in the camp were about 340 British and Indian soldiers who were interned there in mid-March 1942. In time, it held both Allied POWs and Allied civilian internees. Local Sarawakians including ethnic Chinese were not interned in the camp, although some were imprisoned in Kuching gaol. Allied civilian prisoners came almost exclusively from different territories on Borneo: from North Borneo (now Sabah), from Brunei, from the Straits Settlements island of Labuan, and from Sarawak, all of which were under British control, and from Dutch Borneo (now Kalimantan). In contrast, the POWs were brought to Batu Lintang from places such as mainland Malaya and Java as well as from Borneo. Many spent time at transit or temporary camps, such as the one at Berhala Island, North Borneo, prior to their transfer to Batu Lintang. The camp officially opened on 15 August 1942, at which time a commemoration stone was erected at the camp. The camp commandant was Lieutenant-Colonel (Lt.-Col.) Tatsuji Suga. Suga was the commandant of all POW and internees\' camps in Borneo; there were others at Jesselton (later Kota Kinabalu), Sandakan and briefly on Labuan island and also at Tarakan, Banjarmasin and Kandangan; Suga was often absent from Batu Lintang as a result. His second-in-command was Lieutenant (later Captain) Nagata; some sources say Negata or Nekata. Most of the camp guards were Koreans, with a few Formosans (Taiwanese). There was a range of administrative buildings, quartermaster\'s stores, guard houses, guards\' quarters and a camp hospital. Throughout its operation, all the camps at Batu Lintang, including the internee ones, were conducted under prisoner-of-war rules. The entire camp was surrounded by a 8 km perimeter barbed wire fence. The internees were segregated into categories and assigned separate compounds, each of which was also surrounded by barbed wire fencing. There were 8--10 compounds, although their make-up varied through the period of operation of the camp. The make-up was determined by the arrival and departure of different groups of prisoners as Batu Lintang camp was also used as a transit camp: at one point some of the Australian and British soldiers who were later to die on the Sandakan Death Marches were held at the camp. Contact between the inhabitants of the different compounds was forbidden and transgressors were severely punished. The main groups of POWs were British officers, Australian officers and non-commissioned officers (NCOs), Royal Netherlands East Indies Army (KNIL) officers, British Other Ranks, British Indian Army (2nd/15th Punjab Regiment) personnel, Netherlands East Indies (Indonesian) KNIL soldiers. The British and Australian personnel had mostly been sent from Malaya and Singapore, after the Allied surrender there, whereas the KNIL soldiers and the Punjab Regiment had defended Borneo. The civilian internees were mostly Dutch Roman Catholic priests, British civilians (including children), and British and Dutch Catholic nuns. There were a handful of Chinese and Eurasian civilian internees. Each compound had its own \"camp master\" (or \"camp mistress\", in the case of the women\'s compound). The camp master was responsible for liaising between the internees and the Japanese authorities. Each compound contained a number of long barrack buildings, usually 25 -, each of which housed 30--100 people. A barrack master was appointed for each building. The camp and barrack masters were appointed by Colonel Suga. In addition, the Dutch other ranks and about 50 British soldiers were stationed in a separate compound at the Kampong Batu Tujoh airfield (also known as Bukit Stabah), near Kuching. The camp included areas that had once been a rubber tree plantation, and some of the trees remained inside the compounds, providing a limited amount of shade.
731
Batu Lintang camp
1
10,106,868
# Batu Lintang camp ## Compounds Living conditions within the compounds were cramped. Each person was allotted a very small space within a barrack building within which to sleep, keep the few personal possessions they had with them, and also to eat, as there was no communal area within the barracks. British officers and NCOs: This was described as \"*perhaps the most commodious*\" compound, with a fair amount of workable land. At first the officers were with the British other ranks, but they were separated out into this compound on 5 February 1943. Including the three huts, the compound was 2+1/2 acre in area with 1+1/2 acre of cultivable land. The Officer in Charge and overall British Military Authority was Lt.-Col. M. C. Russell, until his death on 5 June 1943; Lt.-Col T. C. Whimster took over the role thereafter. The compound held 134 men in September 1944. ```{=html} <!-- --> ``` Australian officers and NCOs: On liberation, 178 Australian officers and NCOs were held at Batu Lintang, in a compound which was without sufficient land for cultivation. The Officer in Charge was Lt.-Col. A. W. Walsh. The Australian other ranks were held in a camp at Sandakan. ```{=html} <!-- --> ``` Dutch officers and NCOs: This was without sufficient land for cultivation. The Officer in Charge was Lt.-Col. Mars. ```{=html} <!-- --> ``` British other ranks: British soldiers were \"*kept in grossly over-crowded barracks, with inadequate kitchen, lighting, water and sanitary services.*\" They had no land for cultivation. Initially the compound held 1,500 POWs, with additional soldiers arriving thereafter taking the total to around 2,000, but by the end of the war the figure had been reduced to about 750. The Officer in Charge was RSM (later 2nd Lt) S. T. Sunderland. ```{=html} <!-- --> ``` British Indian Army other ranks: Soldiers from 2nd/15th Punjab Regiment were interned at Batu Lintang. The Indian POWs were housed in two huts, with no land for cultivation. ```{=html} <!-- --> ``` KNIL soldiers: Indonesian soldiers were housed in a small compound close to the British other ranks\' compound. ```{=html} <!-- --> ``` Roman Catholic priests and religious men: The Catholic priests, brothers and religious men, mostly Dutch and Irish, lived in a separate compound, with a large plot of land to grow vegetables. They numbered 110, including 44 Capuchin friars, 5 Mountfort missionaries, 22 *Broeders van Huijbergen* (Brothers of Huijbergen) and 38 Mill Hill Missionaries. At liberation, there were 395 civilian men, which included the priests. ```{=html} <!-- --> ``` Male civilian internees and some boys: In 1943, approximately 250 male civilian internees (excluding Roman Catholic Mission personnel) were held in this compound. From July 1942 until 14 November 1944 the camp master was C. D. Le Gros Clark (brother of Wilfrid Le Gros Clark), the former Chief Secretary, Sarawak Government; Lt.-Col. W. C. C. Adams (of the North Borneo Constabulary), who had been assistant camp master, then served in the role until liberation. Accounts mention a British civilian internee named Don Tuxford whose eight-year-old son was in the compound with him, while Tuxford\'s wife and daughter Julia were in the women\'s compound; other sources state that Dutch boys over the age of ten were sent to the men\'s compound rather than being placed with the women, as the Japanese considered them men at that age. The total number of male children held in the men\'s camp is uncertain. ```{=html} <!-- --> ``` Female civilian internees (including nuns) and children: This compound was located at the western part of the camp, slightly removed from the other compounds. The internees were mostly Dutch and British, with a few Eurasian and Chinese women, and four American women, including Agnes Newton Keith. Their quarters were described by an internee as \"*new and fair*\" and \"*they had a reason\[able\] area for cultivation.*\" The camp mistress was initially Mother Bernardine, an English Roman Catholic nun, but when she became ill Mrs. Dorie Adams, wife of the master of the men\'s camp, took over the role. The women were housed in five very small barracks and each person was allotted a space of 6 feet by 4 feet (1.8m by 1.2m) in which to live and store their possessions. A chapel was constructed at one end of one of the huts. ```{=html} <!-- --> ``` : In March 1944, the women\'s compound comprised 280 people: 160 nuns, 85 secular women and 34 children. By September 1944 the population had declined to 271; at liberation there were 237 women and children in the compound. Of the nuns, the large majority were Dutch Roman Catholic sisters, with a few English sisters. Initially there were 29 children in the compound, but by April 1943 there were 34. The oldest of these was seven when she entered the camp. None of the children died in the camp; the women often went without provisions to ensure the children\'s survival. A Roman Catholic priest from the nearby priests\' compound came to the women\'s compound daily at 7 am to say mass, and the children were taught by the nuns.
845
Batu Lintang camp
2
10,106,868
# Batu Lintang camp ## Daily life in the camp {#daily_life_in_the_camp} Life in the camp is summed up by Keat Gin Ooi: \"*The trying conditions of life under internment at Batu Lintang camp tested to the limits of the human struggle for survival. Food shortages, diseases and sickness, death, forced labor, harsh treatment, and deplorable living quarters were daily occurrences in camp.*\" The civilian internees were treated less harshly than the POWs; of those POWs, the other ranks were subjected to far worse treatment than the officers. ### Work The male civilian internees\' regulations (prepared by the internees themselves) stated that \"*Any persons who are not performing some useful work in war-time are failing in their moral obligation. Internees should therefore do their best to do such work as \... agriculture, farming, and stock-breeding, in order to increase the supply of foodstuffs to the camp.*\" Some male civilian internees chose to cultivate land around their compound in order to become self-supporting; however, the other work imposed on them meant that they never cultivated the land to its full effect. Some refused to carry out this work, even though it was for the common good. Work included wood-gathering parties, latrine duties, working as cookhouse staff and medical orderlies. Sundays were a rest day, but these were later cut to one in every three weeks. POWs and male civilian internees were forced to work as stevedores and in timber yards at Kuching harbour on the Sarawak River and from October 1942, on the extension of the two runways at the Batu Tujoh landing ground to the south of Kuching, where a small sub-camp was constructed. Another sub-camp was made at Dahan, where the Japanese re-opened an old mercury mine, and used POWs to construct access roads. Such work was prohibited by the 1907 Hague Convention, to which Japan was a signatory. Although it was against international law to force the prisoners to work on projects with a military objective, they were informed that refusal to work on these projects would result in their execution. Other forced labour included refuelling the Zero fighters that used the runways; however, this happened only once as the men sabotaged the operation by adding urine and water to the fuel. The work party men were paid in what the prisoners called \"camp dollars\", the printed paper currency introduced by the Japanese administration. This currency was known colloquially as \"banana money\" because of the banana trees pictured on the 10 dollar notes. At one point the rate was 25 cents a day for officers and NCOs and 10 cents a day for other ranks. As time went on, the working parties became smaller, as there was a lack of available men due to sickness and death. The women were at first allowed to undertake domestic tasks around their compound; later they were forced to undertake work for the Japanese such as mending uniforms, for which they were also paid in camp dollars. In the later part of the war, when the food shortages had become critical, all internees, male and female, were also used as agricultural labourers on the land around the camp, to produce food for their Japanese captors. The prisoners referred to themselves as \"white coolies\". Only 30 men were fit enough to attend the final work parties in 1945; the rest were either too ill, or already dead. ### Food Rations were always meagre but decreased in both quantity and quality as the war progressed. The women and children drew the same rations as the men. The Japanese controlled all food supplies, releasing only what was needed for the day. At the beginning, the rations comprised rice and local vegetables (such as *kangkung*), with every 10 days or so some pork (such as offal, or a head, or some poor-meat bearing part of the animal). The daily rice ration in late 1943 was 11 ounces (312 grams) a day; by the end of the war the rice ration was about 4 ounces (113 grams) per man daily. In September 1944, children were recorded as receiving 50 ml of milk a day. A black market emerged in which the main merchants were a Dutch-Indonesian couple, who obtained goods from a Japanese guard and sold them for a profit to those with cash or tradable goods. At the times of greatest hardship the internees were so hungry that they were reduced to eating snakes, rubber nuts (which were believed to be poisonous), snails and frogs, and rats, cats and dogs if they could be caught. On special occasions an extra ration would be introduced. In the British POW compounds 58 chickens were provided for 1,000 men for Christmas 1942; the next Christmas the women received a single turkey to share between 271 women and children. At Christmas 1944, their last in captivity, the internees received a single egg each. Only one Red Cross supply of parcels was received by the prisoners between March 1942 and September 1945. This arrived in March 1944 and worked out at one sixth of a parcel per person: a single tin of food. Prisoners occasionally were able to buy or barter chicks which they raised on worms and beetles and rice sweepings from the quartermaster\'s store floor (other edible food scraps being too precious to use). Those which were female provided much-needed eggs.
891
Batu Lintang camp
3
10,106,868
# Batu Lintang camp ## Daily life in the camp {#daily_life_in_the_camp} ### Health A camp hospital was set up and run by a Japanese medical officer, Dr. Yamamoto. The prisoners believed that his policy was \"*live and let die*\", and the hospital became \"*a filthy germ-ridden death hole*\". Lionel E. Morris, a sapper with the British Army Royal Engineers, wrote that Yamamoto \"*never attended to \... sick or diseased men*\". Yamamoto issued an order that no rations were to be issued to men in the hospital. The prisoners pooled their food and the sick were provided for even though it meant all others went short. Care of all prisoners was left to the camp doctors, such as Colonel King and Captain Bailey in the POWs\' compounds and Dr. Gibson in the women\'s compound. The hospital comprised three huts in January 1943 and housed both POWs and civilians. The standard of accommodation was very low and crowded, and facilities were virtually non-existent. A hut was later built for tuberculosis patients. In early September 1945 the camp hospital comprised about 30 beds under the care of Lt.-Col. E. M. Sheppard. Little medicine was available to the internees from the Japanese: they provided small amounts of quinine and aspirins. Morris recounts how Yamamoto would quite often beat sick men until they fell down, especially if they approached him for drugs. Few Red Cross supplies were available and most medication was bought or bartered from the outside world or from the guards themselves. No anaesthesia was available for operations. The main source of medical supplies in early 1943 was a pro-Allied ethnic Chinese family who lived nearby and were assisting in the provision of materials for the construction of a radio. #### Disease The mortality rate amongst the British soldiers was extremely high: two-thirds of the population of POWs died in the camp. It was suggested that this high rate was partly because most had come direct from Europe and were not acclimatised and had no idea about the importance of tropical hygiene. Tropical ulcers---which are often diphtheria appearing as a secondary infection of a skin disease---were a common medical complaint, along with dysentery, malaria, beri-beri, dengue, scabies, and septic bites and sores. 600 men out of 1000 were unfit for work in January 1943 owing to beri beri and skin conditions. Deaths from dysentery increased towards the end of the period of captivity. A British NCO, E. R. Pepler, commented that \"*\[m\]en wasted away from their normal weight of over ten stone \[140*lb*/64*kg*\] to three or four stones \[42--56*lb*/19-25*kg*\] \... As the time passed on to 1945, the deaths in our camp \[from dysentery\] were taking place at two or three every day*\". #### Malnutrition Malnutrition caused most of the invalidity and was a major factor in the high mortality rate in the camp, ascribed as the chief cause of death in 600 deaths in the camp. It was considered by the relieving forces that the Japanese were pursuing a policy of deliberate starvation. The basic diet only contained 1.5 ounces (44 grams) of protein and had a calorific value of 1600. J. L. Noakes, a male civilian internee wrote: > \"*In common with many others I experienced the pain of food deficiency disease and by May 1944 it was difficult to work and nights were a torture. My eyes failed rapidly and it became impossible to read or to distinguish objects clearly. The death rate for the whole camp jumped at an alarming rate and we began to realise that we must now begin a real fight for existence.*\" By November 1944 the suffering caused by malnutrition was profound, as recorded by Hilda E. Bates, a female civilian internee who was a nurse based in Jesselton prior to the war: > \"*We are having a particularly hungry period and \[I\] can quite truthfully say that our mouths water, and that we \'slaver\' as dogs do before meals. Some of us find it advisable to rise slowly after lying down, as due to malnutrition, any rapid movement is apt to cause dizziness or even a black-out \... one morning recently I awoke and discovered to my horror that my sight had become very dim. Later I realised this was due to vitamin deficiency in our poor diet.*\" By the end of their third year of internment, most women suffered from amenorrhoea due to malnutrition. In May 1945 Hilda Bates met some of the male civilian internees at the funeral of a friend: > \"*I was horrified to see their condition. Some had formerly been strong men of twelve to fourteen stone*\[168--196 lb/76--89 kg\]*in weight, but were now reduced to mere shadows of themselves, and weighed less than eight stone*\[112 lb/51 kg\]*. .. \[In\] the soldiers camp \... many of the men were just skeletons,---crawling about, as few were able to stand upright. Even our toddlers received the same rations as these poor \[souls\], and the children are still hungry, so what must have been the suffering of those men, many of whom are hardly more than boys?*\" On 30 August 1945, after Suga had officially informed the prisoners of the Japanese surrender but before the liberation of the camp, Hilda Bates visited the sick POWs: > \"*I was horrified to see the condition of some of the men. I was pretty well hardened to sickness, dirt and disease, but never had I seen anything like this in all my years of nursing. Pictures of hospitals during the Crimean War showed terrible conditions, but even those could not compare with the dreadful sights I met on this visit. Shells of men lay on the floor sunken-eyed and helpless; some were swollen with hunger, oedema and ber-beri, others in the last stages of dysentery, lay unconscious and dying. They had no pillows or clothes, few cups, fewer bowls, or even medical supplies. \[\...\] There were three hundred desperately sick men, many unable to help themselves, or to carry food to their mouths. Throughout our internment, we women had begged to be allowed to nurse the soldiers, but the Japanese refused our offer, saying this would be indecent*\". On his release, L. E. Morris, who was one of the \"healthy\" prisoners, weighed five stone, three pounds (73 lb). #### Brutality Brutality by the guards was another factor that damaged the health of many of the prisoners. Hilda Bates described the guards\' treatment of the male prisoners: \"*Their favourite methods of punishment are either kicking below the waist with their heavy army boots, face slapping or striking the head with a rifle butt*\". Failure to bow properly to a guard was a common cause of a beating. Hilda Bates wrote of \"*One male internee \[who\] was paralysed for a week following Japanese brutality, simply because he had not made his bow in what the Japs considered a proper manner*\". E. R. Pepler recorded that \"*a favourite punishment was to make the offender stand in the blazing sun with his arms above his head holding a log of wood. If the prisoner or his arms sagged, he was punched or kicked. This treatment usually lasted until the prisoner completely collapsed*\". Prisoners suspected of more serious misdemeanours were taken by the Japanese military police, the *Kempeitai*, for interrogation at the former Sarawak Police headquarters in Kuching. Torture was a common method of extracting information. After the Japanese defeat, an Australian war crimes investigation team worked in Kuching from the liberation until January 1946. Of around 120 guards, more than 70 had a crime or crimes ascribed to them.
1,259
Batu Lintang camp
4
10,106,868
# Batu Lintang camp ## Daily life in the camp {#daily_life_in_the_camp} ### Clothing Clothing wore out quickly: the tropical climate meant that clothes had to be washed every day, and the rigours of labouring in them meant that they soon became torn, worn and threadbare. An enterprising male internee, J. R. Baxter, entered the camp with two pairs of shorts; as they wore out he constructed a new pair from them by glueing together the constituent parts with latex from the rubber trees growing in the camp. The Japanese did not provide replacement clothing for the prisoners when their clothes wore out. After a period male internees and POWs were issued with a loincloth and perishable rubber shoes, which soon degraded and meant in effect that most prisoners went barefoot. The women fared a little better, often bartering possessions for material: clothes were fashioned out of whatever material was to hand, such as sheets and breakfast cloths. Many of the women kept their best clothes unworn in readiness for their expected eventual liberation, while their other clothes became more and more shabby. Prior to their liberation, supplies were dropped by the Australians. Hilda Bates recorded: \"*The soldiers received shorts, shoes, and blankets with instructions not to appear naked in future!*\". ### Purchasing, bartering and smuggling {#purchasing_bartering_and_smuggling} Prisoners were able to buy a small range of provisions from their captors at Japanese prices, which escalated as the war went on. Black marketeering was sometimes tolerated by the guards, as they themselves were involved in the buying or exchanging of goods, and at other times punished severely. Although contact with the outside world was forbidden, there were plenty of opportunities to communicate with the locals. Firewood-gathering gangs in the jungle were able to make contact and arrange purchases when the guards were not paying attention; at other times these transactions were permitted with the permission of and in the presence of a lenient Japanese guard. Gold, in the form of rings and jewellery, and British pounds were in demand by the Japanese guards. Such was the desperation of the prisoners towards the end of their internment that two soldiers disinterred a recently buried body in order to retrieve the dead man\'s wedding ring. Smuggling became an integral part of camp life, and despite frequent searches, foodstuffs in particular were smuggled into the camp (for example, dried fish was nailed to the underside of wooden bins, and the inside of a hat was a favourite hiding place). Occasional dangerous night-time forays to outside the camp netted foodstuffs such as a chicken or eggs or fruit. The Japanese currency (the \"camp dollars\") was used by the prisoners illicitly to purchase supplies from the locals.
450
Batu Lintang camp
5
10,106,868
# Batu Lintang camp ## Daily life in the camp {#daily_life_in_the_camp} ### Social life {#social_life} Le Gros Clark, as men\'s camp master, issued regular official bulletins to his compound regarding meetings with Suga and other Japanese officers. Communication between the various compounds and with the outside world was forbidden. Married male internees were refused permission to see their wives and children on Christmas Day, 1943. Occasional, irregular meetings were allowed between married couples. Pre-printed postcards to be sent home with stock phrases such as \"I am well\" and \"We have plenty of food\" were issued occasionally; Agnes Keith records that these were issued three times a year but in May 1945 it was decided that a certain percentage of the camp had to include a propaganda sentence in addition to the 25 permitted words of free text. She wrote: > \"*I decided that \[the sentences\] were all so obvious that my people would know they were propaganda. I sent the following card:* > *\'Seven communications sent. Seven received. Health moderate. George* \[Keith\'s son\] *well, energetic, roughneck, reminds me my brother. Fed-up with war. Hopes deferred. Borneo is a beautiful place for living, a dreamland where the scenery is beautiful, little birds sing, very delicious fruits grow, we are very happy here. Agnes, Harry* \[Keith\'s husband\], *George.\'* > *My aunt told me later that she had never felt as downhearted about my fate as when she received that card. She said that obviously I had lost my mind.\"* Sacks of undelivered mail both to and from the prisoners were discovered in the camp on liberation. Working bees were held at Christmas time to make gifts for the children: worn-out clothing was cut up and sleeves, collars, and hems were cut from clothing still in use to provide materials for soft toys. More robust toys, such as scooters, carts, swords, and guns were made from materials such as barbed wire and the wood of rubber trees in and around the compounds. The nuns provided food and gifts for each child. The Japanese officers also gave sweets and biscuits to the children at Christmas. A concert was organised for Christmas 1942, as well as inter-compound games; another less lavish Christmas concert took place in 1943, and a concert party was briefly established before disbanding due to the illness and death of its members. Lt. Frank \"Tinker\" Bell was largely responsible for conceiving and organising what became known by the prisoners as the \"Kuching University\". This operated in the British officers\' compound. Under Japanese regulations prisoners were forbidden to teach, to learn, to compile or possess notes on any subject whatever, or to meet in groups for discussion. The penalty for disobedience was imprisonment or death. Despite this the university, led by Bell, established classes in seven modern languages, as well as subjects as diverse as history, public speaking, navigation, pig-farming, civics and poultry keeping. Bell and his fellow educators organised courses, compiled text books, led classes, and awarded diplomas. Classes were often held in the evenings when dusk or darkness gave some protection against surprise by their captors. Paper for writing exercises and for compiling textbooks was always at a premium: books were fashioned out of paper from soap wrappers, newspaper, the backs of letters and envelopes, and cigarette paper. These were bound into books and often covered with sarong material. Other informal clubs, mainly comprising discussion groups, were established in the other compounds. They covered topics such as chess and draughts (checkers), book-keeping, sailing, and French conversation lessons. A central library for all the camp was run from the British Officers\' compound, with books donated by the internees and some from the civilian library in Kuching town. ## Cemetery Initially the dead were buried in the cemetery at Kuching. The high death rate meant that this was soon filled, however, and in November 1942 a new cemetery area was created next to the camp at an area to the south-east known as \"Boot Hill\". The cemetery was within sight of the camp. At first the dead were buried in coffins, but soon the number of fatalities and the shortage of timber meant that shrouds made from rice sacks or blankets were used instead. The bodies were carried to the grave in a wooden coffin with a hinged bottom, which allowed re-use. Hilda Bates wrote in June 1945: \"*I am horrified at the increased number of graves in the burial ground. Deaths are now so frequent, that a party of grave diggers is now permanently employed, and given extra rations in order that they will have the strength to dig*\". After liberation the bodies were exhumed from the cemetery and sent to Labuan for reburial in a central military cemetery there. A large number of the graves of prisoners from Batu Lintang now at Labuan are unidentified: after the Japanese surrender Suga destroyed many camp records. The cemetery in Labuan is cared for by the Commonwealth War Graves Commission.
826
Batu Lintang camp
6
10,106,868
# Batu Lintang camp ## The radio (the \"Old Lady\") and generator (\"Ginnie\") {#the_radio_the_old_lady_and_generator_ginnie} Information on the outside world was gathered from a variety of sources, such as from co-workers of the Batu Lintang work parties at Kuching docks. An invaluable boost to the prisoners\' morale was provided by a secret radio receiver, from which they were able to learn about the progress of the war. This had been constructed from scavenged and bartered parts. A generator was later constructed to power the radio. The construction of the radio was ordered by Russell. He and some 1150 other POWs had arrived at Batu Lintang on 13 October 1942 from Tanjung Priok camp in Java, where a small group of men had worked on constructing a radio. His proposal was initially met with a distinct lack of enthusiasm, as discovery would result in certain death. One of these men was G. W. Pringle, a member of the British military police. He wrote \"Do these madmen ever seriously consider these idiotic plans before putting men\'s lives in danger?\" It was known that ethnic Chinese people in Sarawak were pro-Allied, and so contact was made with the Ongs, the leading Chinese family in Kuching, who lived about a mile from the camp, to see if they could assist in providing parts. The first night-time attempt, by G. W. Pringle, was a failure as he could not find his way through the dense jungle to the house. A reconnoitre mission was required. To achieve this, Russell suggested to Dr Yamamoto that as the area was a breeding ground for mosquitoes (with the resultant risk of malaria, which would affect Japanese and prisoner alike), the jungle should be cleared and sprayed. Pringle took part on this working party and was able to plot his route. He subsequently made contact and Ong Tiang Swee, Kapitan China of Sarawak and the patriarch of the Ong family, agreed to help. Ong instructed his grandson, Kee Hui to help Pringle obtain the needed parts. This was at massive risk to the family\'s own safety as they too would have been executed if discovered. Their only condition was that they should be provided with the news gathered from the radio, in order to boost the morale of the Chinese community under occupation in Kuching. They provided some radio parts, the acquisition of which must have been a considerable task as all radio equipment had been confiscated by the Japanese. The radio was built and operated in the British other ranks\' compound. The maker of the radio was Warrant Officer Leonard A. T. Beckett, an experienced radio engineer, who was assisted in its construction, operation, and concealment by a core group of three other soldiers. Before Beckett could begin on the radio he first had to make some of the tools needed, such as a lathe and a soldering iron. In addition to the genuine radio parts provided by the Chinese family and a few parts brought along with the men from Tanjung Priok, the radio was constructed from items as diverse as a deaf aid, the steering damper of a Norton motorcycle, a bakelite shaving soap container, an army mess tin, the backing of an old map case, pieces of glass, wire, mica and barbed wire, and parts stolen from Japanese-owned motor cars and motorcycles. The receiver was completed within four weeks of starting. The radio was concealed during its construction in a large stewing-pot; once completed its hiding place was in a biscuit tin buried under the bakehouse fire in the British other ranks\' compound. It was operated in the stores where it had a temporary hiding place in a false-bottomed table. Elaborate security proceedings to protect the radio were put in place, including a network of look-outs. The radio at first ran off torch batteries: these soon ran out and so Beckett constructed a power unit to run off the camp electricity supply. Access to the camp powerhouse was gained by one of the POWs who had been a professional cat burglar before the war. The radio was first used on the night of 24 February 1943, as radio reception was better in the evening. Some of the news was bewildering to the prisoners: \"*Who is this General Montgomery? He seems to be the man we ought to have had in charge from the very beginning. A real live wire*\", wrote Pringle. The existence of the radio, referred to by many code-names but chiefly as the \"Old Lady\" and \"Mrs Harris\", was to be a closely guarded secret, for fear of alerting the Japanese to its existence through loose talk. The commanding officers of the camp and those who had constructed and operated it were known as the \"Board of Directors\", and were the only ones who knew the precise contents of the radio news received. A way of disseminating information was organised: it was arranged for rumours to be spread which contained a considerable amount of truth. Le Gros Clark, the head of the male internees, directed the dissemination of news amongst the male internees; it was decided not to provide information to the women\'s compound. News was also passed to the Chinese once a week, carried through the jungle by Pringle. On the first exchange, without being asked, the Chinese thoughtfully provided medical supplies; thereafter they regularly provided much-needed medicines, money, and vegetable seeds. The leaked news rumours had the desired effect and a more cheerful atmosphere was noted in the camp. The women\'s compound somehow learned of the existence of the radio and the camp mistress, Dorie Adams, asked that they should be provided with news; to counter worries about security she suggested that the Roman Catholic priest who celebrated mass with the R.C. nuns should deliver the news as part of his service, which was always given in Latin. In early March 1943 the provision of electric power for the lighting in the internees\' compounds was halted. This was a serious blow as the radio was run off the power supply. Batteries were unavailable and so the only solution, again the idea of Russell, was to construct a generator. His idea again met with some initial scepticism: \"Now I know he has gone mad\", wrote Pringle. Pringle\'s colleagues were more enthusiastic. Beckett was sure he could build the generator and British RAOC personnel were certain they could supply the necessary components, though they thought it would take three months to make the tools needed. To disguise the noise of the work the enterprise was described as a \"watch repairing factory\" to the Japanese, who offered the use of various tools and other equipment. In March 1943, after the execution of some prisoners at the Sandakan POW camp for operating a radio, the Japanese stepped up their searches at Batu Lintang. Many items essential for the construction of the generator such as magnets, wire, and scrap iron were not easily available, but the involvement of \"Freddie\", one of the prisoners who was a self-confessed thief (and most likely the same man who had previously obtained a power supply: records are unclear) meant that material and equipment was soon obtained. The generator needed to turn at 3,000 revolutions a minute, and so the fittest of the men involved in its construction was chosen to turn the wheel. He was given extra food rations to prepare him for the task. The first trial of the generator was a success, and again, Pringle recorded how news reports told of unknown figures: \"*Events appeared to have been moving with unseemly haste during our enforced breaks from the news broadcasts. \[We\] listened to names we had never heard of. General Eisenhower? General Stilwell?*\" The assembling and disassembling drill took less than thirty seconds, with both the \"Old Lady\" and \"Ginnie\" stowed in their hiding places in the hut which was occupied by cookhouse staff during the day.
1,317
Batu Lintang camp
7
10,106,868
# Batu Lintang camp ## The radio (the \"Old Lady\") and generator (\"Ginnie\") {#the_radio_the_old_lady_and_generator_ginnie} In June 1944, Le Gros Clark was taken from the camp by the *kempeitai* for questioning. On his return the same day, he was considerably shaken and recommended that the radio should be destroyed. This message was relayed to the camp master of the British other ranks\' compound by Whimster, who was the senior British officer. Beckett and his colleagues were informed of this order, but were left to decide themselves what course of action to take. Realising its importance in keeping up camp morale, they decided to keep the radio, saying that \"*we might as well be hung for a sheep as a lamb*\", according to Pepler. Steps to safeguard the civilian internees were undertaken by cutting off news to their compounds. That same month the prisoners received news of the invasion of Normandy. Pringle recorded how, once again, the news brought unfamiliar names to the prisoners\' attention: \"*\'Blood and Guts Patton\'. Now there is a name for a General! \... Somehow though, we feel that with a General bearing the name of \'Blood and Guts\' there is little danger of the Germans dislodging his army*\". It was clear that such important news would have a great effect in the camp; at the same time, the rejoicing it would bring would undoubtedly alert the Japanese. It was therefore decided to provide a hint to the other prisoners, rather than the full information. This was again delivered by a priest, this time by the padre officiating at one of the numerous funeral services. He quoted Exodus chapter 15, verses 9 and 10, which refer to pursuing, overtaking and destroying the enemy, and the sea. News of the bombing of London by V-2 rockets was withheld. The news of the German capitulation on 7 May 1945 was similarly cryptically relayed at a funeral by the padre. This time the verse was Exodus chapter 3, verse 8, concerning the deliverance of the Israelites from the Egyptians to the land of milk and honey; extra piquancy was added by the fact that Suga was present at this service.
359
Batu Lintang camp
8
10,106,868
# Batu Lintang camp ## End of the war for Batu Lintang {#end_of_the_war_for_batu_lintang} In the Allied plans for the South West Pacific theatre, the responsibility for re-taking the island of Borneo was entrusted to Australian forces. Prior to the Australian landings, strategic bombing and reconnaissance missions were undertaken by the RAAF and USAAF. The first Allied planes, 15 USAAF Lockheed Lightnings, were seen over the camp on the morning of 25 March 1945, as they flew on a mission to bomb the Batu Tujoh landing ground. Raids continued sporadically over the next few weeks. A lone Flying Fortress regularly attacked targets in Kuching. The Borneo campaign was launched on 1 May 1945, with a brigade of the Australian 9th Division landing at Tarakan, on the eastern coast of Dutch Borneo. The American armed forces provided naval and air support to assist the landings, and in some cases the Australians were assisted by the advance landings of the Services Reconnaissance Department (SRD) and their local allies. This was followed by landings in Brunei and Labuan on 10 June. In early July, a raid was made by Mosquito aircraft on oil and petrol dumps near to the camp. Liberation still seemed a remote prospect, however: \"*As the weeks dragged by, the lone planes of the Allies were a daily occurrence and as we had realised very early that they could do nothing to help us, we hardly took any notice of them*\". The atomic bombings in Japan at Hiroshima on 6 August 1945 followed by that of Nagasaki on 9 August precipitated the abrupt end of the war. On 15 August 1945, Japan announced its official unconditional surrender to the Allied Powers. The POWs learned of the surrender early in the morning of 15 August, in a broadcast by Radio Chungking received by the secret radio. Pringle made one last journey through the jungle to inform his Chinese friends. The news was immediately broken to the British other ranks\' compound, and quickly spread to the other compounds. Celebratory meals were prepared, with precious supplies and livestock used up. The Japanese guards were unaware of their country\'s surrender, and as the day coincided with an official camp holiday, marking the opening of the camp on 15 August three years previously, they were satisfied that the celebrations were related to the break from the working parties. The women learned shortly afterwards, when the married women had their scheduled meeting with their husbands. Under General Order No. 1, issued on 16 August by General Douglas MacArthur, as Supreme Commander of the Allied Powers, the Japanese were required to provide information on the location of all camps and were responsible for the safety of prisoners and internees, for providing them with adequate food, shelter, clothes and medical care until their care could pass to the Allied powers, and for handing over each store together with its equipment, stores, arms and ammunition and records to the senior Allied officer in each camp. Since it was known that in many areas prisoners and internees were suffering from starvation and neglect, it was of the first importance that they were contacted and recovered as soon as possible. Despite the surrender, the Japanese would remain in control of the camp until 11 September. During this period, there were no work parties and the prisoners did not suffer any beatings. \"It became apparent during the next few days that the Japanese soldiers knew something had happened but were not sure what it was\", wrote Pepler. Extra food was provided by the Japanese shortly afterwards; the camp hospital was furnished with bed chairs and mosquito nets for the first time, and substantial amounts of medicine were issued. A pamphlet in English titled *JAPAN HAS SURRENDERED* was dropped over the camp by three Beaufighters on 16 August. From 19--23 August, leaflets were dropped by aircraft all over known areas in which the Japanese were concentrated, giving general war news and news of the progress of the surrender. On August 19 or 20, more leaflets were dropped on the camp. Signed by Major-General George Wootten, General Officer Commanding, 9th Division, they informed the prisoners of the surrender of Japan, and stated \"*I know that you will realise that on account of your location, it will be difficult to get aid to you immediately, but you can rest assured that we will do everything within our power to release and care for you as soon as possible*\". On 24 August, Suga officially announced to the camp that Japan had surrendered. On 29 August letters were dropped on the camp, instructing the Japanese commander to make contact with the Australian commanders. The letter contained a code of panel signals which enabled Suga to indicate that he agreed to the dropping of supplies for the prisoners and that he would meet Australian representatives later. These panels were placed on the roof of one of the buildings and can be seen in the photograph at the start of the article (above). Stores in long canisters (known by the aircraftmen as \"storpedos\") were first parachuted into the camp from a RAAF Douglas Dakota on 30 August. A female internee, Hilda Bates, wrote: \"*At 11.30 a.m. today a sea-plane dropped twenty parachutes with packages attached. One fell outside our hut and was labelled \'bread\'. Others contained flour, tinned rabbit, and other meat. The goods were collected by the Japs under the supervision of Australian Officers who distributed them to the groups of internees. All sorts of what we had thought of as luxuries arrived; such as sugar, sweets, milk, bundles of clothing, and even fashion books!*\". Further supplies were dropped daily; tragedy struck on 7 September when a male civilian internee was hit and killed by a storpedo that had broken free from its parachute. The official Instrument of Surrender was signed on 2 September ending World War II. After communicating with the Japanese staff at Kuching, Colonel A. G. Wilson landed on the Sarawak River on 5 September and conferred with the commander of the Japanese forces there, who confirmed there were 2,024 Allied prisoners and internees in the area. The next day, Brigadier Thomas Eastick, commander of Kuching Force---a detachment from the 9th Division---flew to the mouth of the Sarawak River in a Catalina where three Japanese officers, including Suga, came aboard for talks. The task of Kuching Force was to accept the surrender of and impound the Japanese forces in the Kuching area, release and evacuate Allied prisoners and internees, and establish military control. At the meeting, Suga presented Eastick with complete nominal rolls of all compounds in the camp. On 7 September, Walsh was permitted by the Japanese to fly to the headquarters of the 9th Division on Labuan island, to collect surgical and medical supplies for the camp. He returned with two Australian medical officers, Major A. W. M. Hutson and Lt.-Col. N. H. Morgan. Pepler recorded how \"*Dr Yamamoto came in for one hell of a time from these two Medical Officers when they saw the state of the majority of our camp. Up-to-date medical care and drugs soon began to show effect upon our sick and many lives were saved by these two officers. Out of the two thousand of us who entered that camp, only seven hundred and fifty survived and of these well over six hundred were chronic sick*\".
1,228
Batu Lintang camp
9
10,106,868
# Batu Lintang camp ## End of the war for Batu Lintang {#end_of_the_war_for_batu_lintang} ### Death orders {#death_orders} Immediately prior to the surrender of Japan, rumours abounded in the camp that the Japanese intended to execute all the prisoners rather than allow them to be freed by the approaching Allied forces; when Dr Yamamoto informed some prisoners that they were to be moved to a new camp they naturally feared the worst, especially when he promised the unlikely idyll of a camp \"*equipped with the best medical equipment obtainable \... there would be no working parties and food would be plentiful \... the sick men would be especially well cared for*\". Official orders to execute all the prisoners, both POWs and civilian, on 17 or 18 August 1945 were found in Suga\'s quarters after the liberation of the camp. The orders were not carried out, presumably as a result of the unconditional surrender of Japan on 15 August. A \"death march\", similar to those at Sandakan and elsewhere, was to have been undertaken by those male prisoners physically able to undertake it; other prisoners were to be executed by various methods in the camp: - **1** All POWs and male internees to be marched to a camp at milestone 21 and bayoneted there - **2** All sick unable to walk to be treated similarly in the Square at Kuching \[in the square at the camp rather than in Kuching town\] - **3** All women and children to be burnt in their barracks Revised orders for the execution on 15 September 1945 of all the internees were also found, this time in the Administration Office at Batu Lintang: - **Group 1** Women internees, children and nuns -- to be given poisoned rice - **Group 2** Internee men and Catholic Fathers to be shot and burnt - **Group 3** POWs to be marched into the jungle, shot and burnt - **Group 4** Sick and weak left at Batu Lintang main camp to be bayoneted and the entire camp to be destroyed by fire The camp was liberated on 11 September 1945, four days before the revised proposed execution date of over 2,000 men, women and children.
363
Batu Lintang camp
10
10,106,868
# Batu Lintang camp ## Liberation of the camp {#liberation_of_the_camp} On 8--9 September, the Royal Australian Navy corvette `{{HMAS|Kapunda||6}}`{=mediawiki}, with Eastick and staff officers on board, sailed for Kuching, along with `{{USS|Doyle C. Barnes|DE-353|6}}`{=mediawiki}. At 14:35 on 11 September, Eastick accepted the surrender of the Japanese forces in the Kuching area from their commander, Major-General Hiyoe Yamamura, on board HMAS *Kapunda*. Later that day the Australian occupying force landed. The 9th Division troops arrived at Batu Lintang camp that afternoon, accompanied by a few American naval officers. There was no resistance from the Japanese troops. The prisoners and internees had been forewarned that there would be no delay in taking the surrender, and quickly gathered at 17:00 in the main square of the camp to witness Eastick accept the sword of Suga. The Japanese finally learned of the existence of the radio in a dramatic fashion: > \"*The Australian Commander, Major General* \[sic\] *Eastick \... mounted the rostrum and after accepting the sword of surrender from Suga was about to dismiss him when a shout, rising simultaneously from the throats of the Board of Directors of the \'Old Lady\' and \'Ginnie\' stopped the proceedings. \'Hold on, we have something to show you.\' Carrying the radio and generator Len \[Beckett\] proudly showed them to the General and turning to Suga, asked, \'Well, what do you think about it Suga?\' Now I know the full meaning of the saying \'If looks could kill.\' Len would have died a horrible death*\". The following day, Suga, together with Captain Nagata and Dr Yamamoto, were flown to the Australian base on Labuan, to await their trials as war criminals. Suga committed suicide there on 16 September. Nagata and Yamamoto were later tried, found guilty and executed. Photographers and cameramen accompanied the liberating force, and the events, and those of the following days, were well-documented. On liberation, the camp contained 2,024 inmates: 1,392 prisoners (including 882 British, 178 Australian and 45 Indian); and 632 internees. The most ill prisoners were taken to Kuching Civil Hospital, which had been entirely refitted by the Australians since serving as the Japanese military hospital. On 12 September, a thanksgiving service was held in the camp, led by two Australian chaplains from the liberating force and Bishop Francis S. Hollis of Sarawak, an ex-internee. This was followed by a parade held in honour of Wootten, as commander of the 9th Division. In appreciation of Beckett\'s work on the radio, fellow ex-prisoners in the camp subscribed over £1,000 for him, a massive sum of money for the time, which Beckett intended to use to set up a wireless business in London, his hometown. Beckett was later awarded the British Empire Medal for his work on the radio. Repatriation commenced on 12 September, and by 14 September, 858 former prisoners had been removed, though pressure of numbers meant that some were still at Batu Lintang a week after liberation. Ex-prisoners were transported by ship (including *Wanganella*, an Australian hospital ship) and in eight Douglas Dakotas and two Catalinas, to the 9th Division\'s \"Released Prisoners of War and Internees Reception Camp\", and the 2/1st Australian Casualty Clearing Station (CCS) on Labuan, before continuing their journeys homeward. The captured Japanese soldiers were then held at Batu Lintang camp. There they were visited by J. B. Archer, an ex-internee, who noted \"There were about eight thousand of them \... it was difficult not to feel aggrieved at the good treatment they were receiving compared to what we had received at their hands. A lunch of fried rice, fish, vegetable and dried fruit was shown to me. This, I was told, was just an ordinary sample.\"
609
Batu Lintang camp
11
10,106,868
# Batu Lintang camp ## Post-war {#post_war} By June--July 1946, the bodies in the cemetery at Batu Lintang had been exhumed and reburied in the military cemetery on Labuan island. In 1947, a grant was approved for the establishment of a teachers\' training college on the site. It exists as such to the present day, the oldest in Malaysia. Of the numerous huts that had housed the prisoners, only 21 were considered fit for use in 1947; after refurbishment the college moved in July 1948 from its temporary home in Kuching to the site at Batu Lintang. The huts have gradually been replaced over the years, although a few remnants of the site\'s former life remain. These include a single hut (albeit with a galvanised roof rather than the attap (palm leaf) one of the war), the old gate posts, the gate bunker and stump of the Japanese flag pole. There is also a small museum on the site. *Three Came Home*, an account of female internee Agnes Newton Keith\'s time in the camp, was published in 1947. It was later made into a feature film of the same name, with Claudette Colbert playing the part of Agnes, Patric Knowles playing her husband Harry and Sessue Hayakawa in the role of Suga. The Union Jack which had been draped over the coffins of prisoners of war at the camp, and which had been raised in the camp on the Japanese capitulation, was placed in All Saints Church, Oxford in April 1946, together with two wooden memorial plaques. After the deconsecration of the church and their temporary loss, in 1993 the flag and plaques were housed in Dorchester Abbey. The Australian War Memorial in Canberra, Australia holds a large archive of material related to the camp, much of which is accessible on the AWM website in the collections databases. In England, the Imperial War Museum in London also houses material about the camp, as does the Bodleian Library of Commonwealth and African Studies at Rhodes House in Oxford. Many of the personal recollections held at the latter two repositories are reproduced in the 1998 publication by Keat Gin Ooi (see below for full reference). Originally the site was commemorated by a small stone. A more formal memorial was opened at the site of the camp in April 2013. Various memorial ceremonies have been held at the site of the camp, including one on 11 September 2020 to mark the 75th anniversary of the liberation of the camp. ### Batu Lintang in March 2007: gallery {#batu_lintang_in_march_2007_gallery} <File:Batu_Lintang_ammunition_bunker.jpg%7CAmmunition> bunker. <File:Batu_Lintang_flagpole.jpg%7CRemains> of the Japanese flagpole at the site of Lt.-Col. Suga\'s office. <File:Batu_Lintang_Japanese_monument.jpg%7CJapanese> monument at the main road leading to the camp. <File:Batu_Lintang_memorial.jpg%7CPrisoner> of War camp memorial. <File:Batu_Lintang_memorial_plaque.jpg%7CPlaque> of the Prisoner of War camp memorial. <File:Batu_Lintang_Punjabi_Barracks.jpg>\|\'Punjabi Barracks\', a reconstructed building. Currently the oldest building in the camp grounds.
474
Batu Lintang camp
12
10,106,868
# Batu Lintang camp ## POWs and internees of note {#pows_and_internees_of_note} - Edward Banks, naturalist and museum curator (internee) - Frank Bell, educator (POW) - Dr Marcus C. Clarke (internee) - Philip Crosland, journalist (POW) - Kenelm Hubert Digby, proposer of the notorious 1933 \"King and Country\" debate and later Attorney General and judge in Sarawak (internee) - I. H. N. Evans, anthropologist, ethnographer and archaeologist (internee) - Ranald Graham, writer, director and producer (child internee) - Francis Hollis, Anglican Bishop of Labuan and Sarawak (internee) - Agnes Newton Keith, author (internee) - Harry Keith, forester and plant collector (internee) - Cyril Drummond Le Gros Clark, Secretary of Sarawak, and translator of Su Shi from Chinese into English (internee) - Michael P
122
Batu Lintang camp
13
10,106,873
# Guetta **Guetta** (*גויטא* or *גואטה*) is a Sephardic Jewish surname, typically originating from the ancient name of the Castilian town of Huete (Guete). Alternatively, it may be derived from the Goeta tribe of western Libya, or as a nickname derived from the Arabic word for \"sharp/cutting/piercing\". Variants of the name include **Gueta**, **Guita**, **Guitta**, **Gweta**, and **Quita**. ## People with the name {#people_with_the_name} Notable people with the surname include: - Bernard Guetta (born 1951), French politician - Cathy Guetta (born 1967), French socialite - David Guetta (born 1967), French DJ, record producer and songwriter - Eliran Guetta (born 1975), Israeli basketball player - Isaac Guetta (1777--1857), Talmudic scholar - Tzuri Gueta (b. 1968), Israeli jewelry and fabric designer - Snir Gueta (b
123
Guetta
0
10,106,876
# Synthetic schlieren **Synthetic schlieren** is a process that is used to visualize the flow of a fluid of variable refractive index. Named after the schlieren method of visualization, it consists of a digital camera or video camera pointing at the flow in question, with an illuminated target pattern behind. The method was first proposed in 1999. Variations in refractive index cause the light from the target to refract as it passes through the fluid, which causes a distortion of the pattern in the image seen by the camera. Pattern matching algorithms can measure this distortion and calculate a qualitative density field of the flow. The method of synthetic schlieren can be used to observe any flow which has variations in refractive index. Commonly these are caused by variations in concentration of a solute in an aqueous solution, or variations in the density of a compressible flow, caused by temperature or pressure variations. As with the optical schlieren method, the clearest results are obtained from flows which are largely two-dimensional
170
Synthetic schlieren
0
10,106,883
# Som om himlen brann \"**Som om himlen brann**\" is a song performed by Lizette Pålsson & Bizazz in Melodifestivalen 1992, finishing in second place. The song charted at Svensktoppen for five weeks between 19 April -- 17 May 1992, peaking at No. 4
44
Som om himlen brann
0
10,106,894
# Freddie Jones (American football) **Freddie Ray Jones Jr.** (born September 16, 1974) is an American former professional football player who was a tight end in the National Football League (NFL). He played college football for the North Carolina Tar Heels and was selected by the San Diego Chargers with their second round pick (45th overall) in the 1997 NFL draft. Jones became one of the best tight ends in the league in his 5 years with the Chargers. On November 4, 2001, he caught Drew Brees\'s first touchdown pass. Before the 2002 season he signed with the Arizona Cardinals, where he played for 3 years. He then signed with the Carolina Panthers before the 2005 season, but never played. On August 7, 2005, he announced his retirement at the age of 30, with 404 receptions for 4232 yards and 22 touchdowns. ## NFL career statistics {#nfl_career_statistics} Legend ---------- **Bold** Year Team Games ------------------------------------------------------------------------- ------ ------- ----- GP GS Rec Yds 1997 SDG 13 8 1998 SDG 16 16 1999 SDG 16 16 2000 SDG 16 16 2001 SDG 14 9 2002 ARI 16 16 2003 ARI 16 16 2004 ARI 16 15 [Career](https://www.pro-football-reference.com/players/J/JoneFr00
194
Freddie Jones (American football)
0
10,106,919
# Bug (2002 film) ***Bug*** is a 2002 American comedy film, directed by Phil Hay and Matt Manfredi. It was released on February 28, 2002. ## Plot A young boy steps on a bug, killing it. A man getting into his car witnesses the senseless murder and crosses the street to chastise the boy. In the extra minute this takes, his parking meter expires and a meter maid is right there to issue a ticket. The now angry man throws the ticket into the storm drain. The ticket clogs a pipe, causing water damage elsewhere. This series of cause-and-effect chain reactions propels an eclectic group of individuals in Silver Lake, Los Angeles, to a common destiny. ## Cast As credited, in order of appearance: - John Carroll Lynch - Megan Cavanagh - Grant Heslov - Brian Cox - Alexis Cruz - Jamie Kennedy - Sarah Paulson - Ed Begley Jr
150
Bug (2002 film)
0
10,106,938
# Gregory Kingsley **Shawn Russ** (born **Gregory Ralph Kingsley**; July 28, 1980) is the first American child, who, at the age of 12 years, legally severed ties with his mother. He changed his name after the juvenile court judge Thomas S. Kirk \"ended the parental rights of his natural mother and allowed \[his\] foster parents to adopt him\". ## Family life and foster care {#family_life_and_foster_care} The eldest of three children, Kingsley was born in Denver, Colorado, to Rachel Kingsley and Ralph Kingsley Sr., who became estranged from his family, giving Rachel Kingsley custodial rights. Gregory\'s two younger brothers, Jeremiah and Zachary, remained with their mother, but Gregory went to live with his alcoholic father, who forbade him from having any contact with them. Eventually, Gregory was reunited with his mother and two siblings; however, his mother\'s drug use prevented her from parenting, and so she voluntarily put her two oldest sons into foster care in 1990. Gregory was placed in a boys shelter, where he met and befriended George H. Russ, who had first come to the shelter as a member of a government commission exploring the \"needs of children\". He was a father and an attorney, and he empathized with Gregory, having had an unhappy childhood himself. In October 1991, he and his wife Lizabeth agreed to adopt Gregory, bringing him to live with their eight biological children. ## Legal action {#legal_action} On June 25, 1992, 11-year-old Kingsley filed a petition for termination of the parental rights of his natural parents, as well as a complaint for declaration of rights and adoption by his foster parents. On July 21, 1992, the trial court determined Kingsley had legal standing to initiate the action for termination of parental rights. Between August 11, 1992, and September 11, 1992, four additional petitions for termination of parental rights were filed on behalf of Kingsley: one from his foster father, George Russ; one from his guardian ad litem, Catherine A. Tucker; one from the Department of Health and Rehabilitative Services (HRS); and the last from Kingsley\'s foster mother, Elizabeth Russ. The lawsuit became widely publicized, and the media referred to him as \"Gregory K\". George Russ said that he had convinced Gregory to take the \"unusual step of seeking the right to sue because he feared that the state might take Gregory out of the Russ home\" if he himself had sued. ### Initial trial {#initial_trial} The matter proceeded to trial on September 24, 1992. Rachel Kingsley, his mother, a \"30-year-old unemployed waitress\", was characterized by a neighbor as someone who \"liked to go out partying\", and often had different men spend the night with her. When she took the witness stand, she \"denied accusations of drug abuse, homosexuality, promiscuity, and child abuse\" made by Gregory Kingsley\'s lawyers, which included foster parent George H. Russ. At the time of the trial, Gregory Kingsley had lived with his biological mother only seven months out of the past eight years. Gregory\'s biological father did not contest the adoption. On September 25, 1992, after a televised two‑day trial, Judge Kirk ruled that \"by clear and convincing evidence, almost beyond a reasonable doubt, the child has been abandoned and neglected by his mother and that it \[would be\] in his manifest best interest\" to terminate the mother\'s parental rights. Full custody was awarded to the Russes. After winning the case, he was presented with a T‑shirt that had the name \"Shawn Russ\" printed on it as well as the number 9 to show he was the Russes\' ninth child. ### Appeal The lawyers of Rachel Kingsley, however, appealed to the Florida Fifth District Court of Appeal in Daytona Beach, Florida. It ruled that the trial court erred in granting standing to a child to divorce his parents. They held that: 1. Although the child lacked legal capacity to institute a proceeding to terminate his parental rights to free himself for adoption by his foster parents, the lower court ruled it was a harmless error, because his foster parents, his guardian *ad&nbsp;litem* and the State had also filed termination petitions on his behalf; 2. The trial court erred in trying the termination and adoption proceedings simultaneously but that such error was harmless error; and 3. The mother\'s immediate appeal of the order terminating her parental rights deprived the lower court of the authority to enter an order granting the adoption and, thus, remanded the lower court\'s adoption order. ## Legacy After the trial, Gregory Kingsley himself said that he \"hoped his case would encourage other young people to take action to gain their happiness\". Indeed, the case inspired Kimberly Mays, a 14-year-old girl who was switched at birth in 1978 in the hospital she was born in. She decided to take similar legal measures to divorce herself from her biological parents, Ernest and Regina Twigg, who were trying to sue for full custody of her when she wanted to remain with Robert Mays, the man who raised her as his daughter. ### In popular culture {#in_popular_culture} The Gregory K case has been portrayed in two made-for-television films: *Switching Parents* (1993) with Joseph Gordon-Levitt as Gregory and *A Place to Be Loved* (1993) with Tom Guiry as Gregory
867
Gregory Kingsley
0
10,106,939
# Shafi Edu Chief **Shafi Lawal Edu** `{{Audio|Yo-Shafi Lawal Edu.ogg|Listen|help=no}}`{=mediawiki} (7 January 1911 -- 8 January 2002), popularly known as **S.L. Edu**, was a Nigerian businessman, Environmentalists and conservationist from Epe, Lagos State. He founded the Nigerian Conservation Fund, a non-governmental organization involved in conservation projects, and was a former member of the council of the World Wildlife Fund. ## Life Shafi Lawal Edu was born on 7 January 1911 in Epe, Lagos to the polygamous family of Lawani Edu; his mother was Raliatu who was the daughter of a Muslim cleric. His education started with attendance at Quranic schools before enrolling in the Government Muslim Primary School in Epe. He finished his education in 1927 and became a teacher at his school. Edu belonged to a royal ancestry, a scion of a Muslim family. His grandfather was Buraimoh Edu, a Muslim *Mogaji* who later became the Baale of Epe. Edu reigned between 1903 and 1917 and is generally regarded as the last paramount ruler of Epe. Edu was one of the young men who accompanied Oba Kosoko of Lagos into exile in Epe in the wake of British military infiltration and occupation of Lagos in 1851. Edu died on 8 January 2002, 24 hours after he turned 91. In line with his wish, Edu remains were buried in his homeland Epe on 9 January 2002. The journey of life had been usefully and productively spent in the service of Epe, Lagos State, Nigeria and the global community. His life was a life of service, a life well spent in the service of humanity. From his humble beginning as the arcadian milieu of Epe, Shafi Edu travelled on his odyssey, making significant and ground breaking forays into the domain of business, commerce, politics, environment, philanthropy, religion and education.
298
Shafi Edu
0
10,106,939
# Shafi Edu ## Career Edu left teaching in 1930 and started a career as a clerk with the Africa Oil and Nuts Company, a firm that had a business alliance with Holland West Africa and was involved in buying palm produce at Epe. In 1933, he was posted to Apapa as a shipping clerk with Holland West Africa. By 1945, he had risen to a managerial level. As a manager, he organized the Dutch shipping line\'s offices in the country and helped in expanding the business to other coastal cities. Figuring out there were affordable untapped prospects in the Nigerian shipping industry, he left Holland West Africa Lines and founded his firm. Using his prior experience in the shipping industry, he found himself a niche in ship handling and stevedoring. He later expanded the venture into timber and other commodities. In the post war period, he was a food contractor to private, government, and European agencies. He also delved into the oil haulage business working as a contractor for British Petroleum. Edu was the chairman of British Petroleum, Nigeria when the firm was nationalized and had its name changed to African Petroleum by the Obasanjo regime. In partnership with T.A. Braithwaite and Munich Re-Insurance, he set up an insurance firm, African Alliance. In the 1950s, Edu was a member of the expatriate-dominated Lagos Chamber of Commerce, as a member, he became acquainted with the law firm of Irving and Bonnar which acted as an advisory firm to foreign businesses scouting for opportunities in the country. Through Irving and Bonnar, he secured board seats with Blackwood Hodge Nigeria, plumbing and electrical firm, Haden Nigeria, and Glaxo Nigeria. He was also a board member of the Federal Industrial Loans Board from 1954 to 1959. In 1963, he was elected president of the Lagos Chamber of Commerce. Edu\'s voyage on the high seas of entrepreneurship started as a ship chandelier, food contractor, and timber trader. He was successful in business. He expanded his business interest in the early 1950s to include such areas as transport which he named Slee Transport Limited. This company majored in oil haulage and transportation of petroleum products. From the 1950s to the end of the First Republic, Slee Transport Limited was a major haulage contractor for British Petroleum. He grieved that he had to witness the contemporary deterioration in the state of Nigeria\'s economy, governance, and international relations. Nigeria\'s suspension from the Commonwealth during the General Sani Abacha tenure as military head of state was particularly bitter to him as he was actively involved in the Commonwealth Chambers of Commerce in his capacity as the Chairman of the Nigerian Chapter of the Royal Commonwealth Society for decades. Edu was a famous statesman and politician in Nigeria. His active participation in politics began in 1945, when he was chosen to serve as a councilor for Epe District Council\'s Bado Ward. He was chosen to serve in the Federal House of Representatives in 1952 and did so until 1954. ### Political career {#political_career} During the pre-independence period, Edu was sympathetic to the Nigerian Youth Movement (NYM) as a supporter of Jibril Martin, one of the party\'s candidates in the 1943 election. He was elected into the Western House of Assembly in 1951 and was later nominated to represent Epe, he focused his energy on various enterprises. He founded Nigerian Conservation Foundation in 1980. One of his sons, Yomi Edu, was appointed Minister of Special Duties, by Olusegun Obasanjo. Edu was elected a councillor to represent Bado ward in the Epe district council in 1945 and between 1952 till 1954 he served as a member of the House of Representatives in the present-day Lagos State of Nigeria. **Chief S.L Edu Research Grant** The Nigerian Conservation Foundation (NCF) in partnership with Chevron Nigeria Limited (CNL) offers research grants to Nigerian citizens who wish to undertake research work in fields related to nature conservation and sustainable livelihood. The grant is for PhD programs
661
Shafi Edu
1
10,106,955
# Leavitt-Riedler Pumping Engine The **Leavitt-Riedler Pumping Engine** (1894) is a historic steam engine located in the former Chestnut Hill High Service Pumping Station, in Boston, Massachusetts. It has been declared a historic mechanical engineering landmark by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. The pumping station was decommissioned in the 1970s, and turned into the Metropolitan Waterworks Museum in 2011. The engine drew steam from a coal-fired boiler, and had a pump valve mechanism which allowed its high-speed operation at a hydraulic head of 128 ft. The engine was designed by engineer Erasmus Darwin Leavitt, Jr., of Cambridge, Massachusetts, with a pump valve invented by Prof. Alois Riedler of the Technische Hochschule in Berlin (now Technische Universität Berlin), Germany. It was built by N. F. Palmer Jr. & Co. and the Quintard Iron Works, in New York. In 1894, it was installed as Engine No. 3 of the Chestnut Hill High Station, later named the Boston Water Works. At its normal speed of 50 revolutions per minute, it pumped 25 million gallons of water in 24 hours. According to Carol Poh Miller, when first brought into operation, the engine attracted national attention as \"the most efficient pumping engine in the world\". The engine was taken out of service in 1928 but remains in its original location and it is open for public viewing as an exhibit in the Metropolitan Waterworks Museum. ## Components and operation {#components_and_operation} The engine itself is of an unusual triple-expansion, three-crank rocker design, with pistons 13.7 , in diameter and 6 ft stroke. Each rocker is connected both to a crankshaft with a 15 ft flywheel and to a double acting pump\'s plunger. The triple-expansion steam engine cylinders, located on the second story of the engine, are supported by six vertical and six diagonal columns, creating space for three vertical pistons to move up and down. The vertical rods with 6 ft stroke from the engine drive a horizontal crankshaft which is also connected to a flywheel. Each of the vertical rods is also connected to the back end of a rocking crank, similar to a bellcrank. With the pivot point of the crank in the front side, the up and down motion of the vertical rod on the back end of the crank creates a motion that pulls and pushes the crank backward and forward. There are also three horizontal rods that connect between the horizontal shaft and the cranks. As the shaft turns, the rods move backward and forward nearly horizontally, adding force to the backward and forward motion of the cranks. On the front end of the cranks, there are 30-degree inclined rods that are connected to the inclined plungers of the pump proper. The unusual diagonal plungers were created in part by the limitation of the existing engine room. The crank configuration is set in a way that the 6 ft stroke is reduced to 4 ft stroke for the inclined rods. Each plunger pumps water in two pump chambers with total of six chambers for the pumping engine. With the reduction of the strokes and the relation of diameters, a higher capacity for pressure can be achieved. The efficiency of the engine also comes from the design of the pump valves by Prof. Riedler. The pump valves which are connected rings that can move up and down to open and close the valves. The pump valve mechanism is controlled by a diagonal rod, powered from a 12 ft stroke horizontal rod which is connected the crank. The valve rods only close the valves on the reverse stroke and leave the valves free to open automatically to increase the speed of the operation. <File:Leavitt-Riedler> eng.jpeg\|Overview of the engine <File:Leavitt> engine today.jpg\|Steam engine and pressure gauges on the second story <File:Leavitt-Riedler> Pumping Engine -- Rods and Flywheel.jpg\|Flywheel and a vertical rod. A horizontal rod is on the left. A crank is between the two rods. <File:Leavitt-Riedler> Pumping Engine -- Inclined Pump Plunger.jpg\|An inclined rod of the pump plunger connected to the crank next to the red stairs <File:Leavitt-Riedler> Pumping Engine -- Pump Chambers.jpg\|Six pump chambers. Two chambers for each of the three pump plungers. <File:Leavitt-Riedler> Pumping Engine -- Pump Valve Mechanism
698
Leavitt-Riedler Pumping Engine
0
10,106,978
# Pedro de Torres Rámila **Pedro de Torres Rámila** (Latin: *Petro de Torres Ramilae*) (1583---1658) was a Spanish poet, satirist and Renaissance humanist. Rámila was born in Vilarcayo, Burgos. He was professor of humanities at the *Colegio Trilingüe* (Trilingual College), and in the Greater College of San Ildefonso, in Alcalá de Henares. He was also canon of the Complutensian church of SS. Justo and Pastor. He died in Alcalá de Henares. In 1616 he submitted four poems to a contest of the chapel of the Sagrario in Toledo. The poems are lost, and are thought to have been of little literary merit. He signed them with the pseudonyms *Trepus Ruitanus Lamira* and *Juan Pablo Ricci*. He owes his fame to the diatribes from an Aristotelian perspective against, principally, Lope de Vega, but also against Luis Tribaldos de Tolello, Padre Juan Luis de la Cerda and José Antonio González de Salas. He is especially remembered for the Latin satire *Spongia* (Paris, 1617), written probably in collaboration with Juan Pablo Mártir Rizo. The original work has been lost, due to its destruction by the enemies of Torres, but it was reconstructed by Joaquín de Entrambasaguas in his *Una guerra literaria del Siglo de Oro: Lope de Vega y los preceptistas aristotélicos*, Madrid, 1932. It contained personal attacks on Lope, as well as attacks on his dramatic theory and practice as defying Aristotelian norms. Writer Francisco López de Aguilar Coutiño, a friend of Lope de Vega, wrote *Expostulatio Spongiae* (1618) in rebuttal. Torres Rámila served Cristóbal Suárez de Figueroa as the model of the character of the teacher in his *El pasajero*
269
Pedro de Torres Rámila
0
10,106,988
# Henry Ford (defensive lineman) **Henry Ford** (born October 30, 1971, in Fort Worth, Texas) is an American former professional football player who was a defensive tackle in the National Football League (NFL). Ford played most of his career for the Houston Oilers / Tennessee Oilers / Tennessee Titans, and played one year for the New Orleans Saints. Ford was selected in the first round of the 1994 NFL draft by the Oilers out of the University of Arkansas. In 1999, the Titans made it to Super Bowl XXXIV in which Ford appeared as a substitute, however they lost to the Kurt Warner-led St. Louis Rams. In high school, Henry Ford played football for Fort Worth (TX) Trimble Tech. Ford played college football on the University of Arkansas football team. Ford\'s numbers at Arkansas were impressive. During a career that was split evenly between the SWC and SEC, he racked up 25 sacks and 43 tackles for loss, which rank second and third in UA history, respectively. His best season came in 1993 as a senior, when he set school records for sacks (14) and tackles for loss (23) and became the first Arkansas player to earn first-team All-SEC honors from the AP and coaches. Those marks have since been tied, but still rank first on the single-season lists. During his 10-year NFL career, Ford started 76 of the 133 games in which he appeared and made 274 tackles, including 24 sacks. He also forced two fumbles and recovered six, including one he returned 30 yards for a touchdown
259
Henry Ford (defensive lineman)
0
10,106,996
# Android Nim ***Android Nim*** is a computerized version of the strategy game Nim programmed by Leo Christopherson for the TRS-80 and published in 1978 by 80-NW Publishing. A port to the Commodore PET by Don Dennis was released in July 1979, followed by an Apple II version in 1980. *Android Nim* is played versus the computer. The stones or other objects of traditional Nim are replaced by androids; their animation was considered impressive in 1978. ## Gameplay The object of the game is to remove the last android from three rows of androids. The game\'s premise is simple, but its animation is impressive given the limitations of the TRS-80\'s display. Throughout the game androids are animated to face different directions, as if bored or engaging in conversation with one another. `{{thumb|content=[[File:Android Nim Commodore PET.png|200px]]|align=left|caption=Intro screen}}`{=mediawiki} The game starts with three rows of androids which contain 7, 5, and 3 androids respectively. An animated android asks the player if they would like to go first. The player chooses a row and types in how many droids to remove. An animated droid at the head of the row then nods its head and raises a gun and the other androids turn to look at the selected row. The specified number of androids are then zapped with a laser beam. It is then the computer\'s turn---with similar effect---and play continues until the last android is removed. If the human wins, the computer is an amusingly poor sport and displays astonishment; if it wins, the computer displays a huge \"I WIN!\". If the computer is about to lose, it pretends to seek futile ways to avoid losing (i.e., by selecting more androids than are available in a given row) before giving up. ## Reception The game was reviewed in *The Dragon* #44 by Mark Herro. Herro stated, \"if you want a good \'demo\' program or just a little light entertainment --- I think you could do worse than to try out this game. I like *Android Nim*
334
Android Nim
0
10,106,999
# Shurwayne Winchester **Shurwayne Winchester** is a Tobagonian soca musician from The Republic of Trinidad and Tobago, who has twice won the Road March title. ## Biography He was born on 8 February 1974 and was raised in Tobago. When he was 12, he entered the competition arena, consistently making yearly contributions that impressed and propelled him to advanced stages. His ability to both pen lyrics he loved and sing them in tones far beyond what was expected of his age, gave him the fortitude to compete against some of the best in the industry, among them, veterans such as the calypso queen of the world, Denyse Plummer and Calypso Monarchs Cro Cro and Luta.`{{fact|date=May 2019}}`{=mediawiki} Winchester has won numerous Calypso Monarch and Road March titles. In 2004, having already made a name for himself with tracks such as \"Baby Love\" and \"Under My Spell\", he won the Road March title in 2004 with \"The Band Coming\". In 2005 he won again with \"Dead or Alive\". In 2006 when he won both the Power and Groovy soca Monarch titles with \"Can\'t Wait\" and \"Don\'t Stop\". He won awards for \"Songwriter of the Year\", \"Song of the Year\" (for \"Dead or Alive\") and \"Groovy Soca of the Year\" (for \"Don't Stop\", his collaboration with Shawn Noel) at the 8th annual Copyright Organisation of Trinidad and Tobago (COTT) awards in 2006. In 2008 he formed his own band, Y.O.U. (Yes One Unit). Winchester collaborated with Maxi Priest on \"Make It Yours\" and with Serani on \"All I Need\".`{{fact|date=May 2019}}`{=mediawiki} ## Discography - *Under My Spell* (2002) - *Press Play* (2004) - *Give Thanks* (2005) - *Evolution* (2006) - *Adrenaline* (2007) - *Renaissance* (2008) - *Y.O.U
283
Shurwayne Winchester
0
10,107,004
# Edward Richards **Sir Edward Trenton \"ET\" Richards** (4 October 1908 -- May 1991) was the first Black Bermudian to head the government of Bermuda and the first Premier of Bermuda. He was the leader of the United Bermuda Party (UBP) between 1971 and 1973. He was a vocal critic of segregation. ## Biography Richards was born in Berbice, British Guiana (now Guyana), the youngest of three siblings. After his mother died while he was an infant, he was raised by his father and grandmother. He trained as a teacher in Georgetown, and in 1930, at the age of 21, he joined his sister Pearl in Bermuda, where he taught mathematics, Latin and games at the Berkeley Institute. He also worked as associate editor of the *Bermuda Recorder*, and on its pages made known his opposition to segregation. He became a Bermudian citizen seven years after his arrival. In 1943 he went to Britain to study law at Middle Temple. While studying in London, he assisted Dr. E. F. Gordon to present a celebrated petition from the Bermuda Workers\' Association to the British Colonial Secretary in 1946. Richards was called to the UK bar in 1946 and to the Bermuda Bar on 31 January 1947, becoming the fourth black lawyer to practice in Bermuda. In 1948 he was elected to Parliament representing Warwick Parish, serving in this position for the following two decades. In 1963, Richards welcomed Emperor Haile Selassie of Ethiopia when Selassie visited Bermuda with his granddaughter Princess Hirut Desta. ## Political life {#political_life} In 1968, he was appointed Deputy Government Leader and Deputy Leader of the UBP. In December 1971, he became Bermuda\'s first black Government Leader. In 1973, The Constitution Amendment (Consequential Amendments) Act 1973 changed the Government Leader\'s title to Premier. Richards held the position of Premier until December 1975. Sir Edward Richards retired from politics on 29 December 1975, and from law practice in 1986, at the age of 78. He died in May 1991 at the age of 83. ## Honours and recognition {#honours_and_recognition} Richards was knighted by Queen Elizabeth II in 1970. Richards was a member of Alpha Phi Alpha fraternity. A portrait of Richards is one of 80 painted by Esther Dai for display at the Historic Museum in Bermuda. In June 2015, Richards and Gladys Morrell were named National Heroes of Bermuda. ## Family In 1940 Richards married Madree Williams, with whom he had three children. His son, E. T. \"Bob\" Richards, is a politician and member of the House of Assembly of Bermuda for the United Bermuda Party. His elder daughter is circuit judge Patricia Dangor, who now lives in London, England, with her children and grandchildren. His younger daughter is the writer Angela Barry, who remains in Bermuda with her children and grandchildren
465
Edward Richards
0
10,107,036
# Tuen Mun Progoal FC **Tuen Mun Progoal Football Club** (`{{zh|t=屯門普高足球會}}`{=mediawiki}) was a Hong Kong football club which played in the Hong Kong First Division League in the 2008--09 and 2009--10 season. It borrowed the entities of Shek Kip Mei to compete in the league. ## Match-fixing controversy {#match_fixing_controversy} The Hong Kong Football Association said that it will seek help from the Independent Commission Against Corruption over claims that the match between Happy Valley and Tuen Mun Progoal on 30 March 2009, in which Progoal conceded four goals in the last seven minutes and lost 1--5, was fixed. ## Expulsion from Hong Kong First Division League {#expulsion_from_hong_kong_first_division_league} The Hong Kong Football Association announced on 27 November 2009 that the club was expulsed from the league competition with immediate effect due to default in payments to players insurance to the HKFA. As a result, the club\'s remaining schedules in the 2009--10 season (sans disciplinary record and which remains intact) have been declared vacant and the players are eligible for free transfers
170
Tuen Mun Progoal FC
0
10,107,061
# BB postcode area The **BB postcode area**, also known as the **Blackburn postcode area**, is a group of thirteen postcode districts in north-west England, within nine post towns. These cover east Lancashire, including Blackburn, Burnley, Accrington, Barnoldswick, Clitheroe, Colne, Darwen, Nelson and Rossendale. Mail for the BB postcode area is processed at Preston Mail Centre, along with mail for the PR, FY and LA postcode areas. \_\_TOC\_\_ ## Coverage The approximate coverage of the postcode districts: \|- ! style=\"background:#FFFFFF;\"\|BB0 \| style=\"background:#FFFFFF;\"\|BLACKBURN \| style=\"background:#FFFFFF;\"\|*Granby Marketing, Blackburn* \| style=\"background:#FFFFFF;\"\|*non-geographic* \|- ! BB1 \| BLACKBURN \| Blackburn (east), Bank Hey, Belthorn (part), Blackamoor, Clayton-le-Dale, Guide, Knuzden, Mellor, Ramsgreave, Rishton, Salesbury, Shadsworth, Sunnybower, Tottleworth, Whitebirk, Wilpshire \| Blackburn with Darwen, Hyndburn, Ribble Valley \|- ! BB2 \| BLACKBURN \| Blackburn (west), Beardwood, Balderstone, Belthorn (part), Cherry Tree, Feniscowles, Griffin, Holly Tree, Livesey, Mellor, Mellor Brook, Mill Hill, Osbaldeston, Pleasington, Witton \| Blackburn with Darwen, Chorley, Ribble Valley, South Ribble \|- ! BB3 \| DARWEN \| Darwen, Bank Fold, Eccleshill, Hoddlesden, Livesey, Lower Darwen, Pickup Bank, Tockholes \| Blackburn with Darwen \|- ! BB4 \| ROSSENDALE \| Acre, Balladen, Bent Gate, Cloughfold, Cowpe, Crawshawbooth, Haslingden, Helmshore, Lumb (near Rawtenstall), Newchurch, Rawtenstall, Waterfoot \| Rossendale \|- ! BB5 \| ACCRINGTON \| Accrington, Altham, Baxenden, Church, Clayton-le-Moors, Huncoat, Oswaldtwistle, Rising Bridge \| Hyndburn, Rossendale \|- ! BB6 \| BLACKBURN \| Dinckley, Great Harwood, Langho \| Hyndburn, Ribble Valley \|- ! BB7 \| CLITHEROE \| Clitheroe, Barrow, Bashall Eaves, Billington, Bolton-by-Bowland, Chatburn, Downham, Dunsop Bridge, Gisburn, Great Mitton, Grindleton, Hurst Green, Little Mitton, Middop, Newsholme, Newton-in-Bowland, Paythorne, Pendleton, Rimington, Sabden, Sawley, Slaidburn, Twiston, Waddington, Whalley, Whitewell, Wiswell, Worston \| Ribble Valley \|- ! BB8 \| COLNE \| Colne, Foulridge, Laneshaw Bridge, Trawden, Winewall, Wycoller \| Pendle \|- ! BB9 \| NELSON \| Nelson, Barrowford, Blacko, Brierfield, Higherford, Roughlee \| Pendle \|- ! BB10 \| BURNLEY \| Burnley (east), Cliviger, Haggate, Harle Syke, Reedley, Worsthorne \| Burnley, Pendle \|- ! BB11 \| BURNLEY \| Burnley (south and town centre), Dunnockshaw and Clowbridge, Hapton \| Burnley \|- ! BB12 \| BURNLEY \| Burnley (west), Barley, Fence, Hapton, Higham, Padiham, Read, Simonstone, Wheatley Lane \| Burnley, Pendle, Ribble Valley \|- ! BB18 \| BARNOLDSWICK \| Barnoldswick, Brogden, Earby, Kelbrook, Salterforth, Sough \| Pendle \|- ! style=\"background:#FFFFFF;\"\|BB94 \| style=\"background:#FFFFFF;\"\|BARNOLDSWICK \| style=\"background:#FFFFFF;\"\|*Holiday Cottages Group, Earby* \| style=\"background:#FFFFFF;\"\|*non-geographic* \|} The BB18 district was formed out of the BB8 district in 1997
398
BB postcode area
0
10,107,063
# Calcium formate **Calcium formate** is the calcium salt of formic acid. It is also known as **E238**. Under this E number it is used as an animal feed preservative within EU, but not in foods intended for people. Calcium formate is stable at room temperature, is flammable and forms orthorhombic crystals. The mineral form is very rare and called formicaite, and is known from a few boron deposits. ## Uses Calcium formate is used within EU as an animal feed preservative. It acidifies the feed thus preventing microbe growth and increasing shelf life. About 15 g of calcium formate addition per kg of feed lowers its pH by one. 15 g/kg is the maximum recommended feed concentration within EU -- this level is thought to be safe for pigs, chickens, fish and ruminants. The compound is not environmentally harmful in feed use at these levels. Calcium formate prevents the growth of bacteria such as *E. coli, Pseudomonas aeruginosa, Staphylococcus aureus* and *Enterococcus hirae* in growth mediums. It also prevents the growth of fungi like *Aspergillus niger* and *Candida albicans*. However, the relevance of these experimental observations to feed preservation is not known. Calcium formate is used as a masking agent in the chrome tanning of leather. Calcium formate in tannage formulation promotes faster, more efficient leather penetration of the chrome. Calcium formate can also be used as a replacement for formic acid in the pickling operation. As a grout and cement additive, calcium formate imparts a number of desirable properties in the final product, e.g. increased hardness and decreased setting time. Its addition is desirable for work at low temperature and for inhibition of corrosion of metal substrates within cement/grout. It is also effective in the prevention of efflorescence. In drywall (gypsum board), calcium formate can function as a fire retardant. Calcium formate and urea mixtures are effective deicers, and tend to cause less corrosion of steel and cement surfaces relative to some other deicers. ## Research Calcium formate seems to be safe as a calcium supplement for people with one time doses of 3.9 g (1200 of calcium) per day. Increases in blood formate concentration have been observed with such doses, but in healthy subjects the formate does not accumulate, and is quickly metabolized. Calcium formate is shown to be more readily absorbed form of calcium than calcium carbonate and calcium citrate. No optic nerve damage has been observed with calcium formate supplementation -- along with formaldehyde, formate is a major metabolic product of methanol, which can cause blindness upon ingestion. Calcium formate could be used to remove environmentally harmful (see acid rain) sulfur oxides (SO~X~) from fossil fuel exhausts of e.g. power plants. Calcium formate is added to wet calcium carbonate to promote the formation of gypsum when exhaust is run through it. This process is called wet flue gas desulfurization (WFGS). Gypsum binds sulfur oxides thus reducing their release to the environment via exhaust. Calcium formate seems to be more effective than or almost equally as effective as some other industrially used WFGS agents. ## Production Calcium formate is formed as a co-product during trimethylolpropane production. Hydrated lime (calcium hydroxide) is used as the source of calcium. Butyraldehyde and formaldehyde react in a water solution in the presence of a basic catalyst, forming an unstable intermediate product, dimethylol butyraldehyde (DIMBA). DIMBA reacts further with formaldehyde to give trimethylolpropane and calcium formate. Calcium formate is separated from the solution, heat treated to remove formaldehyde and then dried. Calcium formate can also be made from calcium hydroxide and carbon monoxide at high pressure and temperature -- e.g., at 180 °C and 35 atm. It may also be made from calcium chloride and formic acid. ## Safety Pure calcium formate powder irritates eyes severely, but causes no skin irritation. Powder inhalation can be dangerous. The compound has a stinging taste. Ingesting liquids with high calcium formate concentrations cause severe gastrointestinal lesions
652
Calcium formate
0
10,107,083
# Denis Lambert **Denis Lambert** (born September 18, 1961, in Montreal, Quebec) is a retired boxer from Canada who competed for his native country at the 1984 Summer Olympics in Los Angeles, California. There he was defeated in the second round of the men\'s light welterweight (-- 63.5 kg) division by Yugoslavia\'s eventual bronze medalist Mirko Puzović
57
Denis Lambert
0
10,107,125
# Oswaldo de Rivero **Oswaldo de Rivero** (born 2 August 1936) is a Peruvian diplomat serving as the Ambassador to the United States. He served as Permanent Representative of Peru to the United Nations in New York City, and had previously held the post as Peru\'s ambassador to the World Trade Organization. Previously in his career, he held posts in London and Moscow, and Geneva. He studied law at the Universidad Católica in Lima and later earned a master\'s degree in international relations from Peru\'s Academia Diplomática. He carried out Postgraduate studies at the Graduate Institute of International Studies, Geneva. He has authored books on international development, which have been translated into several languages. He criticizes both Marxism and the proposed liberal development of LDCs. He is the author of *The Myth of Development: The Non-viable Economics of the 21st Century*. ## Family He is married to Vivian Pliner de Rivero and has three daughters, Juliett Sophia, Katherina Blanca, and Blanca Maria de Rivero. ## Career - 1974 to 1978: Secretary-General to the President of the Republic. - 1986 to 1993: Head of the Peruvian delegation to the Uruguay Round negotiations. - 1986: President of the Economic Commission at the Summit of Non-Aligned Countries (Harare). - 1989 to 1992: Head of the Peruvian delegation to the United Nations Commission on Human Rights. - 1990: President of the fourth Non-Proliferation Treaty Review Conference (Geneva). - 1991: President of the Group of 77 developing countries (Geneva). - xxxx to xxxx: Ambassador to the World Trade Organization. - 2001 to 2006: Permanent Representative to the United Nations in New York. - 2021 to 2023: Ambassador to the United States. ## Publications - *New Economic Order and International Development Law*. 1980, Oxford: Pergamon Press, `{{ISBN|9780080247069}}`{=mediawiki} - *The Myth of Development: The Non-Viable Economies of the 21st Century*. 2001, Zed Books, `{{ISBN|978-1-85649-949-1}}`{=mediawiki}. Second Edition: 2010, Zed Books, `{{ISBN|978-1-84813-584-0}}`{=mediawiki}. (also in French, Portuguese, Arabic, Japanese, Spanish and Turkish) - *Los Estados Inviables: No-Desarrollo y Supervivencia En El Siglo XXI*. 2010, Catarata, `{{ISBN|8483191660}}`{=mediawiki} - *El pensamiento cero* - [*La isla de Príapo*](http://www.atmosferaliteraria.com/laisladepriapo.html) (Spanish)
346
Oswaldo de Rivero
0
10,107,126
# Plasmodium beltrani ***Plasmodium beltrani*** is a parasite of the genus *Plasmodium* subgenus *Sauramoeba*. As in all *Plasmodium* species, *P. beltrani* has both vertebrate and insect hosts. The vertebrate hosts for this parasite are spiny lizards. ## Taxonomy This species was described by Peláez and Perez-Reyes in *Sceloporus variabilis* in 1952. ## Description *P. beltrani* infects some lizards of the genus *Sceloporus*. Its schizonts produce 23-48 merozoites, and its male and female gametocytes are the same size. ## Distribution The parasite was initially isolated in Oaxaca, Mexico. However, it has also been found in Veracruz and Chiapas. ## Hosts While *P. beltrani* was originally isolated from *Sceloporus variabilis*, it has also been found in *Sceloporus teapensis* and *Sceloporus malachiticus*. In all known vertebrate hosts, *P. beltrani* appears to infect red blood cells. This infection deforms the red blood cells, however it is not known whether or to what extent this affects the health of the host
156
Plasmodium beltrani
0
10,107,136
# Parroquia de Santa Filomena **Parroquia de Santa Filomena** (\'Parish of Santa Filomena\') is a church located in the Patronato District of the Recoleta Municipality in the city of Santiago, Chile. This church is named after Santa Filomena, a saint and a martyr. The Santa Filomena Church was built in 1884 by the architect Eugenio Joannon and under the supervision of Ruperto Marchant, a priest. This church is the result of the war against the Indians volunteer and non profit organizations that followed the *Rerum novarum* encyclical published by Pope Leo XII. The church follows a Neo-Gothic style. The inside is decorated with paintings that emulate materials such as stone and marble. A chiaroscuro effect is obtained with the glass paintings that were brought directly from France. This church was used by the Josephite Fathers Congregation that came from Italy and was built with donations from wealthy families of the nineteenth century. The Santa Filomena church has resisted numerous earthquakes that have left it with structural damage. A 1985 earthquake was particularly harmful. The damage has however been repaired. Since 1995 the Santa Filomena Church was declared Chilean national heritage. The church was restored thanks to the contributions of the Patronato District. It is not only an important attraction of this district, but it is also used a temple of worship
221
Parroquia de Santa Filomena
0
10,107,146
# Svartsö **Svartsö** is an island located in the Stockholm archipelago in Värmdö Municipality in Sweden. In the summer the island is a popular destination for visitors. The landscape is relatively flat and there are several small lakes located on the island. <File:Svartsö> August 2015 01.jpg\|Svartsö <File:Storträsk> August 2015 06.jpg\|Storträsk is the largest of the lakes on the island <File:Storträsk> August 2015 04.jpg\|The small island Boholmen in the lake Storträsk ## Nature Svartsö has a very varied nature. Here there are both large forests and open pastures and meadows. The forest on the island is quite typical of the islands in this part of the archipelago. Here there are both old spruce forest and younger mixed forest. On the ground you can find blueberries, lingonberries, heather, lily of the valley, orchids and mushrooms. The island has five small lakes, the largest of which, Storträsket, also has an island. The island called Boholmen has its own history. It was here that the population of Svartsö fled during the Russian ravages in 1719. Here they buried their possessions to hide them from the Russians. According to legend, a curse will befall whoever tries to look for the hidden possessions. In the largest lakes you can see beavers. ## Businesses There are 49 registered businesses on Svartsö including 2 restaurants, Svartsö Krog and Bistro Sågen, a grocery store, Svartsö Lanthandel, and a hotel/hostel, Svartsö Skärgårdshotel & Vandrarhem. ## Transport Svartsö is serviced by Waxholmsbolaget all year round to four jetties: Alsvik, Skälvik, Söderboudd and Norra Svartsö
253
Svartsö
0
10,107,165
# Rick Duff **Rick Duff** (born June 21, 1964 in Camrose, Alberta) is a retired boxer from Canada, who competed for his country as a middleweight (-- 75 kg) at the 1984 Summer Olympics in Los Angeles, California. He defeated the Australian Brendon Cannon in the first round, but was defeated in the second round of the men\'s division by South Korea\'s eventual gold medalist Shin Joon-Sup. ## 1984 Canadian Olympic box-offs {#canadian_olympic_box_offs} The box-offs took place during the 1984 Canadian National Junior Boxing Championships at the British Columbia Amateur Boxing Training Centre in Burnaby, BC, May 25 to 27, where Duff defeated Darrell Flint, and won a spot on the Canadian Olympic Boxing Team. Duff is currently coaching amateur boxing in Lethbridge, Alberta
124
Rick Duff
0
10,107,173
# Estadio Chamartín **Estadio Chamartín** was a multi-use stadium in Madrid, Spain. It was initially used as the stadium of Real Madrid matches before the Santiago Bernabéu Stadium opened in 1947. The stadium held 22,500 people and was built in 1924. The stadium was inaugurated on 17 May 1924, with a 3--2 victory for Real Madrid against Newcastle United. ## Closing and demolition {#closing_and_demolition} The final official match at the stadium was played on 13 May 1946, with Real Madrid winning 2--0 against CD Alcoyano in the quarter-finals of the Spanish Cup. Three days later, Real Madrid played the \"closing\" friendly against Málaga in which the visitors prevailed 5--4. Demolition works proceeded the day after
115
Estadio Chamartín
0
10,107,190
# PR postcode area The **PR postcode area**, also known as the **Preston postcode area**, is a group of eleven postcode districts in North West England which together cover northern Merseyside and parts of central and southern Lancashire. Its four post towns are Chorley, Leyland, Southport, and Preston. Mail for the PR postcode area is processed at Preston Mail Centre, along with mail for the BB, FY and LA postcode areas. \_\_TOC\_\_ ## Coverage The approximate coverage of the postcode districts: \|- ! style=\"background:#FFFFFF;\"\|PR0 \| style=\"background:#FFFFFF;\"\|PRESTON \| style=\"background:#FFFFFF;\"\|*Express Gifts* \| style=\"background:#FFFFFF;\"\|*non-geographic* \|- ! PR1 \| PRESTON \| City Centre, Avenham, Broadgate, Deepdale, Fishwick, St. Matthew\'s, Penwortham \| City of Preston, South Ribble \|- ! PR2 \| PRESTON \| Ashton On Ribble, Brookfield, Cadley, Fulwood, Grimsargh, Haighton, Ingol, Larches, Lea, Ribbleton, Riversway, Sharoe Green, Tanterton \| City of Preston \|- ! PR3 \| PRESTON \| Barnacre-with-Bonds, Barton, Bilsborrow, Bonds, Bowgreave, Broughton, Cabus, Calder Vale, Chipping, Claughton, Forton, Garstang, Goosnargh, Great Eccleston, Inglewhite, Little Eccleston, Longridge, Myerscough, Oakenclough, Pilling, Ribchester, St Michael\'s On Wyre, Scorton, Whittingham, Winmarleigh \| Fylde, City of Preston, Ribble Valley, Wyre \|- ! PR4 \| PRESTON \| Becconsall, Catforth, Clifton, Cottam, Eaves, Elswick, Freckleton, Hesketh Bank, Hutton, Inskip, Kirkham, Lea Town, Longton, Much Hoole, New Longton, Newton, Tarleton, Thistleton, Treales, Roseacre and Wharles, Walmer Bridge, Warton, Wesham, Woodplumpton, Wrea Green \| Fylde, City of Preston, South Ribble, West Lancashire \|- ! PR5 \| PRESTON \| Bamber Bridge, Coupe Green, Cuerdale, Cuerden, Gregson Lane, Higher Walton, Hoghton, Lostock Hall, Riley Green, Samlesbury, Walton-le-Dale, Walton Park, Walton Summit \| South Ribble, Chorley \|- ! PR6 \| CHORLEY \| Abbey Village, Adlington, Anderton, Anglezarke, Astley Village, Brindle, Brinscall, Clayton-le-Woods, Heapey, Heath Charnock, Wheelton, White Coppice, Whittle-le-Woods, Withnell \| Chorley \|- ! PR7 \| CHORLEY \| Adlington, Buckshaw Village, Charnock Richard, Coppull, Eccleston, Euxton, Heath Charnock, Heskin \| Chorley \|- ! PR8 \| SOUTHPORT \| Ainsdale, Birkdale, Blowick, Scarisbrick \| Sefton, West Lancashire \|- ! PR9 \| SOUTHPORT \| Banks, Churchtown, Crossens, Marshside \| Sefton, West Lancashire \|- ! style=\"background:#FFFFFF;\"\| PR11 \| style=\"background:#FFFFFF;\"\|PRESTON \| style=\"background:#FFFFFF;\"\|*Great Universal Stores/Department for Work and Pensions delivering to its address in PR1* \| style=\"background:#FFFFFF;\"\|*non-geographic* \|- ! PR25 \| LEYLAND \| Leyland, Clayton-le-Woods, Cuerden, Farington \| South Ribble, Chorley \|- ! PR26 \| LEYLAND \| Leyland, Bretherton, Croston, Farington Moss, Moss Side, Ulnes Walton \| South Ribble, Chorley \|} The PR25 and PR26 districts were formed out of the PR5 district in January 2001. Leyland became a new post town at this time, having previously been part of the Preston post town
424
PR postcode area
0
10,107,200
# Runmarö **Runmarö** is an island located in the Stockholm archipelago in Sweden. The island is known for its many species of orchids (at least 27 different kinds) and 9 marshy lakes. ## Notable residents {#notable_residents} Author and entomologist Fredrik Sjöberg lives on the island with his family. The island is frequently referenced in his 2014 novel *The Fly Trap*
60
Runmarö
0
10,107,237
# FY postcode area The **FY postcode area**, also known as the **Blackpool postcode area**, is a group of eight postcode districts in Lancashire, North West England. The districts cover the entire borough of Blackpool and the western parts of the boroughs of Wyre and Fylde. The letters in the postcode area name refer to the **Fy**lde coastal plain. Its five post towns are Blackpool, Fleetwood, Lytham St Annes, Poulton-le-Fylde, Thornton-Cleveleys. The FY1 district covers Blackpool town centre. FY2 covers most of the town\'s northern areas, primarily Bispham; FY3 covers various suburbs east of the town centre, along with some rural areas east of the town including the village of Staining; and FY4 covers the southern suburbs of Blackpool along with a small rural area to the south-east of the town. FY5 covers Thornton-Cleveleys and some of the northernmost Blackpool suburbs. FY6 covers the town of Poulton-le-Fylde and some rural areas to the east, as well as much of the Over Wyre region. FY7 covers the town of Fleetwood, and FY8 covers Lytham St Annes along with some small rural areas to the north and east. Mail for the FY postcode area is processed at Preston Mail Centre, along with mail for the PR, BB and LA postcode areas. \_\_TOC\_\_ ## Coverage The approximate coverage of the postcode districts: \|- ! style=\"background:#FFFFFF;\"\|FY0 \| style=\"background:#FFFFFF;\"\|BLACKPOOL \| style=\"background:#FFFFFF;\"\| \| style=\"background:#FFFFFF;\"\|*non-geographic* \|- ! FY1 \| BLACKPOOL \| Blackpool Town Centre, North Shore, South Shore \| Blackpool \|- ! FY2 \| BLACKPOOL \| Bispham, Moor Park \| Blackpool \|- ! FY3 \| BLACKPOOL \|Grange Park, Layton, Marton, Staining, Stanley Park \| Blackpool, Fylde, Wyre \|- ! FY4 \| BLACKPOOL \| Marton, Peel, South Shore, Squires Gate, Starr Gate \| Blackpool, Fylde \|- ! FY5 \| THORNTON-CLEVELEYS \| Anchorsholme, Little Bispham, Skippool, Thornton-Cleveleys \| Wyre, Blackpool \|- ! FY6 \| POULTON-LE-FYLDE \| Carleton, Hambleton, Knott End-on-Sea, Poulton-le-Fylde, Preesall, Singleton, Stalmine \| Wyre, Fylde, Blackpool \|- ! FY7 \| FLEETWOOD \| Fleetwood, Rossall \| Wyre \|- ! FY8 \| LYTHAM ST. ANNES \| Lytham St. Annes, Moss Side \| Fylde \|} Some regions of the FY5 postcode area such as Little Bispham and Anchorsholme are generally considered to be suburbs of Blackpool due to being in that town\'s unitary authority area, despite having the Thornton-Cleveleys post town. The same applies to a small section of the FY8 area adjacent to Blackpool Airport, which has the Lytham St Annes post town but is generally considered to be in Blackpool, including for the 2011 census
417
FY postcode area
0
10,107,238
# Jonsvatnet **Jonsvatnet** is a lake in Trøndelag county, Norway. Most of the lake is in the eastern part of Trondheim Municipality, with a very small part of the shoreline belonging to Malvik Municipality. The lake is the main source for drinking water for the city of Trondheim. ## Media gallery {#media_gallery} Trondheim Jonsvatnet IMG 4565.JPG\|View of the frozen lake in winter Jonsvatnet winter - panoramio.jpg\|View of the lake (Feb 2009) Jonsvandet. Utsigt fra Flaten - no-nb digifoto 20150623 00124 bldsa PK16864.jpg\|Summer at the lake (c. 1915) Jonsvandet. Lille-Vandet - no-nb digifoto 20150623 00305 bldsa PK16868.jpg\|Summer at the lake (c
100
Jonsvatnet
0
10,107,271
# Wayne Gordon (boxer) **Wayne Gordon** (born March 30, 1963, in Victoria, British Columbia) is a retired boxer from Canada, who competed for his native country at the 1984 Summer Olympics in Los Angeles, California. There he was defeated in the first round of the men\'s welterweight (-- 67 kg) division by eventual American gold medalist Mark Breland. He also represented Canada at the 1983 Pan American Games
68
Wayne Gordon (boxer)
0
10,107,276
# SoundsXP **SoundsXP** is a UK based music webzine. It was set up in 2001 by Paul Mawdesley, Ged McAlea and Kevin Odell and is entirely based on contributions from unpaid writers. The site mostly publishes reviews and interviews covering primarily the indie, indiepop, shoegaze, folk, alt-country and electronica musical genres. It also covers alternative music news and free MP3 downloads. The front page includes a regularly updated music player which showcases current songs recommended by the writers. In addition, SoundsXP has forums to allow for discussion and comments on the articles, as well as live event notices which are free to use for bands and promoters for publicity. The site has organised a number of live events over the years featuring artists such as the Broken Family Band, the Bishops, Younghusband, Pete and the Pirates and many more. ## Record Label {#record_label} In 2006 the webzine set up a label, [Sounds eXPerience](https://web.archive.org/web/20090304225845/http://www.soundsexperience.co.uk/), with limited 7\" releases by Piney Gir\'s Country Roadshow, the Schla La Las, the Bridge Gang, Santa Dog and a split release by Esiotrot and Foxes!
179
SoundsXP
0
10,107,278
# Centre for Statistics in Medicine The **Centre for Statistics in Medicine** (**CSM**) at the University of Oxford, United Kingdom was founded by Professor Douglas G. Altman until 2018. He was succeeded by Professor Sallie Lamb until 2019, then by Professor Gary Collins. In 1995 it was based at the Institute of Health Sciences in Headington, Oxford, it relocated to the annexe of Wolfson College, Oxford in 2005, and in 2013 moved to the Botnar Research Centre in Headington. The CSM incorporates the Cancer Research UK Medical Statistics Group (MSG), Oxford Clinical Trial Research Unit statisticians and the UK EQUATOR Centre. It is based in the [Nuffield Department of Orthopaedics, Rheumatology & Musculoskeletal Sciences](https://www.ndorms.ox.ac.uk/) in the University of Oxford. CSM collaborates in health care research, conducts applied statistical research and runs training courses/workshops for both health care workers and statisticians. Statisticians within the CSM are involved in many collaborative projects with clinicians in Oxford and further afield, some working across the medical spectrum and others focusing on cancer. Other statisticians within the CSM work primarily on a programme of methodological research, in particular relating to studies of diagnosis and prognosis, and to systematic reviews and meta-analysis
196
Centre for Statistics in Medicine
0
10,107,281
# Seth Davis **Seth Davis** is an American sportswriter and broadcaster. He is currently the Editor-in-Chief and co-founder of Hoops HQ and is a host on Campus Insiders, an in-studio analyst for CBS men\'s college basketball coverage and an analyst for the NBA Draft on NBA TV. He writes for *The Athletic* and is a former writer for *Sports Illustrated* magazine. ## Biography Davis attended Duke University, graduating in 1992 with a degree in political science. He was host of a sports-related cable television show on Cable 13, also a sports columnist for the university\'s daily campus newspaper, *The Chronicle*. Davis began writing at *Sports Illustrated* in July 1995. During his tenure at SI, he became a staff writer and authored the \"Inside College Basketball\" column during the college basketball season. It was announced on May 11, 2017 that he had been laid off from Sports Illustrated. Before joining *Sports Illustrated*, Davis spent several years at the *New Haven Register*, where he wrote about various sports, including the NFL, NBA, college basketball and local high school sports. Davis appeared in an episode of the HBO show \"Real Sex\" in 1996. In 2003, his book *Equinunk, Tell Your Story: My Return to Summer Camp* about his experiences as a camp counselor, was published. His second book, *When March Went Mad,* was published in 2009. He was also a reporter on *The NFL Today*. In 2013, Davis joined Campus Insiders, campusinsiders.com, as an on-air host for their all-digital network. The Seth Davis Show launched on August 26, 2013. In May 2017 he was fired by *Sports Illustrated* as a cost-cutting measure. He subsequently started work for *The Athletic*. In November of 2024, he co-founded and became the Editor-in-Chief of Hoops HQ, a college basketball website that covers men\'s and women\'s hoops year-round. ## Personal Davis was born in Connecticut and raised in Potomac, Maryland, and graduated from the Bullis School in 1988. Davis is married and has three children. Davis is the son of Elaine Charney and Lanny Davis, who was the special counsel for former President Bill Clinton from 1996 to 1998
351
Seth Davis
0
10,107,296
# Dominions: Priests, Prophets and Pretenders ***Dominions: Priests, Prophets and Pretenders*** is a turn-based strategy game designed by Illwinter Game Design, in which up to fourteen \"pretender gods\" at a time each battle for global dominance. The game was followed by five sequels: *Dominions II: The Ascension Wars*, *Dominions 3: The Awakening*, *Dominions 4: Thrones of Ascension*, *Dominions 5: Warriors of the Faith*, and *Dominions 6: Rise of the Pantokrator*. ## Gameplay Two to fourteen \"pretender gods\" battle for global supremacy with over 600 units, 400 magic spells and 300 magical items. Players are allowed to customize their god, selecting physical appearance, magical skills and dominions scales, including luck, heat and order. The main map is divided into smaller sections (called provinces), and each battle that takes place is within a province, for control of the province. There can be hundreds of provinces on a map. To win, one must ensure that no other player controls a single province, or that their dominion is non-existent. ### Units Once each god and nation has been selected, each player must begin the process of building an empire. In the early stages of the game, this is mainly accomplished through the use of standard troops. The player must first recruit a commander (the player can also use his or her god). Each commander can lead a certain number of troops, a number which increases as the commander gains experience. In order to be effective, however, the commander also needs units. Each unit has its own attributes, such as strength and armor. Units are built by supplying a certain amount of gold and resource, the amount varying based on the unit. The units are then placed under the leadership of a commander, and are subdivided into squads by the player. The player can set basic orders for each squad and place them on the battlefield in order to maximize their potential. For example, a player might place a squad of ranged units behind a squad of militia and light infantry and order it to fire on the closest enemy, so the archers are protected and provide cover for the infantry. The battles, however, are determined by computer calculations taking into account troop number, quality and pre-set tactics, and then may be viewed by the player as a short video clip. Units may rout during battle if they are outnumbered, or if their commander dies. If they make it off the battlefield, units will flee to the nearest friendly province. Units may also be wounded or killed in battle. Different wounds reduce different stats. ### Magic Although crucial to the game, units are not the only component. Magic is also key in deciding the victor of the match. Before a spell can be cast, it must be researched by mages. A mage is a commander with experience in one of the eight paths (elements) of magic. Generally, mages cannot lead any troops, but can research and cast powerful spells. There are many different types of spells, and as mages research the seven branches of magic, they unlock progressively more powerful spells, allowing them to do different things, from summoning powerful demons, to blasting enemies with powerful fireballs, to forging extremely powerful magical artifacts. Artifacts and powerful spells cost magic gems, which can be acquired from special magic sites within provinces. A powerful mage can defeat an army of hundreds of units, by routing and killing them. ### Dominion Dominion is a measure of a god\'s influence and worshipers. It is measured in candles, white candles being a god\'s dominion, black candles being other dominions. A nation is usually weaker while fighting in enemy dominion and stronger while fighting in its own dominion. Dominion can be spread in several ways. One way is via temples. There can be one temple build per province for a certain amount of gold. It will spread dominion to its province and all provinces near it. Another way is with a prophet or priest. Each nation can only have one prophet at a time, but as many priests as it wishes. A prophet is created when the \"become prophet\" order is given to a commander. Priests and prophets are commanders that are characterized by having holy magic and the ability to preach. Preaching spreads dominion like a temple, but priests and prophets can move and cast holy spells, which can be effective against certain types of enemies
736
Dominions: Priests, Prophets and Pretenders
0
10,107,301
# Maudite thumb\|Maudite **Maudite** is a Belgian-style strong dark ale that has been brewed by Unibroue since 1992. It is an ale that is conditioned in the bottle. *Maudite* or *maudit* used to be a strong expletive (meaning \"damned\"), a binding oath, among French-speaking Quebecers, while the younger generation\'s view of the word is derisive. The beer\'s style is a strong red-ale, with an ABV of 8%. The taste is said to be one of wheat, citrus and spice. Maudite\'s name is reminiscent of the legend of the Chasse-galerie (the legend of the Flying Canoe). Legend has it that a group of Voyageurs (fur traders) who were stuck by frozen rivers in the northern woods, made a deal with the devil to fly the traders to Montreal in their canoes in time for the Christmas holidays. Satan made it clear that no man could utter the name of God during the flight, but one man could not hold his tongue and yelled \"oh my God,\" at which point the canoe pummeled to the ground and they were never heard from again
181
Maudite
0
10,107,341
# Erasmus Darwin Leavitt Jr. **Erasmus Darwin Leavitt Jr.** (October 27, 1836 -- March 11, 1916), also known as **E. D. Leavitt**, was an American mechanical engineer best known for his steam engine designs. ## Life and work {#life_and_work} Leavitt was born in Lowell, Massachusetts to Erasmus Darwin Leavitt Sr., a native of Cornish, New Hampshire, and Almina (Fay) Leavitt. He graduated from local schools at age 16, and performed a 3-year apprenticeship at the Lowell Manufacturing Company. After his apprenticeship Leavitt worked for one year at the engineering firm of Corliss & Nightingale in Providence, Rhode Island before returning to Boston, where he became assistant foreman for Harrison Loring. In this role he designed the steam engine for the USS *Hartford*. From 1859--61 he again worked in Providence, this time as chief draftsman for Thurston, Gardner & Company, builders of steam engines. During the Civil War, Leavitt first served aboard the USS *Sagamore*, then in construction roles in Baltimore, Boston, and Brooklyn, and ultimately as an instructor in steam engineering at the United States Naval Academy. In 1867 he resigned his teaching post to become a consulting engineer. Leavitt was a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and a founding member of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, for which he served as vice president from 1881 to 1882, and president in 1883. In 1884 he received the first honorary doctorate of engineering degree granted by the Stevens Institute of Technology. Leavitt was a resident of Cambridge, Massachusetts. He and his wife, the former Elizabeth Pettit, daughter of Philadelphia locomotive designer William Pettit, had five children: Mary Alford; Hart Hooker; Margaret Almira; Harriet Sherman; and Annie Louise. The astronomer Henrietta Swan Leavitt was his niece. ## Work Leavitt first achieved professional prominence in 1873 for his design of a novel pumping engine. From 1874--1904 he served as consulting engineer for the Calumet and Hecla Mining Company, where he designed more than 40 types of engines for a variety of uses for the company\'s Michigan mines. Each huge stationary steam engine was named, much like a steam locomotive or ship, with names including the Arcadia, Chippewa, Frontenac, Mackinac, Marquette, and Superior. For the company\'s smelting plant on the Upper Peninsula of Michigan, Leavitt also designed devices known as sand wheels, which lifted copper tailings and sent them sliding down a sluiceway into nearby Torch Lake. The largest of these wheels was 60-feet in diameter, had 550 buckets, weighed an estimated million pounds, and, when in operation, moved 550,000 pounds of crushed rock every minute. This wheel was made in 1901 by Robert Poole & Son Co. of Baltimore. He also designed steam-powered water pumps for various municipal water systems, including those of Louisville, Kentucky and Boston, and the power source for a hydraulic forge at the Bethlehem Steel Company. ## Patents - *[US 129240 A, Improvement in steam pumping-engines](http://www.google.com.pr/patents/US129240),* 1872 - *[US 283261 A, Signor to dauphin](https://patents.google.com/patent/US283261),* 1883 - *[US 380330 A, Pump](https://www.google.com.pr/patents/US380330),* 1887-88 - *[US 402256 A, Steam-cylinder for steam-engines](https://www.google.com.pr/patents/US402256),* 1888-89 - *[US 402257 A, Hoisting-engine](https://www.google.com
510
Erasmus Darwin Leavitt Jr.
0
10,107,367
# Southern Railroad of New Jersey The **Southern Railroad of New Jersey** `{{reporting mark|SRNJ}}`{=mediawiki} is a small short-line railroad company based in Winslow Township, New Jersey. The railroad operates freight service in two areas in Southern New Jersey. In the Winslow area, trains operate out of Winslow Junction to either Pleasantville or the Winslow Hot Mix asphalt plant in Winslow Township. In Gloucester County, the company operates on the Salem Branch between Swedesboro, New Jersey and Woodbury, New Jersey. ## Ownership history {#ownership_history} JP Rail, Inc., a Pennsylvania corporation doing business as SRNJ, operates tracks in the Winslow area that originally belonged to the New Jersey Southern Railroad, and which were later acquired by the Central Railroad of New Jersey (in the 1880s) and subsequently Conrail (1976) and the New Jersey Department of Transportation (NJDOT; 1984). SRNJ acquired operating rights to the 15.5 mi Winslow-Vineland route, known as the Winslow Branch, from The Shore Fast Line, Inc. (SFLR) in 1991. (SFLR, a freight carrier, is not to be confused with the *Shore Fast Line,* an interurban passenger railroad that was operated by the Atlantic City and Shore Railroad from 1907 to 1948.) In the 1991 transaction SRNJ also obtained rights from SFLR to operate freight on 30.7 mi of the Atlantic City Line owned by New Jersey Transit, from Winslow to Pleasantville; and took ownership of several short sections of connecting branch lines and junctions. The Salem-Swedesboro route, known locally as the Salem County Branch Line, was originally part of the Salem Railroad (later the West Jersey and Seashore Railroad), and subsequently became the Salem Secondary Track on the Pennsylvania-Reading Seashore Lines (PRSL). PRSL was acquired by Conrail in 1976, and the Salem branch was sold by Conrail to the Salem County government in 1985. SRNJ contracted with the county in 1995 to take over operations on the 18.6 mi route (plus a one-mile spur in Salem) from the West Jersey Railroad Co. which was awarded the initial contract by the county in 1988. Between 2009 and 2012 U.S. Rail Corporation operated the Salem line. In 2012 the county reassigned the contract to SRNJ, which ended in 2022. ## Operations ### Winslow Junction operations {#winslow_junction_operations} The railroad serves local businesses and interchanges freight cars with Conrail Shared Assets Operations (CSAO). SRNJ maintains an interchange yard at Winslow Junction, connecting with the Atlantic City Line and CSAO Beesley Point Secondary Track. The Winslow branch route was restored after it was damaged by floods in 2003. As of April 2025 the Winslow Junction-Vineland section of track is not in use south of Winslow Hot Mix. The railroad also has trackage rights over NJT\'s Atlantic City Line, to Atlantic City, where they can access their branch line to Pleasantville, NJ. ### Salem Branch operations {#salem_branch_operations} In 2018, the SRNJ leased the Salem Branch between Swedesboro and Woodbury from Conrail. In Woodbury, the SRNJ maintains a yard and connects with Conrail Shared Assets Operations. The railroad also maintain a yard in Swedesboro for interchange with SMS Rail Lines. ## Roster The SRNJ owns a diverse variety of locomotive equipment including an EMD GP9, EMD GP10 and MLW M-420s
524
Southern Railroad of New Jersey
0
10,107,368
# Vreta abductions The three abductions of maidens from the Vreta convent was a series of events that took place in Sweden in the 13th century. They became legendary and inspired many poems. ## Background The abduction of maidens for wives seems to have been an ancient Germanic tradition. Women\'s marriages were clan matters to be decided by the woman\'s nearest male relative, often together with tribal elders. A marriage was an alliance contract and also had many economical repercussions. A man was not allowed to marry a woman from an enemy clan unless it was to seal a treaty between the clans. On the other hand, a man might want to marry an heiress from a rival clan in order to impose his own power upon that clan. ## Abduction of 1210 {#abduction_of_1210} Around 1210, Helena Sverkersdotter, the only daughter of the deposed King Sverker II, was studying at the Vreta convent when her father fell in battle. The young Sune Folkason, son of an earl who had been among Sverker\'s opponents in that battle and had also fallen, wished to marry her, but her relatives would not hear his proposal. Folkason abducted Helena and, according to folklore, took her to the castle of Ymseborg. They married and had two daughters. The older was Catherine of Ymseborg, who married King Eric XI in 1244. ## Abduction of 1244 {#abduction_of_1244} Around 1244, Benedikte Sunadotter, the younger daughter of Sune Folkason and Helena Sverkersdotter, was being educated at the Vreta convent. Laurens Pedersson, Justiciar of Östergötland, abducted her. One theory is that Pedersson may have been a grandson of a king of the St. Eric dynasty and wished to unite that dynasty with Benedikte\'s Sverker dynasty. He may also have had designs on the throne. In any case, Benedikte was released and soon married high noble Svantepolk Knutsson, Lord of Viby, with whom she had several daughters and a son, Knut, who died childless. ## Abduction of 1288 {#abduction_of_1288} In 1288, Ingrid Svantepolksdotter, one of the daughters of Benedikte and Svantepolk, was being educated at the Vreta convent. Her father had intended her to marry a Danish nobleman, the future High Justiciar David Thorsteinsen. Folke Algotsson, a knight from Götaland (and, according to myth, a descendant of Algaut), abducted her with the help of some of his brothers and fled with her to Norway. King Magnus Ladulås, reportedly livid about the wilful breach of women\'s safety in convents, had one of the brothers executed. Ingrid eventually returned from Norway and became abbess of Vreta. Her son, Knut Folkason, became Overlord of Blekinge and Lister
433
Vreta abductions
0
10,107,406
# Double inverted pendulum A **double inverted pendulum** is the combination of the inverted pendulum and the double pendulum. The double inverted pendulum is unstable, meaning that it will fall down unless it is controlled in some way. The two main methods of controlling a double inverted pendulum are moving the base, as with the inverted pendulum, or by applying a torque at the pivot point between the two pendulums
70
Double inverted pendulum
0
10,107,427
# Norsktoppen ***Norsktoppen*** was a musical hit list at NRK Radio, originally playing songs exclusively by Norwegian artists. Until 1986, the songs had to be in the Norwegian language. *Norsktoppen* started airing in 1973, once a week. Norsktoppen was canceled on 1 January 2009. This decision---to close down the show as outdated---raised some public debate, including an interpellation in the Storting raised by representative Ulf Erik Knudsen to the minister of culture. As only songs with Norwegian artists were included, *Norsktoppen* came to be an important tool for the Norwegian recording industry
92
Norsktoppen
0